Bethany gives 10/10 pots of gold to K-lee Kleins Unbreak My Heart (Unbreak My Heart #1)

Why I read this book: A few friends were talking about this book on a page I follow on Facebook and I decided to check it out. The reviews sounded promising so I added it to my TBR list. Well when RGR the chance to read a review copy for our  honest opinion of it, I was like “I’ll will.”

mate

Publication Date: September 9, 2013

Brett Taylor has been doing just fine living in his own little world for the past three years, thank you very much. Losing someone special is life changing, and Brett doesn’t understand why everyone and their damn dog thinks they can get all up in his business about him needing to move on. He managed to make the transition from musician to rancher without relying on anyone else’s opinion or help, and he certainly doesn’t need some city kid coming into his life to disrupt his routine–one that involves grief, isolation, and a whole lot of Jack Daniels.

Moving from one meaningless job to the next, JT Campbell is on a quest to escape his old life and figure out who he is and where he belongs. He’s not looking to save anyone, let alone a secretive, hotter-than-hell rancher who wears his heart on his sleeve. JT likes working for Brett, but Brett’s made it perfectly clear that any relationship between them other than a professional one will never see the light of day.

But when JT’s lust turns to love, and he gives in to his desire to find out what makes Brett tick, will his interest push Brett away? Or will he, through his patience and support, be the one who can finally unbreak Brett’s heart?

Review

Ok here is the thing, I am an emotional person.(don’t tell anyone) Like cries at commercials, it is just who I am and I accepted that a long time ago.(ok, maybe not so long ago) Ok let me see if I can get through this and tell you why this book turned my inside out.

You know that saying that says “don’t judge a book by its cover” well this book is that saying in a nutshell. And I am not talking about the actual cover, I am talking about how just because this man is from the south, wears flannel, and says y’all, he must be a redneck homophobe. Or how this blond hair surfer boy from Cali, he must be dumber than a box of bricks, right? Well this is what Brett and JT did to each other.

“Guess we all have out expectations or biases of others, yeah?”

Pot Of Gold 10star

This is a hot button issue I have and the way these two confronted the labels that society places on them, I fell in love with them so much more. They proved to each other, that the “good ole boy” and the “surfer dude” can love men and that is ok.

My heart hurt for Brett from the beginning, like I was in tears by the end of the first chapter, which lead me to believe my heart would ache for a better part of the book and boy was I right. He doesn’t want to move on, he likes his bottle of Jack and is perfectly fine not letting anyone but his momma and Ray anywhere near him. So when JT is left, literally, on his doorstep he resolves to keep him at arm’s length. But we all know what can happen with best laid plans. They don’t go according to plan, and boy are Brett’s plans ruined. When JT works his way into Brett’s life and home, Brett is confused and feels guilt for even thinking he could have the chance to love again. Oh I wanted to hug him and tell him its ok, love him, be happy. But our stubborn, stubborn Brett does not make it easy on himself.

And JT oh my sweet JT, resilient and without a doubt the most patient man I know. He knows he is falling for Brett, but he knows Brett refuses to allow himself permission to love someone else. Refuses to let go of the guilt he feels is all on him. Usually content with one night stands, his feeling for Brett prove to him, he can love, now if he could just be loved in return. Well that is up to Brett, but JT doesn’t mind waiting and lending an ear in return. He knows it will be a long road, one he is willing to walk.

I wish I could explain to you how wonderful this book is. It ripped out my heart torn in two, shredded it, jumped on it, leaving me a broken mess. There were times I HAD to put it down and walk away, cause it was just so painful. But let me tell you it was painful in such an awesome way. And just when I thought I could take no more, when I felt there is no way I can finish this without wanting to strangle someone, mostly Brett but a bit of JT, K-lee started to put it back together one piece at a time. Look I tend to stay away from books like this for the most part cause my heart can’t take it. I read to forget that the world is a place filled with sadness and sorrow. I read to take my mind off the hurt, and hate that goes on in the world. I want a HEA dammit and that is why I don’t usually read books like this.

But oh what a tragedy that would have been if I had not read this one, yes it hurt and yes I cried. But it is a beautiful love story, one that will stay with me for a very long time, one I know I will re-read many times. Thank you K-lee for turning tragedy into triumph.

Where to buy:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

8 thoughts on “Bethany gives 10/10 pots of gold to K-lee Kleins Unbreak My Heart (Unbreak My Heart #1)

  1. Pingback: GRL Featured Author: K-lee Klein #GuestPost #RGRgiveaway #GRL2015 | Rainbow Gold Reviews

  2. Pingback: ‘Unwanted Hearts’ #LGBT #CharacterInterview #Review #RGRgiveaway | Rainbow Gold Reviews

  3. Pingback: ‘Unbreak My Heart’ by K-lee Klein #LGBT #ReRelease #Excerpt #Giveaway | Rainbow Gold Reviews

  4. Pingback: ‘Unbroken Hearts’ by Klee Klein #LGBTQ+ #Review #RGRGiveaway | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

