‘Channeling Morpheus For Scary Mary’ by Jordan Castillo Price #LGBT #DuoReview #Audiobook @jordancprice

MtSnow reviews the audio book and Bethany reviews the ebook of ‘Channeling Morpheus For Scary Mary’ by Jordan Castillo Price.  Published by JCP Books LLC (March 22, 2015)

Why MtSnow listened to this: Because it’s JCP. And I loved smart- alecky, sarcasticly-witty, dry-humored Victor Bayne in Psycop series, so I was sure I was going to like any other characters she wrote about. Man. Was I right.

Why Bethany read this: When Jordan sent an email asking if we would like a copy to review I jumped at the chance.  I have a thing for Vampires and this series has been on my TBR list for a while.

We were offered this box set in exchange for an honest review.

pic

picMichael is a waif in eyeliner who’s determined to wipe vampires off the face of the earth. Wild Bill’s got the hots for Michael, and will stop at nothing to go home with him.

Forget about moonlit castles and windswept moors. These bad boys haunt all-night diners and cheap motels, cut-rate department stores and long, lonely stretches of the Interstate. Ride along with Wild Bill and Michael as the twists and turns of Channeling Morpheus for Scary Mary unfold in America’s Heartland.

Ebook box set contains the following novelettes: Payback, Vertigo, Manikin, Tainted, Rebirth.

 

Review

MtSnow:

The stories: this series of short novelettes was originally set up as a serial, and all I can say is I’m thankful I got to read it all in one go, as this series is like a drug, or your favorite addiction. I’d have gone crazy with only little tidbits of Wild Bill and Michael. This set of books is more about Michael, and the next boxed set allows us to learn more about Wild Bill.Michael. A young, 21-yr-old, long-haired, eyeliner-wearing, silver-eyed gay goth boy.. Or man, I should say. He reads like an old soul for a young guy. And with good reason. He’s on a mission. With hickory stakes and ketamine sewn into his leather jacket. He’s a vampire-slayer, out for revenge against the creatures that took his beloved best friend from this world when he was only 18. Scary Mary. He’s been out and about, fine tuning his search, capture, and kill abilities since.

 

Wild Bill. I first ‘listened’ to him in audio, and at first wasn’t quite sure I liked the voice that was selected for him by narrator Gomez Pugh. The same narrator for the Psycop series. In fact Michael’s narration voice is very similar to Vic’s, but the similarity stops there. It doesn’t take long, after hearing the whiskey-quiet voice of Wild Bill to realize this is a completely different series, but, in a good way. I think it took a few chapters for his voice to grow on me, as it didn’t seem quite strong or harsh, or even seductive enough at first, but then it did.

Now on to the adventures. And blood. And sexy times. Oh my. LOTS of it! Blood AND adventure AND sexy times. Around every corner. Another surprise. Oh my. Who’d have thought it could work together quite like this?!? The imagery was VERY vivid, and the reader is left to wonder if these two could ever have common ground, or was it a hidden agenda on either of their part. Could Michael really separate in his mind the difference between Wild Bill, and other bloodsuckers? If so, how does he do it? Or can he? And can Wild Bill get beyond thinking of Michael as a young kid, and as FOOD? Really?!

This is a subtle yet ‘in your face’ thriller, with things jumping out at you every few chapters, as well as lots of blood and sex. I found myself at first taking sides, then embracing both these guys, and reading (or in this case listening) to this box set all in one sitting. VERY hawt. VERY addictive. VERY smart, psychological thriller.

Highly recommended. In this case, I’d get BOTH the narration AND the eBook as they both gave me a different pacing and feel for these two guys. You won’t be sorry. BUT you’ll want the next set at your disposal IMMEDIATELY. I actually had the second box set on preorder when I was approached and asked if I wanted to do a co-review. Answer? HECK YES!!

pot-of-gold-10special

Bethany:

Ok like I said above I have a thing for Vampires and this has been on my TBR shelf for a while, so I was super excited to read it.  But when I started it I wasn’t in the right head space to read it.  I had heard it is pretty graphic.  So after I read the first novelette, Payback, I put it down for a few days.  Read a little fluff then decided I was ready for the nitty gritty.  Man oh man was I was not prepared for what I got.

So yea this book, which is composed of five novelettes, is so flippin awesome.  I could not put it down, I read it in the line while I waited to pick up my kids from school, I let them have pizza for dinner just so I wouldn’t have to make anything.  Don’t judge, pick up the book and tell me you wouldn’t do the same.

At first I was a little put off on the whole vampire slaying aspect of it.  Cause I feared for Wild Bill, seriously how cool is that name.  But after finishing Vertigo in the series I was convinced that Michael and Bill would be fantastic together.  And I was not wrong.  The sex is hot and the humor is sarcastic.  There is no better combination than that.

And BLOOD, sweet baby Jesus there is blood.  Blood all over the place, sometimes freely given sometimes forcefully.  Blood during sex, blood after sex, a little blood, a lot of blood.  Did I mention the blood?  Is it gruesome, sure.  Is it hot, hell yea.  But it is critical for the story, a necessity for Bill to live.  Look, Jordan tells a very vivid, detailed story, and it is not for the faint of heart.  But oh my gosh it is so worth it.

Bill and Michael together is an unlikely pair, but when they are together the sparks fly and the pages burn up.  They adventures they take with one another left me speechless in places, and rolling on the floor laughing in others.  I enjoyed taking that journey with them and have Jordan to thank for that.  Who knew an act of revenge would turn into finding love.  I can not recommend these novelettes enough.  If you like nitty gritty paranormal this is a must read.  Just be sure you have the next box set ready.

pot-of-gold-10special

AuthorBio

JCPAuthor and artist Jordan Castillo Price is the owner of JCP Books LLC. Her paranormal thrillers are colored by her time in the midwest, from inner city Chicago, to small town Wisconsin, to liberal Madison.

Jordan is best known as the author of the PsyCop series, an unfolding tale of paranormal mystery and suspense starring Victor Bayne, a gay medium who’s plagued by ghostly visitations. Also check out her new series, Mnevermind, where memories are made…one client at a time.

With her education in fine arts and practical experience as a graphic designer, Jordan set out to create high quality ebooks with lavish cover art, quality editing and gripping content. The result is JCP Books, offering stories you’ll want to read again and again.

Explore More

Sign up for the monthly newsletter ♥ Visit Jordan’s Blog ♥ Friend Jordan on Facebook Shop at JCP Books

See Jordan’s official Amazon page ♥ Visit the official PsyCop site ♥ Visit the official Channeling Morpehus site

Read the flash fic Fire and Earth ♥ JCP Coming Soon

 

One thought on “‘Channeling Morpheus For Scary Mary’ by Jordan Castillo Price #LGBT #DuoReview #Audiobook @jordancprice

  1. Pingback: Channeling Morpheus by Jordan Castillo Price #LGBT #Guestpost #Sale #Giveaway | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

