‘Myths Untold: Faery’ by Gus Li, Brandon Witt, Skye Hegyes, & J. Scott Coatsworth #LGBT #Review

Bethany reviews ‘Myths Untold: Faery’ by Gus Li, Brandon Witt, Skye Hegyes, & J. Scott Coatsworth.  Published by Wilde City Press on April 13th, 2016.  247 pgs.

Why I read this book: I really enjoyed the first book by Brandon Witt I read and when we got this anthology and saw he was one of the authors I knew I wanted to read for multiple author week.  I have not read anything from the other three authors so it was a win win for me.

We were provided this book in exchange for an honest review.

pic

 

 

Faeries are part of mythology the world over, past, present, and future. Called elves, brownies, the fae, and more, they evoke a sense of wonder and a little danger. Faery has its own rules, and humans enter at their peril. In this spirit, we bring you the first book in the Myths Untold anthology series—four stories from the land of the Fae: a homeless man in Cardiff and the luck that could destroy him; the trans man in future San Francisco who falls for an elf; the village boy who has always been a little different; and a faery prince whose birthright was stolen from him. Welcome to Faery.

 

 

Review

The Pwcca and the Persian Boy, by Gus Li

I’m kinda at a loss for words on this one.  Luck always seems to be on Glyn’s side despite being homeless.  He survives for himself and Farrokh by stealing, something that he knows is the only way.  But this doesn’t set well with Farrokh, he feels like he is kept, unable to provide from him or Glyn.  Feeling he needs to pull his own weight disappears for long periods of time, leading Glyn with the need to rescue his friend.  What he finds is a secret world, and the missing girls

I won’t say more because I don’t want to spoil anything for you, but what I will tell you is that I enjoyed how Gus bring these characters to life.  I loved the imagery and how descriptive this story is, I truly felt like we were in a fairy tale.  I do wish it would have ended differently but I guess it had to end this way to make room for more.

I look forward to more of this and more books by this author.

pot_o_gold_8

The Other Side of the Chrysalis, by Brandon Witt

Like I said above I recently read a contemporary book by Brandon Witt which I absolutely loved, so I couldn’t wait to see what he would do with fantasy.  I was not disappointed.

This is a unique twist on the Ugly Duckling story.  Quay’s species values everything on beauty.  But you see Quay is no longer beautiful, no longer next in line to be king, he has been stripped of his wings and the title of Prince.  His brother now holds that title, but instead of being bitter or resentful of him, he loves him and refuses to leave him.  This is not your typical love story, oh don’t get me wrong there is love but not in the places you expect.

Trust is earned and can easily be lost.  Love can come slow and be lost in the blink of an eye.  Quay knows he loves his brother and even though it is forbidden he falls in love with Flesser, a plain fairy the lowest of the fae.  Yes he loves both but he doesn’t think he is capable of being loved in return because of how he looks.  God this broke my heart, ripped it into shreds.  But when Quays love for his brother is used against him, he makes a choice that he hopes will keep his brother safe.

Lets just say the end left me in tears, beautifully heartbreaking…….

Pot Of Gold 9

Changeling, by Skye Hegyes

WOW….just WOW.  I’m always worried when I read something from an author I haven’t read before.  I’m afraid that I have such a high expectation on what I read that a new to me author won’t be able to live up to what I want from a book.  Oh my goodness, this was so not that case.  I have not read anything from this author but I tell you now this will NOT be the only book I read by Skye.

This one for me was more “fairly tale” mixed with a good dose of contemporary.  Oh don’t get me wrong this is still fantasy but with a, lets say modern twist.  Its just Tyler and his mom for as long as he can remember.  No father, no family, no friends.  He knows he is different, from his looks to they way he looks at boys, like some boys look at girls.

When his mother finally reveals the truth behind Tyler’s upbringing, Tyler has many unanswered questions.  His need for answers leads him to Marsh, an adorable Brownie who makes Tyler look at things very differently.  Marsh also makes Tyler question things about his life now and were he wants to go from now that his entire world has changed.

This one by far has been the most “traditional” take on a fairy tale and I really enjoyed it and hope that we get more of Tyler and Marsh soon.

Pot Of Gold 9

Through the Veil, by J. Scott Coatsworth

This one was the most sci-fi for me, which I thought I wouldn’t like.  But I was wrong, this one really grabbed me from the start and held on till the very end.  So much so that when it ended I was left wanting more, so you know its good when a book can do that.

In a futuristic world, Colton is transgender man trying to make it in a world covered in water.  Tris is an elf who steps into Colton’s world trying to find his brother.  Fate intervenes and throws them together.  I absolutely enjoyed watching these two fall so hard so fast for each other.  The world that the author creates is brilliant.  I felt like I was watching a sci-fi movie.  I would love to say more about this but I am afraid it would give too much away.

What I can say is I want more.  I want to know more about how the city became mostly under water.  I want more of Colton and Tris, and see how their relationship progresses.  This story was by far the most different take on a fairy tale, but don’t let that stop you from reading it.  It was the perfect ending story for book one of this anthology.

Pot Of Gold 9

Where to buy: Wilde City Press ~ Amazon

AuthorBio

Gus Li~

August (Gus) Li is a creator of fantasy worlds. When not writing, he enjoys drawing, illustration, costuming and cosplay, and making things in general. He lives near Philadelphia with two cats and too many ball-jointed dolls. He loves to travel and is trying to see as much of the world as possible. Other hobbies include reading (of course), tattoos, and playing video games.

Brandon Witt~ 
Brandon Witt’s outlook on life is greatly impacted by his first eighteen years of growing up gay in a small town in the Ozarks, as well as fifteen years as a counselor and special education teacher for students with severe emotional disabilities. Add to that his obsession with corgis and mermaids, then factor in an unhealthy love affair with cheeseburgers, and you realize that with all those issues, he’s got plenty to write about…
Skye Hegyes~
Dragons, wolves, and sharp objects are commonplace in Skye Hegyes’s home in North Carolina. She spends most of her time between writing and working. When not doing either of these things, you may find her making crafts or adventuring with her family, which consists of her husband, two daughters, two birds, and three cats… and a partridge in a pear tree…
J. Scott Coatsworth~

Scott has been writing since elementary school, when he and won a University of Arizona writing contest in 4th grade for his first sci fi story (with illustrations!). He finished his first novel in his mid twenties, but after seeing it rejected by ten publishers, he gave up on writing for a while.

Over the ensuing years, he came back to it periodically, but it never stuck. Then one day, he was complaining to Mark, his husband, early last year about how he had been derailed yet again by the death of a family member, and Mark said to him “the only one stopping you from writing is you.”

Since then, Scott has gone back to writing in a big way, finishing more than a dozen short stories – some new, some that he had started years before – and seeing his first sale. He’s embarking on a new trilogy, and also runs the Queer Sci Fi (http://www.queerscifi.com) site, a support group for writers of gay sci fi, fantasy, and supernatural fiction.

One thought on “‘Myths Untold: Faery’ by Gus Li, Brandon Witt, Skye Hegyes, & J. Scott Coatsworth #LGBT #Review

  1. Pingback: J. Scott Coatsworth talks about Building Communities and Writing Books | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

