Chained in Darkness by Nicholas Bella #LGBT #AudioReview #BDSM #Erotica #Dark

Wendy reviews Chained in Darkness (New Haven Series: Season 1) by Nicholas Bella

The audiobook was published by Nicholas Bella, Release Date is December 28, 2015 and is 10h 54 m

The e-book was released April 23 2015 and is 375 pages long.

Narrated by Arthur Byrd.

chained in darkness nicholas bella audiobookI’ve been betrayed by someone I trusted. Because of him, I was captured by my loathed enemy: the vampires. Right now the sun is still high in the sky, but I know when it sets, I’m as good as dead. They can’t wait to get their fangs into me. I guess some would say I have it coming. I did raise a lot of hell with my Resistance crew, and I was planning on raising a hell of a lot more at dawn before I was sold out by Jonah. The vampires, werewolves, and dragons have been trying to track me down for months, and I’d always been two steps ahead of them.

Review

This is one of the first audio-books I’ve listened to but the e-book set of season one was an all-time favorite, so when I saw that there was an audio version, I jumped at the chance to buy it and give it a listen. This is the complete first season of episode one in the series of “episodes”.

The voice narration was really good. The narrator: Arthur Byrd has a voice like melted chocolate with certain characters and he did a really good job making his voice distinct between all the different voices in the story. I did notice that the further along in the book, the more comfortable the narrator seemed and the scenes flowed even smoother. I was able to picture every detail he spoke about as they were described vividly.

This is a really dark and gritty piece of erotica and the reader should heed the warnings because it won’t be the story for everyone. There is non-consensual sex, extreme punishment and humiliation. Very hard core BDSM with Vampires, Werewolves and Dragons.

My heart went out to Noel within the first few minutes of the story and I was rooting for his escape from the Master Vampire Lord Theoden. Escape doesn’t happen though and as the story develops I started to hate Theoden so much and wanted Noel to embrace his new life, if only to avoid the harsh lessons his Sire taught. Theoden is a Master at dealing out the humiliation and punishment and I was impressed with how he systematically begins to break Noel down. Noel, a straight guy who is part of the human resistance against the supernatural beings that took over the world, is having serious issues with being thrust into the vampire world. Not only is he forced into feeding from humans now and being made to fight the humans he once fought with, but he also has to have sex with his Sire and his brothers (and anyone Theoden tells him to) just to live. Turns out the house of Theoden is full of Vampires that are part Dragon as well and they need blood AND sex to survive. They feed each other sex A LOT!

While I really didn’t like Theoden at the beginning of this book, Nicholas Bella writes his brand of erotica so well that by the end of this audiobook I completely loved him. He grew on me and before I knew it, I was completely on team Theoden. The secondary characters play an important role in Noel’s embracing his new way of life, they are his brothers but he is slow to bond with them. Especially since he will forever experience being a virgin with them and they aren’t exactly gentle with him. Noel doesn’t make it easy on himself with them either. As time goes by, Noel finally begins to accept his new life and finally, after all he’s been through begins to enjoy some of the benefits that being the son of Theoden brings. He also begins his training as a soldier in the Vampire legion and for the Vampire King Ara.

This audiobook focuses mostly on Noel and his being “Embraced”, but it has a really good story line as well and I enjoyed the twists and turns that it takes.

The story is well written and if you like dark, gritty erotica then Nicholas Bella will push all of your happy buttons.

I gave this audiobook a rating of  8.5 out of 10 pots of goldIMG_1552

Buy links: Audible | Amazon   Add to Goodreads

 

AuthorBio

About the Author

About Nick. About me? Hmmm, I’m just a person with a wild imagination and a love for words who was sitting around the house one day and said, “Why hasn’t anyone written a book like this before?”. As with every storyteller, I wanted to share mine with the world. I like my erotica dark, gritty, sexy… and even a little raunchy. I’m not afraid to go there and I hope you aren’t afraid to go there with me. When I’m not writing, I love watching movies and TV shows, clubbing, biking, and hanging out with family and friends. I love life. I’d love to hear from you, feel free to send me a shout out!
Leave a Reply

