Guest Review: Author Jayson James gives 8/10 pots of gold for J.C. Wallace´s Curiosity Killed Shaney

Why I read this story: I finished reading this book and felt the need to try writing a review for the first time 🙂

Curiosity Killed Shaney

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blurb:

Shaney’s curiosity is always getting him into trouble, including stumbling into a ritualistic circle and being imbued with an energy that will eventually tear him apart. He soon finds that Hudson, a man he cares for deeply, might be responsible for his misfortune. Add in the betrayal of his best friend Todd and the desire of a demented occultist named Silas determined to control the energy inside of him and there seems to be no way out. Can Shaney find a way to rid his body of the nefarious energy before he dies a horrible death?

Publication Date: March 14, 2014

Publisher: R&P Publishing

Buy Curiosity Killed Shaney at

The Rooster & The Pig Publishing,

AmazonARe or B&N

 

About Guest Reviewer and Author Jayson James:

Jayson James graduated from Western Washington University with a bachelor’s degree in Education. He was born and raised in Washington State, where he currently lives and teaches. The farthest off the west coast he has ever been was Nevada and Arizona. Whenever Jayson has the time (and money), he likes to travel, hoping to see most of the United States over the next 5 years.

After much prompting from his friends “Finding Our Way” debut in September 2012 as Jayson James first published novel. A couple months later, he wrote and released the follow-up novels in 2013, “Tormented Discovery” and then “Drifting” creating what readers would identify as the “Finding Our Way Series.” Thanks to his dedicated editor and friend, a novel outside of the series, T.E.D, was released in early 2014. Jayson has at least one more novel releasing with the same characters in the series, but is not sure when this will be. Much to his delight, fans are eagerly waiting to read what happens next with Justin, Derrick and the rest of the gang. He hopes they will enjoy the new characters he brings to life on the pages of upcoming books.

When Jayson is not writing he enjoys reading a variety of books from different genres. He is an avid supporter of fellow Indy authors and does whatever he can to support them. Although he often denies it when asked, he also likes to draw, mostly cartooning and sketching using pencils and oil pastels. He also loves listening to music and watching movies, one or the other is constantly playing every time he is writing or drawing and even sometimes when he is reading.

Although his first published works are of the gay new adult and gay young adult genre, he plans on publishing books of other genres at some point. Such as a children’s book he has been contemplating for many years.

Bloghttp://jaysonjamesbooks.blogspot.de/

Facebook Author Pagehttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorJaysonJames

 

My thoughts:

“Curiosity Killed Shaney” was a book outside of my typical comfort zone, as I have never been one to enjoy an occult story. From the beginning, Shaney is a realistic character who, through humor and cynicism, makes the best of out of his life.  I was amused by the descriptions of the troubles he found himself in because of his curiosity and was laughing out loud with each new predicament.  Though the storyline got a bit out there for me, as a story of this type should, Shaney’s narration kept me reading and drew me in.

JC Wallace has created a realistic character with a personality that is both genuine and comical, and makes it easy for readers to connect and care about Shaney.  I also enjoyed the supporting characters like Todd, Shaney’s best friend. Though everything was there for a potential romance, the author refrained from being cliché. The twists and turns that take place in the story kept me wondering if I should like or trust Shaney’s love interest Hudson, always coming to the conclusion that above all he cared for Shaney. I hated Caleb and Silas from the moment they entered the picture and continued to cringe each time either of their names came up.

Summing up, though an occult story, Shaney was a character I took an immediate liking to and continued to have an interest in, wondering what would happen to him next. The storyline kept my interest and continued to surprise me. This is a very well written book and I would suggest it to readers who enjoy occult and paranormal types of stories as well as to anyone who is looking for an original book. I look forward to reading future books by JC Wallace!

Also check out Tanja’s review of this book 🙂

My Rating: 8/10 pots of gold

Pot Of Gold 8

 

About Author J.C. Wallace:

I have been writing all of my life. After reading Pet Cemetery by Steven King when I was 16, I decided I wanted to write, too. Well, what I wrote wasn’t a best seller and was never read by another person but that didn’t stop me from writing. In my late teens and early 20s, I wrote several YA book length stories, but never sought publication with those either. 

Then came work and marriage and kids and then college (in that order). While in college, I put away most of my writing. Initially I was an English Literature Major with an emphasis in Creative Writing. And what could you do with that but become a teacher so that was my plan and, of course, write on the side. Well, that major morphed into a degree in psychology. I received a BA in Psychology and went on to get a MS in Counseling Children and Adolescents. During that time, the only thing I was writing was school papers and my thesis. 

Since graduating, I have had many different positions in the mental health field including administration. After I unexpectedly lost a job about 5 years ago, I returned to college and got a second Master’s in School Counseling. Unfortunately during my internship, I decided that wasn’t for me (wish I’d known before I spent the money!). During that time, I also started taking classes on Applied Behavior Analysis and loved it! After two years of classes and experience, I recently sat for the exam to become Board Certified Behavior Analyst. I currently work for an agency that serves individuals with autism and behavior problems. And now, once again, I am writing!

It was just this year that I ventured out to be published. My first short story, “Waiting for Snow” was selected for publication in Love Lane Books’ anthology, Christmas Delights.

My first novel, Curiosity Killed Shaney, was be published with R&P Publishing in March of 2014.

So, for now in my day job, I am a behavior analyst. At night and on the weekends, I write about all things men. I believe there is nothing hotter than two men finding and loving one another, whether for a night or forever. An avid reader of M/M romance, I love a good twist of a plot, HEA, HFN, or tragic ending. 

PS. I am owned by three kids, one grandchild and one on the way, two dogs and one cat. I live in the beautiful Adirondack Mountains in Northern NY.

Websitehttp://www.jcwallacebooks.com/

Facebook Author Pagehttps://www.facebook.com/pages/JC-Wallace/587780511299946

 

Buy Curiosity Killed Shaney at

The Rooster & The Pig Publishing,

AmazonARe or B&N

Leave a Reply

