‘The Imperfection of Swans’ by Brandon Witt #LGBT #Review

Bethany reviews ‘The Imperfection of Swans’ by Brandon Witt.  Published by Dreamspinner Press on January 18th, 2015, 284 pgs

This book was provided to RGR in exchange for an honest review.

Why I read this book:  Brandon has been on my TBR list for a while and after reading the blurb I jumped at the chance to review it.

To read the interview with Brandon Witt, click here.

picKevin Bivanti’s dream is to open a wedding dress shop, a place with the stunning gowns to make every bride-to-be feel adored. At thirty-eight, he quits a successful advertising career to buy an old brownstone in a trendy Boston neighborhood and to make his dream a reality. When one of his cosigners drops out, fate intervenes, ushering in Casper James, who hopes to open his own bakery. With Casper willing to take the risk, their ambitions meld into a wedding dress and wedding cake boutique.

Extensive renovations to the brownstone, an affair with his ex-husband, family drama with his mothers, and the anxiety of significant life changes push Kevin to the brink of a nervous breakdown. In the midst of stress and uncertainty, Casper becomes more than a business partner, a mutual attraction that adds another layer of intensity and risk.

With their dreams on the verge of reality, Kevin and Casper must find the courage to face the stress of managing their attraction, the gamble of a new business venture, and the resurgence of Kevin’s personal demons.

 

Review

Beautifully heartbreaking, PERFECTION at its highest level.

This is my first Brandon Witt book, though he has been on my TBR list for quite some time now.  And I can say with out a doubt that this will not be the only book of his I read. I plan to read them all.

I just hope that this review does this book justice, cause let me tell you it is one that you will not soon forget.  It is one you will take with you for a very long time.  It is a book that when friends ask for recommendations, will be one of the first ones you tell them about.  You will connect with random people over this book because they have loved it just as much as you.  Its one that you will re-read often, because it will become a comfort read for you.

But this book in NOT for the faint of heart.  It tackles some very real, very tough issues that a lot of people deal with.  If you are looking for light and fluffy, this is not for you.  If you are looking for a book heavy on the erotica, this is not for you.  BUT if you want a story that is real, one that makes you feel like you connect with the characters, one that makes you cry and clap your hands with pure joy, then this is the book for you.

Kevin, my dear sweet Kevin, oh how I loved you.  Even when I was so upset with you I wanted to shake you.  There were so many times I wanted to be mad at him, but I just couldn’t.  He is one of those people that feels the need to be perfect.  Perfect looking, perfect in business, perfectly dressed, but the need for perfection is what leads to his anxiety which leads for bigger struggles in his life.  Oh my poor heart ached for him, wanted to wrap him up and protect him.  I wanted so badly to make him see perfect is unattainable and you are perfect just the way you are.  (Yes this is the mom in me talking)

Casper, well Casper is the PERFECT Yin to Kevin’s Yang.  They balance each other, and he proves that from the very beginning.  Not in the romantic way but in the business way, and the friendship way.  Yes they do get to the romance but it is a hard earned journey.  I love how passionate Casper is about his job and his business venture with Kevin.  Casper seems to get Kevin when others who are close to him don’t and this is how you know that these two are perfect for each other.

And the secondary characters are absolutely wonderful.  They bring so much to this story, laughter, tears, anger, hurt.  Kevin’s moms are so amazing and you can see the parallels between them and Kevin and Casper, and this made me smile so hard. Like I said above, this is a slow building romance.  There are other things in the way: exes, building a business together, and Kevin’s struggle with anxiety before they can get their HEA.  But it was a journey that I was so glad I got to take with them.

I could go on and on about how much I loved this book, so much that I bought the paperback, but I’ll wrap it up here.  This book is beautiful, its heart wrenching, its powerful, its emotional.  But it is above all a must read.

pot-of-gold-10special

~ ~ ~ ~

And check back tomorrow for my interview with Brandon.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “‘The Imperfection of Swans’ by Brandon Witt #LGBT #Review

  1. Thanks for a thoughtful, well written, and compelling review, Bethany! I can’t wait to get my hands on this book. I plan to buy it today and start reading it tonight. Not only is Brandon an incredible author, but he is a lovely and wonderful person whom I’ve had the honor to have met. Btw, you guys have done such a wonderful job with RGR! Congrats! ❤

    Like

  2. Oh wow I loved your review. Its so wonderful. A lot of it is what I was thinking but could not put it into words the way you did. I adored this story. Reading this brought it all back. Amazing

    Like

  3. Pingback: Interview: Brandon Witt #LGBT #Interview | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

