‘The Little Things’ by Jay Northcote #LGBT #AudioReview #Review #AudioWeek

Bethany reviews The Little Things by Jay Northcote.  Published by Dreamspinner Press on November 21st, 2013, audio released on April 17th, 2015.  Narrated by Matthew Lloyd Davies, 7hrs and 30 mins.

Why Iistened to this book:  I love Jay’s books and have read most of them, but this was one I haven’t read.  This week is audio week and I was in the mood for sweet, low angst, basically a hug from a book.

picThere are lots of things that brighten Joel’s life. His three-year-old daughter, Evie, is one. His close relationship with her mother, his best friend from university, is another. Joel’s boyfriend, Dan, adds spice to his child-free nights, and Joel is pretty happy with how things are.

Then one cold and rainy night, everything changes. Joel’s life is turned upside down when he becomes a full-time dad to Evie, and his previously carefree relationship with Dan cracks under the strain.

Meeting Liam, who acts as if getting hurt isn’t a foregone conclusion, shakes Joel to the core. Their attraction is mutual, and Liam makes no secret of how serious he is about Joel. But Joel is wary. He tells himself he’s keeping Liam at a distance for Evie’s sake when really he’s protecting his own heart. Taking a chance on this new relationship with Liam may seem a small step – a little thing – but is it one Joel can take after losing so much already?

Review

Like I said above, I love Jay’s books and most of them are novellas and I enjoy that when I need a quick read that I know will be like a hug from a BFF.  But this one, while not quite novel length, I call in more long novella.  Just what I needed.

Ok lets start with the narration.  This was my first audio where the narrator had an accent.  If you know me you know that men, and women for that matter, with British accents make me swoon.  Oh my goodness people, this narrator had me hook line and sinker from his very first word.  I don’t think I have anything negative to say, I think he was a brilliant choice for this book.

Now the story, oh this one hit me square in the feels.  A bit more angst than Jay’s other books, yet just as wonderful.  I was in the middle of making dinner when my youngest came up to me asking why I was crying, I hadn’t even realized I was.  But that is just who much this one got to me.  I know it doesn’t take much to make me cry but I am NOT used to crying at one of Jay’s books.

But even though Jay broke my heart a bit with this one, she knew how to help put it back together.  I fell hard and fast for Joel and his unwavering love for his daughter.  There is just something about a bond between a daddy and his daughter that makes me weak in the knees.  I was a tad apprehensive with how his relationship with Dan was going to play out here.  Would it end bad?  How would it affect Joel’s relationship with Liam.  Would it feel rushed?

Let me tell you Jay quickly put those fears to rest. I loved how things progressed between Joel and Dan.  And at the same time between Joel and Liam.  This is a slow build between Joel and Liam starting off slow and letting things progress between them naturally.  I really enjoyed how Liam is with Joel’s daughter, Evie.

I highly recommend this book, especially if you are a fan of Jay’s books and looking for something with a tad more angst and a bit longer.  This was sweet and a wonderful book to listen to.  I know I will be re-listening to it.

Pot Of Gold 9

Where to buy: Audible ~ Amazon

AuthorBio

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with her husband, two children, and two cats. She comes from a family of writers, but she always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. She spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, she decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. She hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary romance about men who fall in love with other men. She enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in her head to life through her words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and she also publishes her own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Many of her books are now available as audiobooks.

Leave a Reply

