‘The Eye of the Beholder’ by Louise Lyons #LGBT #Review

Sara reviews ‘The Eye of the Beholder’ by Louise Lyons. This book was published on May 8th, 2015 by Wilde City Press and is 280 pages long.

NOTE: A copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Why I read this book: It seems a majority of books involving romance focus on physical perfection.  I was thrilled to see a book that seemed to buck that trend.

CLICK THE COVER TO BUY THE BOOK

Vince Voss is obsessed with physical beauty. Influenced by his aunt, with whom he runs a modeling business, he has become unfeeling and cruel. Vince’s mother, who was a witch in life, returns to show him a better way to live. She casts a spell to take away his good looks and he finds himself challenged with searching for someone to love him, without the use of physical attraction. 

Vince eventually meets a lonely male vampire, Peter, and despite his reluctance to get involved with him, he decides to use Peter to help him lift the spell. Little does he know that at first, Peter is using him too, and he finally realizes what’s really important when he falls for Peter along the way.

Buy @ Wilde City PressAmazon, Barnes & Noble, All Romance

*****

Review

Review:

This is the first book I have read by this author, and I really liked the premise of the book.  I loved that the main character was forced to find beauty on the inside.  I was pleased that the main character also doesn’t do an immediate about face in his attitudes. It takes Vince a few months to adjust to his new appearance, and he definitely finds out what it is like to be only accepted for what is on the outside.  Fortunately he also meets a few people that focus on inner beauty.  I really enjoyed the journey of the main character and how the author set him up.  I really didn’t like Vince at all in the beginning, but I was cheering him on by the end.

While the secondary characters were richly developed and added a lot to the story, I was a bit disappointed that every secondary character was flawlessly beautiful on the outside.  Well,  except for one.  No mention was made about Tandi’s appearance other than skin color and age…she was probably my favorite character in the whole story, even more so than the main characters.  Both Vince and his love interest Peter have friends that are there for them during the ups and downs, but Tandi was Vince’s true teacher on how to become a better person.  I would love to see a story from this author about Tandi and her family.

As to the romance development, it was a slow build.  They initially meet because Peter is fascinated by Vince’s smell.  Their relationship soon grows beyond the superficial and we can see a deep kindness and loving between them.  Don’t get me wrong, there were a lot of sexual relations, but plenty of sweet cuddling time too.

I would have liked to know more about Vince’s mother’s prior attempts to put him and his aunt on a path to kindness, but overall, this was a charming love story with a happily ever after.  Definitely an enjoyable read.

The Rating: 

8/10 pots of gold (80% recommended) -compares to 4/5 stars.

*****

AuthorBio

BiogrLouiseLyonsaphy

I live in the UK and have been writing for many years. I began with short stories as a child and eventually progressed to Fanfiction in my 20s.

I finally tried submitting some of my work to publishers in 2014 and was delighted to have my first novel accepted and released in August 2014.

When I’m not writing, I enjoy long distance running, cross stitch, maintaining and showing my modified Japanese imported car and looking after a zoo of assorted animals. I also love hiking and camping, and traveling abroad.

 

Leave a Reply

