Guest Post & Giveaway by Taylor V. Donovan

I want to give a great big thank you to Taylor V. Donovan for stopping by to talk to us about her new book Hearsay which is book 1 in her new trilogy.



The Discovery Process… by Taylor V. Donovan

Hi, all!

I’m Taylor V. Donovan, author of gay romance and suspense. This is my first visit to Rainbow Gold Reviews, and I couldn’t be more thrilled to be here. Thank you all for having me! 

As you may or may not know, I have a new story coming out in a few days. Hearsay (Hearsay) is Book 1 in the trilogy featuring Derrick Swain, a/k/a Petitioner, and Believer in the Fairy Tale, and Roman Bradford, a/k/a Respondent and Prince in Distress. This here is an abstract of the Opening Statement in their case:

ON SEPTEMBER 18, 2013, an explosion of light burst through a conference room at Acosta, Bradford & Chadwick, LLP, a top tier law firm located near Columbus Circle in Manhattan. It took place during the monthly meeting between the Family Law Department attorneys and the Managing Partners. Thirty-five people were in attendance, but only one soul was affected.

There are no witness statements as to how it originated other than that of the victim, a thirty-two year-old senior associate. Mr. Derrick Swain, Esq., testified under oath the meeting had concluded when he approached one of the partners of the firm. The partner, identified herein as Roman Bradford, Esq., shook Mr. Swain’s hand, and flashed a smile so wide and tempting, it blinded Mr. Swain and caused him heart palpitations and labored breathing. Mr. Bradford then proceeded to disclose the location where he would be having his lunch, and insinuated to Mr. Swain to stop by The Pond in Central Park. After that first time, both Mr. Swain and Mr. Bradford willingly and readily continued to have lunch together for the next seven days, until Mr. Bradford withdrew his offer of happily ever after without discussing the terms.

THE VICTIM has since suffered from acute insomnia; a broken heart; and the inability to show romantic interest in other men. A closer examination of Mr. Bradford’s actions indicates he was never purposely negligent in the way in which he bestowed his interest and attentions.

THEREFORE, Mr. Swain seeks to punish Mr. Bradford with all the force of his wit, charm, good looks, and seduction until Mr. Bradford admits to the real reasons of his abandonment of Mr. Swain and accepts the plea bargain that includes good times, kisses, domesticity, and a sentence of twenty-five years to life in the company of his former victim.

As you can see from reading the statement, our protagonist is resolved to win back the attention of the man of his dreams. Like I said before, Mr. Swain believes in fairy tales and happily ever after. He’s an accomplished attorney, and his job is extremely important to him, but he also wants the husband, the house, and the 2.5 kids.

Living in an age where having a successful career is the number one priority for a big number of people, men like Derrick could be perceived as the odd man out. In the corporate world, some might even say his attention is divided, which, in turn, could be perceived as Derrick not being as committed as he should be to his job. They couldn’t be more wrong.

For a year Derrick has been as committed to practicing the law to the best of his ability as he’s been committed to avoiding the man who dumped his ass by failing to meet Derrick at their “secret spot.” And he’s been excellent at it, too, always managing to avoid his boss. For a year he’s been under the impression Roman lost interest in him, but all that changes when they face each other again, and now Derrick is ten thousand percent committed to finding out what the hell caused Roman Bradford to stay away.

In lawsuits, there’s a pre-trial phase known as the Discovery Process. This is the time where the parties “can obtain evidence from the opposing party by means of discovery devices including requests for answers to interrogatories, requests for production of documents, and requests for admissions and depositions.” Derrick will use all of them to his advantage.

He will interrogate Roman, use his body and mutual attraction to short-circuit Roman’s brain whenever possible, and demand Roman admits the truth. And, yes, Derrick won’t accept anything but the truth.

See? Commitment should be Derrick Swain’s middle name.

This discovery process concept will apply to Derrick as well.

In Hearsay, he will face difficult and potentially life-shattering situations. Everything he’s worked so hard for could be in danger. His idea of the perfect “happily ever after” will be challenged to the extreme, and the time will come when he’ll have to reach deep within himself and discover how far he’s willing to go, and how much he can take.

Hearsay is only the beginning of their journey. 

Have any of you ever been in love and given up on a relationship because you couldn’t handle the baggage? Have you ever been in love and given up on a relationship because you thought that person would be better off without you? Would you?

The Giveaway:

Share your story with us for a chance to win a copy of Hearsay, releasing May 12th. I also brought a copy of Disasterology 101, a story that’s very near and dear to my heart, plus a title of your choice from my back list for a third winner.

As always, you need to be 18 years or older to enter the contest, void where prohibited, etc.

This Giveaway will end on May 14th, 2014 at 11:59 CDT. Good Luck 😉

Thank you all for stopping by, and happy reading!

Review for Disasterology 101

Taylor (http://taylorvdonovan.com)

TVDlogo_HiRes_1200x1200

Blurb:

Senior associate attorney Derrick Swain wants it all: a loving husband, a fulfilling career, and a couple of kids. After years of hard work he’s on the fast track to a promotion. He’s also met the man of his dreams. A week of daily lunch meetings in Central Park provides the perfect setting to get to know him better, and Derrick thinks it won’t be long before they take the next step and go on a date. But instead of asking him out, the object of his affection stops showing up without explanation, leaving him to wonder what went wrong.

As part owner of one of the most prestigious law firms in New York City, Roman Bradford knows that professional success isn’t the be all end all. Although he’s been lucky in life, true love has eluded him for the most part. One too many failed relationships have caused him to be leery of trying again, until he meets a man that can only be described as temptation personified. A few conversations is all it takes for Roman to start believing things will be different this time around. It doesn’t matter that they are boss and employee, or that he’s feeling too much, too fast. Not when he can see the same emotions in Derrick’s eyes. Then life turns on a dime, and Roman has no option but to let his chance at happiness go.

A battle of wills ensues when a life-altering case brings them together a year later. Roman wants to do the right thing by not letting anything happen between them, and Derrick is determined to prove they’re meant to be together. Evidence will be presented and final arguments will be made. Will they be able to come to an agreement, or will they opt to have their potential relationship dismissed?

Hearsay_600x900

18 thoughts on “Guest Post & Giveaway by Taylor V. Donovan

  1. I can’t wait to read this one. I don’t have a story but would like to think I would be able to do what’s best for all involved if it ever came to it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Years ago I was in a relationship that just wasn’t working. We decided we would be better off as friends. It was not easy over time it became apparent that it was worth it – he truly became my best friend. Sometimes ending a relationship starts something even better!!! So… ten years later… ten years older… ten years wiser… Somehow things began to change… and very slowly, we grew closer, and friendship blossomed into something the earlier years could not even come close to reaching. The hardest decision had come full circle to be the best decision of our lives. We are now married for two and a half years. Who knew?

    Like

  3. I gave up on a relationship because he couldn’t handle my baggage (I had and still have a big baggage) so it was the right thing… he would be better without me and I would be better without him

    Like

  4. I was in a relationship many years ago with a man with a lot of baggage. I loved him but he was an alcoholic & drug addict. I tried to stick by him for years but finally had to end it. I still think about what might have been if he could of cleaned up his act. Sometimes love is not enough.

    Like

  5. I’ve been lucky in love. I met my husband when I was 17, and we’ve been married for 36 years. But it wasn’t all roses. We’ve both had to work at our marriage, and we’ve both had to compromise. We’ve moved from one end of the world to the other 3 times before we got it right, and we’re still not settled yet. I could say our marriage is still a work in process.

    Like

  6. I don’t have a story; which makes me sound boring. I have no idea what I would do if I thought someone would be better off without me. Hopefully whatever is best for the situation.

    Like

  7. After 6 years of marriage, I finally had to call it quits before he completely drove me insane. It was a scary thing to face, but if I hadn’t, I wouldn’t have met my wonderful husband of 26 years.

    Like

  8. Nope, I’ve never given up on someone because of their baggage, or mine. It was either events or growing apart that did the relationships in.
    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  9. Pingback: You’ve Been Served! | Taylor V. Donovan

  10. I have ended a relationship because of my baggage, although at the time I would have said the cause was something else. I’m older and wiser now (well sorta) and everything turned out for the best as I believe we’re both with the people we were meant to be with. Interesting topic!

    Like

  11. I met my husband in high school. Everything hasn’t always been sunshine and roses, but we have worked it out together.

    Like

  12. Right after college I dated a nice guy from Georgia. Loved the accent! But after a month he told me he had a young daughter and she’d be living with him full time now and I did break it off because I knew I couldn’t handle a child at that time. I felt bad about it for a while but I bumped into him a couple years later and he’d gotten married and had a second child on the way so I knew I made the best decision for both of us.

    Like

  13. I never give up on Love I have had one relationship have been in it for twenty three years, It has Survived three strokes affecting my partner. This is my life long romance and i stick to it thorugh it all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

