‘Sloe Ride’ (Sinners Series Book 4) by Rhys Ford #LGBT #DuoReview

Dana and Bethany review Sloe Ride (Sinners Series: Book 4) by Rhys Ford (Published by Dreamspinner Press, September 4th, 2015, 246 pages) A copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.

Why Dana read this: I’m a big fan of this author’s writing and have read the other books in this series. I was excited to read and review this when it was offered.

Why Bethany read this: I have been following this series since book 1, so when we had the chance at an advance review copy well I jumped at the chance.  Plus I am a HUGE fan of the author.

sloe ride

Blurb: It isn’t easy being a Morgan. Especially when dead bodies start piling up and there’s not a damned thing you can do about it.

Quinn Morgan never quite fit into the family mold. He dreamed of a life with books instead of badges and knowledge instead of law—and a life with Rafe Andrade, his older brothers’ bad boy friend and the man who broke his very young heart.

Rafe Andrade returned home to lick his wounds following his ejection from the band he helped form. A recovering drug addict, Rafe spends his time wallowing in guilt, until he finds himself faced with his original addiction, Quinn Morgan—the reason he fled the city in the first place.

When Rafe hears the Sinners are looking for a bassist, it’s a chance to redeem himself, but as a crazed murderer draws closer to Quinn, Rafe’s willing to sacrifice everything—including himself—to keep his quixotic Morgan safe and sound.

Buy links: Dreamspinner Press | Amazon | ARe | B&N

 

Review

Dana – I was so excited to read this book. Ever since Sinner’s Gin, I’ve been waiting for Quinn Morgan’s story.  It was a lengthy wait, but it was worth it. We just needed the right guy to come into the picture, Rafe Andrade. Rafe was always in the picture really, best friend to the older Morgan brothers when they were younger. After his fame and then his fall, he had been hiding himself away.

Quinn is definitely not like his other brothers. Not only did he not go into law enforcement, instead becoming a professor, but he doesn’t do well around crowds. Which is difficult in a family with 10 members. It’s painful how socially awkward he is, and he often has the need to escape. His character is very insightful though, and when not bombarded by his entire family he can be at ease and get along with his siblings just fine.

Rafe practically grew up with the Morgans, with an absentee dad and a mother who didn’t really care that much.  In that time he was able to figure out a lot about Quinn. He seems to be the one person who can understand Quinn’s quirkiness. But with their age difference and Rafe’s later troubles, he couldn’t invite the innocent younger man into his life.

The two of them do have a comfort with each other that they can’t find with other people. Sloe Ride is a slow burn romance, though I could feel the chemistry the two of them had even when they were trying to just be friends. Sloe Ride is part of the Sinners Series, so of course there is a mystery as well. Rhys can write an addicting romance, but her whodunnits drag me in just as much as the love story. Someone is killing people close to Quinn, and for the first time one of the MC’s isn’t part of the investigation. That doesn’t mean that Rafe won’t protect Quinn in anyway he can, though. Quinn’s brothers play a big part in this book. His whole family does, really, and beware of a surprise shooting that will cause you to curse and want to throw your ereader/tablet at a wall.

I will admit that I had totally guessed wrong on who the killer was and that was great to be as surprised as the main characters. I feel a bit sad because I know that the series is drawing to a close. (Don’t worry it’s not over yet.) The Morgan family and the Sinners band, which gets a new name at the end of this book, have become like family to me. I love Quinn and Rafe, and all the others. Prickly Miki will probably always be a favorite. As in every Rhys Ford book, there is witty banter and funny pop culture references. I definitely recommend this book and this series. If you haven’t read them yet, you need to.

pot-of-gold-10special

Bethany-  I have wanted Quinn’s story since book one, ‘Sinner’s Gin’.  Throughout the whole book I thought book two just HAD to be about Quinn because it seemed like the most obvious choice right?  It wasn’t till the end, I mean like the very last page, that I realized we would not be seeing Quinn next.  I was ok with that because after THAT ending, well I couldn’t wait for book two and Damien’s story.  And while reading book two, in the back of my head I kept thinking, ok book three most definitely has to be Quinn’s turn, right?  WRONG, Rhys pulled the rug out from under me AGAIN.  Once again book two’s ending was awesome, so I guessed I would have to wait a little longer.  Finally I got my hands on book three, but I wasn’t holding out hope that it’s ending would finally foreshadow into Quinn’s book.  Oh how I was wrong, and FINALLY we would be getting Quinn’s story in book four.  Why am I telling you this?  Simple, I found myself falling a little bit more in love with Quinn with each previous book. So when I did open ‘Sloe Ride’ it was like Christmas morning for me.

Now to the actual book.  Like I said above I have loved Quinn since book one and with each passing book I fell a little bit more.  But those books did NOTHING to prepare me for what I would learn about my sweet, quirky Quinn.  Oh my gosh my heart bleed for him and the things he went through, and how he still struggles with things that other see as normal.  Quinn is ANYTHING but normal, that is not a bad thing, it just explains a bit more about him.  He is the black sheep of his family and has been most of his life.  He didn’t go into law enforcement like the majority of his family did.  This leads to them wanting to wrap him in cotton to keep him safe.  But this doesn’t make him feel safe it makes him feel smothered.  And they just don’t get that this makes him feel boxed in leaving him with the urge to flee.  But one person gets Quinn, now and back then. Rafe.

You know what they say about the bigger they are the harder they fall?  Rafe is the embodiment of that sentence.  Growing up with no father and a mom barely around, they struggled to make ends meet.  A trip to the principals office for fighting finds him face to face with Donal Morgan.  From that moment on his life was entwined with the Morgan clan.  He goes on trips with them, eats dinner with them, and while he is closer in age with the two eldest boys, its Quinn he is drawn to.  Quinn is the Morgan brother he wants, yet because of his age difference and Rafe about to hit the road with his band, he keeps Quinn at arms length.  Till Rafe’s fall from grace lands him back home avoiding his adopted family, but mostly Quinn, the one Morgan he can’t seem to live without.

I ached for both of these men, they both have been to hell and back.  They are picking pieces up along the way, but they aren’t really whole till they stop fighting their feelings for each other.  When they do finally give in, its like magic on the pages of a book.  Rhys is a brilliant author, she writes in such a way that I feel like I am right there in the mess of the Morgan’s.  While reading I thought I had figured out who the culprit was, till the end, then it was like BAM that came out of left field.  WOW, I love it when an author can do that.  This was a fantastic addition to an already fantastic series.  It was well worth the wait, our very own Sloe Ride.

pot-of-gold-10special

slpe

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

AuthorBio

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys  admits to sharing the house with three cats of varying degrees of black fur, and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and a red Hamilton Beach coffee maker.

My Blog || Facebook || Twitter

Leave a Reply

