‘Cronin’s Key III’ by N.R. Walker #LGBT #Review

Bethany reviews ‘Cronin’s Key III’ by N.R. Walker.  Self-published on September 18th, 2015.  198 pages

Why I read this book:  I read and reviewed ‘Cronin’s Key’ & ‘Cronin’s Key II’ and loved them, so when we had the chance to read book three well I jumped at the chance.  Read my review’s for one and two here:

‘Cronin’s Key’

‘Cronin’s Key II’

NOTE:  This book is NOT a standalone and should be read in order.

CroninsKey3NRWalker1500History isn’t always what it seems…

Twelve months after his change, Alec MacAidan is still getting used to his many vampire talents. While most vampires would give anything to have more than one supernatural power, Alec craves nothing more than peace and time alone with Cronin. But when Alec meets entities from outside this realm, he’s left powerless in their presence.

Zoan are half-lycan, half-dragon creatures that have slipped through time and reality, seemingly undetected by man and vampire. Or have they? They bear an uncanny resemblance to gargoyles, leaving Alec’s view on all things weird to get a whole lot weirder.

This new quest leads Alec, Cronin, and their band of friends to Paris, Rome, and Moscow, where they learn that gargoyles aren’t simply statues on walls. In the underground pits beneath churches all over the world, Alec discovers the Key’s true destiny. Facing the Zoan might take every talent he has. And he may need help from the dead to get them all out alive.

 

Buy Link: Amazon

Review

Ok yes I know that I raved about book one, saying how much I loved it.  And yes I went on and on about how wonderful book two was, how I loved it more than book one.  But this one, this book folks is by far the best one yet.  FANTASTIC.

Alec has been a vampire for a while now, and married to Cronin.  I LOVE how they call each other husband all the time.  It gave me the warm fuzzies.  The way Cronin is so protective of Alec is almost funny, seeing how Alec is probably the most powerful vampire in the world, with more “gifts” than they can count.  Though sometimes these gifts can feel like curses to Alec.  But it isn’t just Cronin who is a protective hubby, Alec would do anything to keep Cronin, as well as their friends and family, out of harms way.  So it seems they have one final battle they will face before they get some peace and quiet.

The adventure in this one is fast paced and full of surprises.  The drama and history stuff she brings to this books is fascinating, I was hooked from the very beginning and intrigued to see what was going to happen next.  She brings back characters from book two that I loved and she introduces us to new characters.  I know that this is the final book in the trilogy but I am hoping that with the introduction of a few of these new characters we might be able to see a spin off.

The way N.R. Walker tells a story makes you feel like you are living it.  This book is visual, to a point I almost feel like I am getting a lesson in Gothic history.  She takes the history and makes it fun, like I would have paid attention if she were my teacher.  I could go on and on about how much I loved this book but I will leave you with this, N.R. Walker is a fantastic story teller.  And she did a bang up job with this one.  It tied up the loose ends and left me with a satisfied feeling that FINALLY Cronin and Alec will get their HEA.

This series is one that I know I will be re-reading often.  It is one that I highly recommend.  But if you have not read the first two books then you have to do that first, as this series is a journey for the characters and you might get lost if you don’t. I can promise you will not be disappointed with this trilogy.

pot-of-gold-10special

AuthorBio

N.R. Walker is an Australian author, who loves her genre of gay romance.

She loves writing and spends far too much time doing it, but wouldn’t have it any other way.

She is many things; a mother, a wife, a sister, a writer. She has pretty, pretty boys who live in her head, who don’t let her sleep at night unless she gives them life with words.

She likes it when they do dirty, dirty things…but likes it even more when they fall in love.

She used to think having people in her head talking to her was weird, until one day she happened across other writers who told her it was normal.

She’s been writing ever since…

Where to find the author:

Website

Facebook

Facebook Author Page

Facebook Fan Page

Twitter

Leave a Reply

