‘As You Are’ by Ethan Day #LGBT #Review #Audiobook

Marc and Dana review As You Are by Ethan Day (Released on audio, February 4, 2015, Narrated by Jason Frazier. Published by Wilde City Press, November 13, 2013, 200 pages)

Why I read this: 

Marc – I own this book as eBook and paperback, but never got around to reading it. It came highly recommended. As is often the case, when the audiobook version was released, I saw it as my chance to finally ‘read’ the book. I have a much easier time fitting an audio book into my day than I have to actually find the time to read. So I actually bought this audiobook as soon as it was released and a very short time before we received the offer to review the audiobook. So Dana and I decided to co-review 😉

Dana – I was recommended this book a while back, but hadn’t had the chance to read it. When we were given an audiobook at no charge in exchange for an honest review, I jumped at the chance to review it.

as you are

 

Blurb: Operation Danny…that’s all bartender and recent college graduate, Julian Hallowell has had on his mind the past year. Julian may have no idea what he wants to do with his life, but he definitely knows he‘s in love with the boy next door: The one in next room to be exact, his roommate Danny Wallace.

Danny owns a used text book store just off campus and while Julian has done his level best to make Danny fall for him, all his hard work appears to have been in vain. Danny doesn’t seem to view Julian as anything other than that…a roommate and friend. So when new guy in town Andy Baker asks him out on a date, Julian can’t seem to think of a good reason to say no.

Julian has already instituted a Reverse Operation Danny plan, which he’s positive will purge all thoughts of love and lust for his roomie out of his head. He’s ready to move on and start looking for his next Mr. Right, and Andy just might fit the bill.

Buy Links: Audible | Amazon | ARe | Wilde City Press

ReviewThe narrator: 

Marc – Jason has a very different voice than most other narrators I have listened to in this genre. More soft and young and very seductive. I already knew he was very versatile in his narrations from his previous projects. For me, instead of just telling the story, Jason seems to be experiencing it. As it says on the cover, it is not just read by Jason it’s performed by him!!! Especially in sex scenes that is extremely hot and I promised Jason not to leave out that his narration and Ethan’s writing caused my jeans to be a bit tight. That’s what I get for confessing my arousal while reading the book 😛

Dana – Jason Frazier is good narrator for this story. His voice sounds fitting for twenty-something aged college students. The breathy quality of his voice definitely amps up the intimate moments between the characters as well.

The story:

Marc – So, buddy reviews are meant to give you two different perspectives and usually you would get two different ratings. However, Dana and I agree 100 percent about this book and even the narration. It is rare, but there is not much I can add.

Both characters are very flawed and in the beginning and even the middle there were times I had a hard time connecting with them. They are not quite as easy to like as other characters I encountered in books. That makes them human though and we do see different sides of them during the story. In the end, it is kind of cool that these characters are shown without hiding their ugly sides. They are as much part of them as their sympathetic sides and make up who they are and show how they fit together.

This book is funny and sexy and has unexpected depths. It started out a lower rating for me, but grew on me over time as I started to accept and care for the main characters despite their faults. Especially one scene later in the book that is filled with raw emotion and honesty made this book special and worth reading. Neither of these guys would ever be my ‘book boyfriend’, a fictional guy I’d ‘fall’ for in RL and dream about. But they deserve the happiness they found and I was glad I was along for the ride as they found to each other.

Dana – To me the title says a lot about this story. Julian and Danny might be two of the more flawed characters I’ve ever read or listened to. Julian has a good sense of humor but he can be sort of cutting sometimes. He can be judgmental of others and their relationships, even his best friend Gabby and her boyfriend’s. He is someone who strives for what he wants in life though. Whether it’s continuing his education until he finds what it is he really wants to do, or his pursuit for love and happiness with a partner.

Danny is a player, but he never promised Julian more than being friends and roommates. He also has a bit of trouble with communication and tends to be a man’s man despite his sexual orientation. He seems embarrassed by Julian’s obvious gay-ness. When he’s around Julian’s mother, we do see a sweeter side to him.

Though Julian has crushed on Danny for a while, he attempts to find love with Andy. It’s a mistake even though part of me rooted for Andy to break through some of Julian’s assumptions about people. The relationship also sparks Danny to a little bit of jealousy. Most of this book, we watch these roommates navigate around their relationships with others and their secret feelings for each other. In the end, it’s obvious that both men are very imperfect, but I think they are honest about who they are. When they get together finally, I think it is an example of one of the most honest love stories. They didn’t hope to change each other, or point out each other’s faults. They honestly fell for each other just as they were.

pot_o_gold_8

 

 

Leave a Reply

