The Dating Game by @Jay_Northcote #Audiobook #LGBT #Review

 

Dawn reviews Jay Northcote’s The Dating Game Audiobook, which was released on 13th March 2015. (The book was  published on September 22nd, 2014, 103 pgs).

This audio book was provided free of charge for an honest review by the author.

Narrator:   Matthew Lloyd Davies

Length:  3 hours and 6  minutes

TheDatingGame_cover_final

Five sex-free dates—how hard can it be?  When they were at uni, Owen always had a bit of a crush on Nathan. But Nathan was apparently straight, and Owen was too busy with other guys to take his crush seriously.

When Nathan moves back to Bristol after a year away, Owen hears that Nathan has come out of the closet, and he propositions him. Nathan doesn’t want to be just another notch on Owen’s bedpost, though, so he challenges Owen to prove he can be serious: five dates before they have sex.

Owen doesn’t think that sounds too difficult. He’s expecting Nathan to find his charms irresistible anyway. But as they grow closer, Owen begins to care more about proving himself to Nathan than he does about getting him into bed.

 

Review

I have to say two things:  first of all, I have read the book, but I jumped at the chance to listen to the audiobook, I just had to see if it was as good listening to a book rather than reading it! Secondly, this is the first audiobook I have reviewed, as I am relatively new to the audiobook world.  All the other audio books I have listened to have been narrated by american men, and this is first one I have heard that was read by someone who was english.

I loved his voice, once I started listening, I honestly didn’t want to stop!!  Be warned, once you start you will have to make sure you have time to listen to it all.  I will also confess that I have listened to this twice now.

Owen has secretly has a crush on Nathan for years, but hasn’t acted on it, as he believed Nathan was straight.  However, when Nathan moves back to Bristol, he also reveals that he has come out of the closet, and Owen sees this as his chance to have Nathan in his bed.

However, Nathan has other ideas, and decides he doesn’t want to another one of Owens conquests.  He therefore decides that he will agree to go out with Owen for five dates – but the ultimate challenge is that they will be sex free.  Much to Nathans’ surprise, Owen agrees to this,

They both start making arrangements for their dates, and they get to know each other more at each date.  Owen then realises that he doesn’t think of Nathan as just another conquest, but that he cares for Nathan more than he has for anyone before.

Is Owen able to convince Nathan that he really does cares for him, or does Nathan simply believe that he is just another of Owens conquests??

I loved this story, as you were able to hear both sides of the story, Owen is a loveable rogue, was always honest about what he wanted, but I think this was because he hadn’t actually found that special someone.  Nathan on the other hand, had listened to all the stories about Owen, and believed that Owen was just someone who had one night stands and that was all, that he was not capable of a meaningful relationship.

As I have already mentioned, I have read the book, and knew what was going to happen, but in this case I have to say I so enjoyed listening to the book more than reading it.  There were a few weird looks from family as I laughed at some parts, and even a few “Oh”  as I listened…… I especially loved the phone sex….. the narrator was spot on with how he read this.  Overall I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves audiobooks, but it is read by an Englishman, and I believe that as most of the audiobooks around are read by American men, some people will find this off-putting.  I didn’t mind this, as I have found that I can swap between the two, but this could be as I am relatively new to the audiobook scene.

 

 

pot-of-gold-10special

 

 BUY THE BOOK @ Audible UK

Audible.com

AuthorBio

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with her husband, two children, and two cats.
She comes from a family of writers, but she always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. She spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content. One day, she decided to try and write a short story–just to see if she could–and found it rather addictive. She hasn’t stopped writing since.

 

CONTACT THE AUTHOR

Facebook

Website

Twitter

Leave a Reply

