‘The Sweet One’ by Andi Anderson #LGBT #Review #PushingBoundries

Bethany reviews ‘The Sweet One’ by Andi Anderson.  Published by Mischief Corner Books, LLC on June 27, 2014, 38 pgs.

Why I read this book:  This week is out of your comfort zone and this is tagged as sci-fi & fantasy.  Well I’m not a fan of either of those so I thought this would be a good choice.

We were provided this book in exchange for an honest review.

picSince the beginning of time Noah has guarded over many souls. He has always followed the number one rule. Never get emotionally attached to the souls he watches over. Noah has easily followed the rule, until his Sweet One was born. The minute Micah Thompson was took his first breath; Noah felt an emotional connection with him that he has never felt before.

Throughout Micah’s childhood and early teenaged years, Noah would briefly show himself and comfort Micah whenever he needed a friend or had a bad day. Noah’s soothing presence always made Micah feel better. When Noah decides Micah has gotten too attached to him, so he never appeared to Micah again, but has always watched over him and loved him from afar.

Micah is now a popular kindergarten teacher. He’s had few relationships because he always compares them to his Angel he saw as a child. This changes on the day his Angel interferes with Micah’s destiny and it changes both of their lives forever.

 

Review

Like I said before I am not a fan of sci-fi or fantasy, so I thought this would be a good one to push my boundaries and make me step outside of my comfort zone.  But after I finished this I wouldn’t necessarily call it sci-fi but I would call it fantasy.

After reading the blurb I figured there would be references to religion or at least religious aspects.  And I tend to avoid those, mainly because while I wouldn’t call myself religious I am a christian and I am afraid that it will be portrayed harshly.  But you don’t have to worry about that with this book.  What you get with this book is well, pure and simple “sweet”.

Noah has watched Micah since he took his first breath.  He has comforted him quietly when the world was harsh on Micah.  He has watched him grow and he loves how strong Micah is.  He loves his “sweet” one and not just as a soul he watches over, he has fallen in love with Micah.  But as one that watches over souls he also knows when Micah will breath his last breath.  I can not imagine how difficult that is.

Growing up for Micah wasn’t always easy but he always had the comfort of his “Angel” to get him through, until the day his “Angel” stops showing up.  Its been years since Micah has seen Noah but he has never forgotten how safe he felt in his presence.  Until a traumatic event causes Noah to suddenly reappear in Micah’s life.  Noah making his appearance known to Micah is against all the rules, and he knows he will have to face punishment.

This is a very short story, so there is no time for major angst.  It is sweet from beginning till the very last page.  It is a great pick-me-up when you are feeling down.  Even though it is short the author did a wonderful job of giving us enough backstory so it didn’t feel rushed when Noah and Micah fell in love.  My only issue I had was the end, it felt hurried and I would have liked a bit more explanation as to what happens when Noah faces his punishment.

All in all I would recommend this one if you are looking for a short sweet love story about a human and and Angel.  I’m glad I took a chance on this one and that is why I am giving it a 7.5.

Pot Of Gold 7half

Where to buy: Amazon

AuthorBio

My name is Andi and I write Homoerotic Romance Novels.

I’ve been asked several times if I really do believe in happy endings. My answer will always be YES. As a shameless romantic at heart, all of my books will always give my heroes the happy ending they deserve.

I’m a proud author with eXtasy books, Mischief Corner Books and Siren Publishing.

I love hearing from my readers! Please feel free to contact me at:

authorandianderson@gmail.com

https://twitter.com/AndiAnderson_

http://andiandersonauthor.blogspot.com/

https://www.facebook.com/andi.anderso…

 

Leave a Reply

