‘Absinthe of Malice’ by Rhys Ford #LGBT #Review #ReviewersChoice #ReleaseDay

Bethany reviews ‘Absinthe of Malice’ by Rhys Ford.  Published by Dreamspinner Press on June 22nd, 2016, 200 pgs.

Why I read this book:  I find this funny because those that know me know Rhys is an auto buy for me.  But those in my RGR family know that the Sinner’s Gin series holds a special place in my heart.  So reading this was a no brainer.

NOTE:  We were provided an advance reading copy in exchange for an honest review.

Absinthe_Malice_RhysFord_smallSequel to Sloe Ride
Sinners Series: Book Five

We’re getting the band back together.

Those six words send a chill down Miki St. John’s spine, especially when they’re spoken with a nearly religious fervor by his brother-in-all-but-blood, Damien Mitchell. However, those words were nothing compared to what Damien says next.

And we’re going on tour.

When Crossroads Gin hits the road, Damien hopes it will draw them closer together. There’s something magical about being on tour, especially when traveling in a van with no roadies, managers, or lovers to act as a buffer. The band is already close, but Damien knows they can be more—brothers of sorts, bound not only by familial ties but by their intense love for music.

As they travel from gig to gig, the band is haunted by past mistakes and personal demons, but they forge on. For Miki, Damie, Forest, and Rafe, the stage is where they all truly come alive, and the music they play is as important to them as the air they breathe.

But those demons and troubles won’t leave them alone, and with every mile under their belts, the band faces its greatest challenge—overcoming their deepest flaws and not killing one another along the way.

Review

Sinner’s Gin was my first book by Rhys Ford, and I have been an addict ever since.  Sinner’s Gin was also my first audio, so we all know where this is going, addicted.  So yes, I blame Rhys Ford for my addictions, and no, I do not need, nor do I want help.  I’m ok with my addiction.

Like I said above, Sinner’s Gin was my first Rhys Ford book and when I finished I was hooked.  The series I read before this one all focused on one couple, so I wasn’t sure how I would feel about each new book revolving around a new couple.  Till I got the the end of book one and I couldn’t wait for book two, and you know what.  It is like that with EVERY SINGLE BOOK in this series.  You devour the book and you get to the end, cursing like a sailor wanting, no, NEEDING the next book in the series like you need your next breath, only you know you will have to wait. Sighs.

This book is different from the first four.  Oh don’t get me wrong you will get to the end cursing like that sailor I mentioned above.  But this one doesn’t focus on just one couple, it focuses on the band and watching them come together as a unit, as brothers.  Oh my heart was so happy to see this.  Cause it broke after book one and I wasn’t sure how the dynamic would play out when Rafe and Forest joined an already impossibly tight Miki and Damien.  But you know what? Have no fear because Rhys knows what she is doing.

I worried that we would just be seeing the band and not the rest of the Morgan clan but that was not the case at all.  And this is why I am in consent awe of Rhys Ford.  The way she weaves everyone into this story is nothing short of brilliant, you get them all and I mean all of the Morgan crew.  I had not even finished the first chapter and knew that I was in store for one hell of a ride.  I laughed and cried, I was in shock, no I can’t tell you why, but know this…..I can’t wait for that reaction.

Every time I finish I book in this series I want to go back and reread them all.  Then I want to go back and re-listen to them all, I want to get that feeling of them falling for each other all over again.  I want to go back and feel those struggles, those fears, that love like I did the first time around.  THAT right there is when you know you have found a gem.

Here is the thing if you are reading this review you are one of two people.  The first: you are already a Sinner’s Gin fan and this review won’t help you because you are either probably already reading it, or will be reading it very soon.  The second: you have yet to read something from Rhys Ford and are wondering if this series is worth it.  OMG YES.  But please know this should NOT be read as a standalone.  I must be read in order, other wise you will be lost.  But I promise you, you will not regret reading them, they are nothing short of magic.

pot-of-gold-10special

Where to buy: DSP ~ Amazon

AuthorBio

!Bioheadshot_Rhys FordRhys Ford is a firm believer in love and let love, short walks to a coffee shop and having a spare cat or two. Most days she can be found swearing at her laptop and trying to come up with new ways to kill off perfectly good random characters. Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain. Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur, and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and a red Hamilton Beach coffee maker.

Leave a Reply

