‘At Piper’s Point’ by Ethan Day #LGBT #Review #AudioBook

Bethany reviews ‘At Piper’s Point’ by Ethan Day published by Wilde City Press on July 24th, 2013, 300 pgs.  Released on audio March 29th, 2016, 9 hours and 46 minutes. Narrated by Michael Lesley

Why I listened to this book: I have previously read this book, it was the first one by Ethan Day I read.  So when we had the chance to listen to it I jumped at the chance.

We were provided an audio code in exchange for an honest review.

picTen years and many boyfriends later, Cassidy Winters finally returns to the ancestral home of his late grandmother, Sadie Hart, despite the best efforts of his father to prevent it. Cassidy’s plans of a quiet, seaside ceremony to wish a final farewell to Sadie quickly unravel. Interruptions run roughshod, beginning with Neil, who walks out of the ocean and straight into Cassidy’s bed. The dominos topple one by one and news of his arrival spreads faster than Cassidy’s legs, bringing his boyhood friend and first love, Nate Sommers, to his doorstep. As if the island wasn’t getting crowded enough for Cassidy’s good taste and bad decisions, best friends Ollie and Spencer arrive in time to witness the uninvited return of Cassidy’s most recent ex, Teddy, who’s refusing to stay dumped.

Fists fly and all hell breaks loose amid mojitos and martinis while Cassidy finds himself planning a huge party to celebrate Sadie’s life. Accusations are aimed as arguments and libidos boil over, but even through the chaos Cassidy knows exactly who he wants. While he’s certainly willing, he isn’t sure if he’s ready or able for love and life at Pipers Point.

Review

Like I said above I have read the 1st edition of this book.  This was the first book by Ethan Day that I read.  Unfortunately when I read it, I wasn’t in the right head-space.  I had just lost my grandmother a few months earlier so this was hard to get through. My Gran (my moms mom) was an incredible woman and loosing her was devastating.  You see she had this special bond with my daughter who was two when she passed.  So reading this book about the bond between grandparent and grandchild and finding a way to say goodbye hit me hard in the feels.  But that is not all this book is about.  Let me see if I can explain.

So it has been a few years since I read this and thought maybe the audio would be a better choice anyway.  I could do things around the house while having someone else tell me the story.  This was a brilliant idea and I am so glad this was my choice for audio week.  I absolutely adored Nate and Cassidy, I loved them when I read them and fell even harder when they were brought to life by Michael Lesley.  The narration was awesome, hilarious, spot on for this book.  The ONLY issue I had was completely my hangup.  You see he narrated another book that I have listened to MANY times so it was hard to listen to Cassidy and not think of another character as well.

This story though isn’t about loss, its about letting go, coming full circle.  Its finding closure for one part of your life in order to have a new beginning.  This is what brings Cassidy back to Piper’s Point and where he discovers just what he fought so hard not to allow himself to believe in.  It brings him back to Nate, the one person besides Sadie that loves him without fail.  What I love about this is there is no falling for each other, since they have known each other since they were children.  First as best friends, then as lovers. And well, the secondary characters round out this book in the best possible way, proving that family isn’t always blood but the people who see you at your worst and stick by you anyway.

My only issue with the actual story is that even though the better part of a decade has past since Nate and Cassidy have seen each other, when they finally did face their issue there was very little communication.  If it were me and I hadn’t seen someone I loved in that amount of time I would want to spend hours with them reconnecting, getting to know they person they became in ten years.  But that in no way dampered the story.  Ethan is a fabulous writer and they way he tells a story I felt like I was on that island and a part of their lives.

I highly recommend this book if you want low angst romance about finding that maybe your first love really can be your last love.  Note: even though it has been years since I lost my gran, I still bawled like a baby when they said their goodbyes to Sadie.  Thank you Ethan for giving me a chance to revisit these wonderful characters in a different way.

Pot Of Gold 9

Where to buy: Audible ~ Amazon ~ ARe ~ Wilde City Press ~ B&N

AuthorBio

I am a gay man living in Missouri…I can hear the gasps already!!  How very un-chic of me, yes I know.  It was here I was born and here I have stayed.

I’m currently single but always looking for that special someone that makes my heart skip a beat…in addition to being able to put up with my neurotic ass.  The worst thing about being a romance writer is finding a real life hottie that can live up to the fantasy I create in my head and subsequently thrust upon him before actually getting to know the real him.  I can hear you getting all judgie…it’s an occupational hazard!!  To all my past and future boyfriends, my sincerest apologies…I can’t help myself!

I was the youngest of four children and the only boy, so needless to say, I was spoiled rotten.  I’ve always had an extravagant fantasy life.  When I played with my Star Wars action figures as a child, I liked to make up my own stories.  Naturally, Luke Skywalker and Han Solo were totally meant for each other, and Princess Leia made a bitchin’ wise cracking Fag Hag.

I somehow managed to survive high school living in a small racist town in Southeast Missouri and emerged unscathed, realizing life was too short to pretend to be anything other than who I was.  I was the little homo that could…so damn it, I did!  It was all very Lifetime Movie Network meets After School Special I assure you.

After a few stints in college, I eventually signed up for a Creative Writing course.  I took the class because there were no tests.  For once my scholastic laziness paid off, and I found an outlet for all the fantasies running amuck in my head.  It was love at first write, and I’ve been doing it off and on ever since.

Now I’ve decided it’s time to un-barricade the doors and unleash my imagination onto the world.  So very sorry world!!  My fantasy life is now available for public consumption and I’m desperately hoping you’re really, really hungry.

Leave a Reply

