‘Silver Scars’ by Posy Roberts #LGBT #Review

Bethany reviews ‘Silver Scars’ by Posy Roberts. Published by Labyrinth Bound Press June 22, 2015, 282 pages.

Why I read this book:  We were offered a review copy and after I read the blurb I asked to review it.  It sounded emotional and heartbreaking in the best possible way so I thought I would try it.

We were offered this book in exchange for an honest review.

**********

picA bomb destroyed high-powered lawyer Gil Lemieux’s seemingly perfect life, and PTSD has ruled every decision since the explosion that left him scarred inside and outside. Moving home with his mom is meant to be a temporary measure, just like proofreading for a medical editorial firm is meant to be a stopgap. But two years after taking on the wrong court case, he’s still living in fear.

Keith Kramer might be based 1,500 miles away from Gil, but their shared work brings them together—a chance meeting that’s life-changing. Gil is drawn to Keith’s good looks and intelligence, but it’s his innate understanding that Gil is more than the scars on his skin that is truly attractive. He’s everything Gil used to be and more. It blows Gil’s mind that his attraction might be returned.

Only doubt could widen the distance between them. Keith’s hopefulness, borne out of surviving some tough challenges of his own, isn’t enough to bridge the distance alone. Gil will need to believe he has as much to offer as Keith if they’re to build a life together.

 

 

Review
Ok I have sat on this book for a few days now so I could wrap my head around my thoughts and what I wanted to say.  This book grabs you from the beginning, twists you up inside and doesn’t let go till the end.  Its emotional, heartbreaking, devastating and beautiful, wrapped up in 282 pages.

I want to start off by saying the first person POV in this was not what I was used to, so it took me some time to get used to,  but once I got going it didn’t bother me.

My heart broke for Gil from the very beginning of the book and I could understand his need to hide.  I have never been through something so horrible but I can only imagine the pain, and the living in constant fear.  I think there were a few times that I shed a couple of tears, while reading what he went through.  I was also glad to see him stepping out of his comfort zone for a work trip.  Why did I like this so much?  Well you see this is where he meets Keith and the connection between the two was instantaneous.

Oh, on the outside Gil sees Keith as perfection, even though he is very attracted to him, Gil thinks there is no way someone so beautiful would look twice at him.  But you know what they say about judging a book by its cover.  We come to find out that Keith has scars of his own.

I loved watching the relationship build between these two.  Starting off long distance, skyping often, texting daily, it made me smile to see the work they were putting into their relationship.  I have to tell you I am not sure I would be able to be that far from my significant other.  They finally do end up in one place and just when you think everything will be wonderful, they are thrown quite a curve ball.  And instead of pushing the other away, they held on tight and drew strength from each other.

Here is the thing with this book, there is no one big thing that they have to go through.  This book is their journey and I am so glad I got to walk it with them.  There are very high ups, and very low lows.  I laughed, I cried and I felt joy.  If you are looking for a book about getting knocked down and fighting your way to happiness, I highly recommend this book.

pot_o_gold_8

 

Leave a Reply

