Business Makes Strange Bedfellows by E.E. Ottoman #LGBT #Review

Sam reviews ‘Business Makes Strange Bedfellows’ by E.E. Ottoman. Published by Less Than Three Press, LLC on October 29th, 2014 and is 76 pages long.

This book was provided free of charge by the author for an honest review.

Why I Read This:  This weeks theme is pushing boundaries week.  “Business Makes Strange Bedfellows’ by E.E. Ottoman is the book that I choose. After reading the synopsis I realized there is paranormal aspects to the story that it would be a storyline I may enjoy.

****

Synopsis:

Dr. Gert Bower’s day goes bad fast when she accidentally releases an abominable monster of the abyss on the streets of New York City. Desperate to stop it, she turns to the only person who can help her track the monster down. Vi De Luca is a private detective and creature of the night, a vampire more than willing to help Gert—for a price.

In exchange for catching the monster, Gert must spend one night with Vi, and let Vi have her way with Gert’s blood and body. Though she does not remotely trust Vi, for the good of the city Gert agrees. Yet tracking the monster turns out to be more than either of them had bargained for. When Gert embarks on an experiment to try and reanimate a human corpse things just keep getting worse

*****

 

Review

 

I choose to read Business Makes Strange Bedfellows by E.E. Ottoman, because I have never read a FF book before.  I have to admit that I was a little nervous at first.   I wasn’t sure it would be something that I would enjoy or even be able to get into the story.  I am happy to say that I was wrong.  I am actually glad I was pushed a little to try something different.

Business Makes Strange Bedfellows is about a scientist named Gert, who is trying to reanimate the human body.  While experimenting on a cadaver, Gert begins to open up the body and somehow a monster that is living inside the corpse escapes.  This monster starts killing those in its wake. Needing to catch this monster before it harms more innocent humans, Gert turns to Vi.  Vi is a vampire.  She knows how to track down the monster and kill it in order to save NYC from more deaths.  However, in exchange for her help, Vi wants one night with Gert to do whatever she desires.  Gert agrees to the terms knowing it’s her only choice.

Will they be able to get to the monster before more lives are taken? Will Gert regret agreeing to the terms that Vi set?

Business Makes Strange Bedfellows by E.E. Ottoman has an original storyline.  I was able to sink into the story and connect with the characters easily. The plot had you wondering when and where this monster would be and if they would be there in time to stop it.

The characters had instant chemistry, but Gert wasn’t ready to accept that right away. Eventually, she gave into the pull it had on her.  The sex was not a major point in the story, but when it happens it is in detail.  To my surprise it wasn’t what I expected.  I figured that I would read the scenes as fast I could to get through it, but that wasn’t the case.  I enjoyed the entire scene when the characters finally got together just like I do when it’s a MF or MM book.

The secondary characters didn’t have a big part in the story,  but they did add details that were important for the story’s progression.  Being only 76 pages long, it is a quick read but the story doesn’t seem to missing consistency or end abruptly.

Overall, Business Makes Strange Bedfellows by E.E. Ottoman has been an eye opener for me.  I am happy to say after reading this, I will be more open to try books that push my boundaries in the future.

pot_o_gold_8

8/10 gold pots

BUY LINKS

Amazon, KOBO, Less Than Three Press, Smashwords

****

AuthorBio

EE Ottoman grew up surrounded by the farmlands and forests of upstate New York. They started writing as soon as they learned how and have yet to stop. Ottoman attended Earlham College and graduated with a degree in history, before going on to receive a graduate degree in history as well. These days they divide their time between history, writing and book preservation.

Ottoman is also a disabled, queer, trans dude whose correct pronouns are: they/them/their or he/him/his. Mostly though they are a person who is passionate about history, stories and the spaces between the two.

AUTHOR LINKS

Website & Blog, Email, Facebook, Twitter

****

Leave a Reply

