Break Me Now (Boys of Sinn Island #3) by Leah Blake #Review #2-4-1

Melissa reviews Break Me Now (Boys of Sinn Island #3) by Leah Blake Published August 29th 2014 by Siren Publishing 113 pages

BreakMeNowCover

Julian Stark is a broken man.  He suffered for years at the hand of his sadistic father to save his two younger brothers from the pain of punishment.  Relationships have no place in his twisted life. That is, until Bradley Lawson comes along, begging to be Julian’s personal submissive.

The first time Bradley saw Julian, he was done for. Months have passed since his first encounter with the powerful billionaire, and he’s finally secured a job on Sinn with the help of Julian’s youngest brother. However, he wants to be where Julian is:  On the Midnight floor. Problem? He knows nothing about the BDSM lifestyle. He despises being used, but if it guarantees him Julian’s undivided attention, he’ll become Julian’s one and only submissive.
What should have been a simple tutorial quickly turns into Julian’s biggest challenge. Is he willing to give up control in order to discover true love in Bradley’s arms? Or will he break the only man who can save him?
Why I read this book: This week is 2-4-1 week which means reading two short books, less than 150 pages.  I picked this one because the blurb intrigued me and it seemed like it could have some dark elements, which I like.
A copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.
Review

The steamy heat and sex between Julian Stark and Bradley Lawson is almost off the charts. The saving grace for this book is the sex. The foreplay these two share is a vey good build up to what’s to come (no pun intended). Bradley has been enamored with Julian for months now, ever since he saw Julian helping Brad’s brother one drunken night. Now that Brad’s on Sinn island, he’s one step closer to getting his man. All he has to do it break through Julian’s walls, and that’s what the story is really all about.

I thought the plot was a good one. Handsome young billionaire whose suffered physically and emotionally at the hands of his sadistic father keeps everyone at a distance until he meets Bradley, the one man who can break him. The story is short so there wasn’t a lot of space to get very deep into the history or emotions of the two men. There WAS plenty of time to give detail to the sex play.

I felt the BDSM aspect was very light and not exactly accurate. I have no way of knowing this beyond what I’ve read in other books. This one was very different from those books, which read as more authentic to BDSM.

If your in the mood for something that’s all about the sex, this is a good book. If you want more than sex, you may want to look elsewhere.

Pot Of Gold 6

Where to buy: Amazon, B&N
AuthorBio

I grew up in New Jersey, a short drive outside of Manhattan. I was a busy kid, always somewhere doing something. Dance, gymnastics, swimming, you name it. Yes, I was one of those kids who didn’t come home until it was dinner time, played with friends on the street, rode bikes like it was going out of style. My best friend and I used to “produce” our own movies and play wizards and witches on the playground at school. I’ve always had an imagination that ran wild, and when I was in my pre-teens, I finally put all those outlandish ideas packed in my head to good use. I started writing stories, horror/thriller stories, when I was eleven. Romance wasn’t even a consideration until I was in my early twenties. When I made the cross from horror to romance, I discovered exactly what I should have been writing all along, and I’ve been writing romance ever since.

Now, I live in Florida with my husband and our two children. I write everyday, as much as time allows. My ultimate goal is to write full-time, and I’m hoping there will come a day when I can make that transition to obtain my dream.

Leave a Reply

