‘Moonstone’ (Stone Magic #1) by K-Lee Klein #LGBT #DuoReview

Sam & Bethany review  ‘Moonstone (Stone Magic #1)’ by K-Lee Klein.  This book was published by Amber Quill Press, LLC on July 19, 2015 and is 196 pages long.

This book was provided free of charge for an honest review by the author.

imageKy’s a fighter, Blue’s an artist, but together they are truly magical.

Ky’s fought his way to the boxing championship for the third time, but now the fight of his life isn’t against an opponent in the ring. He’s battling a darkness within himself that he can’t ignore and can’t control. If he fails, everything he’s spent his life working for will be gone, and he can’t see a path to victory. Only a hunch sends him looking for help in the most unusual places.

Blue’s a quiet guy, living for his family and the art of his tattoos. He’s created his shop, Blue’s Dungeon, to be a place for the celebration of art on skin—simple, friendly, and mostly uncomplicated—and Blue likes it that way.

But when Ky shows up in Blue’s tattoo parlor, desperately searching for a lifeline, it’s the beginning of something magical for both men…

 

 

****

Review

Sam’s review:

Ky is a boxer. He has been fighting for years. But the personal battle he is up against can’t be won in the ring. He feels if he can’t win this fight his life will be worth nothing. So Ky is determined to do and try anything to win. This is what leads him to Blue’s Dungeon.

Blue is a tattoo artist. His art work is amazing. Not only does Blue create beautiful art on people but he paints murals that are mesmerizing.

From the moment the two men meet there is a strong pull that they can’t understand. Neither Ky nor Blue do relationships. Both have their own reasons and no one has made them want to try. That is until now.

Blue can tell that Ky is struggling with something big. He is willing to do anything he can to help. But, in order for this to happen both men will have to trust the other and let their biggest secrets be revealed.

When I saw synopsis for Moonstone, I knew I had to read it and I am very glad I did. Ky and Blue’s story was spectacular. The author did a fantastic  job writing it. It flowed great. The mystery of what was going on and what was going to happen had me hooked from beginning. I enjoyed the fun banter and hot sex but most of all how they both opened up and trusted each other with their deepest secrets even though it was hard for them to do. I loved the secondary characters as well. They were easy to connect with and added so much to the book. I can’t wait for their individual stories.

If you enjoy a love story with mystery, suspense, romance, magic and a lot more, then I highly recommend reading Moonstone by K-lee Klein.

10/10 pots of gold

*****

Bethany’s review:

K-lee is an auto-buy author for me.  I love her books, I love the way she write, and I love the way she tells a story.  And ‘Moonstone’ is no different from the previous books I have read by her.  They are original, and different, she doesn’t just stick to one type of story and I appreciate that.  Because I know that I will enjoy it without it being just like the last one I read.

Ok so I am going to confess I do not normally pick up fantasy, magic type books.  This is just because when I first started reading so much they were more contemporary, it is only recently that I started stepping outside my box and reading other types of books.  Let me tell you I am glad I did because this book is pure awesome.

After reading the blurb I automatically thought Ky would be the big strong alpha male, the one to “fix” things for Blue.  And thought Blue would be the one that needed to be “fixed” and man was I so very, very wrong here.  That made me very happy because I love it when an author can turn things around on me so much.  Well done K-lee.

I absolutely loved Blue and Ky together, the chemistry is instantaneous and wonderfully hot.  Yet the sweetness they show one another is perfection.  Why you ask?  Well they are both “non-relationship” kind of guys.  Ky because he is hiding a very big secret and Blue because he has been hurt before and doesn’t think it’s worth the heartache.  I think that is a huge reason I love this book so much, both men so broken inside yet they find a way to heal each other, putting those pieces back together.

The secondary characters are perfection.  I love each and every one of them and I want their stories now.  K-lee gives us little snippets about them that leaves you wanting more of them.  They don’t overpower the book, they compliment it and I love when the secondary characters can do that for me while reading.  I LOVED LOVED LOVED Blue’s mom, she was hilarious, leaving me laughing so hard I woke my hubby while he was sleeping.

K-lee has yet to leave me with a book I didn’t love, will it happen?  Maybe, I don’t know.  All I know is I love her writing and how she tells a story, whether contemporary or fantasy.  Magical or shifters.  Novella or a full length novel.   I have not found one I do not like, and that is why she will continue to be on my auto-buy list.

I loved this book and I highly recommend it if you are looking for something different, with beautiful characters that you can’t help but cheer for and want so badly for them to have a happy ever after.  I know this will be on my re-read list.  Well done K-lee, well done.

pot-of-gold-10special

pic

AuthorBio

K-lee Klein has lived in one part of Western Canada or another for her entire life. She’s a doting mother of three now-grown kids, and has had characters and plots running around her head for as long as she can remember.
She lives with a patient husband who totally does not get her thing for gay men, two spoiled but wonderful sons (who don’t get it either), and two also spoiled but beautiful cats. Her days are filled with texts and phone calls with her daughter who has already left the nest, and an abundance of fabulous gay men, large and small, bouncing off the walls of her skull, competing for their turns to tell their stories.
Once K-lee finally threw caution to the wind, her first story was accepted and published in December of 2011, and since then she’s been lucky enough to be picked up by several amazing publishers. She’s thrilled to be substituting her previous jobs as a hockey manager/coach, school band volunteer and overall chauffeur with her passion for writing beautiful, emotional men.
Among her favorite sub-genres to read and write are rock stars, cowboys, shifters, and opposites-attract relationships. But to be honest, she’s open to almost anything if it involves messing around in the heads of her characters. She’s also big on series—because she has a hard time letting her characters go—and is usually working on a handful of stories in various stages of completion all at the same time.
You can find all of K-lee’s books and updates on her website: http://www.kleeklein.com.

Author Contacts:

TwitterGoodreads, Facebook, Amber Quill Press, Blog

*****

 

One thought on “‘Moonstone’ (Stone Magic #1) by K-Lee Klein #LGBT #DuoReview

  1. Pingback: GRL Featured Author: K-lee Klein #GuestPost #RGRgiveaway #GRL2015 | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

