‘The Haunting of Timber Manor’ by F. E. Feeley Jr #LGBT #Review #DifferentGenres #Paranormal

Bethany reviews ‘The Haunting of Timber Manor’ by F. E. Feeley Jr.  Published by Dreamspinner Press on January 7th 2013, 230 pgs.

Why I read this book:  This week is Different Genre week and while I am no stranger to paranormal books this was different from the ones I usually read.  The blurb drew me in so I thought this would be perfect.

Note: We were provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

picMemoirs of the Human Wraiths

While recovering from the recent loss of his parents, Daniel Donnelly receives a phone call from his estranged aunt, who turns over control of the family fortune and estate, Timber Manor. Though his father seemed guarded about the past, Daniel’s need for family and curiosity compel him to visit.

Located in a secluded area of the Northwest, Timber Manor has grown silent over the years. Her halls sit empty and a thin layer of dust adorns the sheet-covered furniture. When Daniel arrives to begin repairs, strange things happen. Nightmares haunt his dreams. Memories not his own disturb his waking hours. Alive with the tragedies of the past, Timber Manor threatens to tear Daniel apart.

Sheriff Hale Davis grew up working on the manor grounds. Seeing Daniel struggle, he vows protect the young man who captured his heart, and help him solve the mystery behind the haunting and confront the past—not only to save Daniel’s life, but to save his family, whose very souls hang in the balance.

Review

I will start off by saying that when I looked at the cover for this one I thought it would be about wolf shifters.  Then I read the blurb and was confused, and do you know what I do when I am confused about a book?  I open it up and read.   I must say between the cover and the blurb I didn’t get anything I was expecting, I got SO much more.

Lets see if I can convey to you how good this book is without giving anything away.  I was hooked from the very beginning, I mean from like the first few pages you knew that something big was about to happen in this book. You just can’t pin point.  And I must tell you that is a good thing because it will keep you on the edge of you seat and keep you coming back for more.  I was intrigued when the wolves were introduced in the story, because I knew they would play a big part but I just wasn’t sure it would be in the way I was expecting.

Here is where I need to tell you that this book is told in multiple perspectives, but please, please, please, do not let that fact keep you from reading it because I can tell you it is imperative to the story.  You need Carol’s take to get the feel of how things where when they were children, and you NEED Daniel’s side to see why his family stayed away from Timbor Manor.  There are a few more and they absolutely are needed to tell this story.  I will be the first to tell you I am not a huge fan of multiple POVs but this story requires it and the author did a fantastic job doing it.

Now Daniel and Hale, well there is no slow burn here, they are both attracted to each other and make that clear from the beginning.  While their romance is not the main focus of this book, you can feel them fall in love with each other and that made me smile so hard.  They made each other stronger, they would both do anything to protect the other, and they worked so well together.  Daniel and Hale will most definitely stick with me for quite some time.

Now, the ghost story part of the book, holy moly this book just scared the crap out of me.  I could not read fast enough, turn the pages fast enough and find out what the heck went down at Timber Manor all those years ago fast enough.  And the author teases you, gives you snippets of the past, lets you take a quick look back at how things were in the house only to bring you back to the present.  You will NOT want to put this one down, that I can guarantee. It’s spooky and creepy and at times down right terrifying.  I do not recommend reading this just before bed, lol.  But I do highly recommend this debut book from author F. E. Feeley Jr, it was a solid ghost story that I know I won’t forget, and will be rereading when I am looking for a “things that go bump in the night” kind of book.  Very well done and captivating, which is why I give it a solid 9 out of 10.

Pot Of Gold 9

AuthorBio

F.E. Feeley Jr was born and raised in Detroit, Michigan and lived there for twenty years before joining the military. He is a veteran of the US Armed Services; having done a tour in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom in 2002-2003, he turned college student, pursuing a degree in political science. He now lives in Southeast Texas where he is married to the love of his life, John, and where they live with their five year old German Shepherd, Kaiser.

As a young man, reading took center stage in his life, especially those novels about ghosts, witches, goblins, and all the other things that went bump in the night. His favorite authors include such writers as Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Anne Rice, whose work allowed him to travel to far off places and meet fascinating and scary characters. As a gay man, he wishes to be able to write good fictional literature for those who love the genre and to write characters that readers can relate to. All in all, he is a cigarette smokin’, whiskey drinkin’, rock and roll lovin’, tattoo wearin’ dreamer of a man with a wonderful husband who puts up with his crap and lets him write his stories.

Author Website

2 thoughts on “‘The Haunting of Timber Manor’ by F. E. Feeley Jr #LGBT #Review #DifferentGenres #Paranormal

Leave a Reply

