‘Hexbreaker’ by Jordan L. Hawk #LGBT #AudioReview #Review #OutOfYourComfortZone

Bethany reviews ‘Hexbreaker’ by Jordan L. Hawk.  Published by Widdershins Press on May 6, 2016, 259 pgs.  Released on Audible on August 3rd, 2016.  Narrated by Tristan James, 8hrs & 36 mins.

Why I read this book:  This week is Out Of Your Comfort Zone, and there are 2 reasons I choose this.  1. Historical & 2. This is the 1st book by Jordan H. Hawk I have read (listened) to.

NOTE: Where were provided an audible code in exchange for an honest review.

picWill a dark history doom their future together?

New York copper Tom Halloran is a man with a past. If anyone finds out he once ran with the notorious O’Connell tunnel gang, he’ll spend the rest of his life doing hard time behind bars. But Tom’s secret is threatened when a horrible murder on his beat seems to have been caused by the same ancient magic that killed his gang.

Cat shifter Cicero is determined to investigate the disappearance of one friend and the death of another, even though no one else believes the cases are connected. When the trail of his investigation crosses Tom’s, the very bohemian Cicero instinctively recognizes the uncultured Irish patrolman as his witch. Though they’re completely unsuited to one another, Cicero has no choice but to work alongside Tom…all the while fighting against the passion growing within.

Tom knows that taking Cicero as his familiar would only lead to discovery and disaster. Yet as the heat between them builds, Tom’s need for the other man threatens to overcome every rational argument against becoming involved.

But when their investigation uncovers a conspiracy that threatens all of New York, Tom must make the hardest decision of his life: to live a lie and gain his heart’s desire, or to confess the truth and sacrifice it all.

Genre: m/m paranormal historical romance

Review

So this week is ‘Out Of Your Comfort Zone’ week.  I always struggle with this one because it it VERY hard to get into a book that I normally would not pick up on my own.  The biggest for me would be historical, sorry it just isn’t my cup of tea er coffee.  I didn’t like history while in school, so I really don’t want to read about it now.  So with ‘Hexbreaker’ labeled as historical I thought now would be the time to dip my toes not just in the historical genre but the Jordan L. Hawk fandom.

Wait…..what……rewind that.  I know what you are thinking….”you haven’t read Jordan L. Hawk” before?  Well, no I haven’t…..hold on let me explain.  Ok so since we started RGR my friends have recommended ANYTHING Jordan L. Hawk.  Anytime I need something new or different, someone will recommend her.  So when there is so much build up about an author or book or series, you worry that it just might not live up to the hype.  So that right there is another reason I call this ‘Out Of Your Comfort Zone’.

When we were offered an audio code for this book I decided it was time to bite the bullet and try historical and Jordan.  I am so glad I did, yes I was super nervous about the historical aspect of things but I can safely reassure you this it not your typical historical.  In fact it is so far from your typical historical I have a hard time putting it in that category.

Tom Halloran is a copper with a past, one that he wants to keep hidden.  Because if the truth came out, well Tom would be in danger not only for what he did in his past but for what he can do now.  You see he is a witch and he needs to keep this tidbit from the police force. When he meets Cicero, Cicero knows that Tom is a witch right away.  And not just any witch, but his witch.

Ok so Cicero is a shifter, but not what you would normal envision when you think shifter.  This one goes so far outside the usual wolf shifter story.  There are all kinds of animal shifters, and Cicero is a cat shifter, not like big cat shifter, nope a house cat shifter.  I can’t tell you how excited I was to see this.  Why you ask?  Well I LOVE cats, I have two and I adore their personalities.  Lets face it cats can be moody, temperamental, aloof, and sometimes down right mean.  Cicero is the perfect embodiment of a cat, I couldn’t get enough of him.

Watching the two men work together and ultimately fall for each other was truly a brilliant experience.  Jordan Hawk knows how to write two men falling in loving, struggling to beat the bad guy, finding out that each other is not perfect, but finding a way to make it work in the end.  What I loved about the historical part of this book is the references Jordan makes, whether its a name or a place it was wonderfully done.  Where yes I am reading historical but she gives it a twist and makes it her own.

The narration, well what can I say about it other than it was perfection at its best.  I love Tristan James and anytime he narrates a book I want to listen to it.  The way he brings these characters to life is amazing.  And not just Tom and Cicero but the entire cast.  It takes a very talented person to be able to do that and not make it sound like the same character over and over again.  And Tristan James has talent in spades.

So I guess I should wrap this up, the writing, the story, the narration all combined together is why I MUST give this a solid 10.  Now I need to go and read more books from Jordan L. Hawk, because if they are anything like ‘Hexbreaker’ then I know I am going to love them.  I highly recommend this book if you are looking for a different kind of shifter book and if you are like me and a bit stand offish of historicals.

pot-of-gold-10special

Buy the book: Audible ~ Amazon ~ Amazon UK ~ ARe ~ Smashwords ~ Kobo ~ iBooks ~ Nook

AuthorBio

pic
Jordan L. Hawk grew up in the wilds of North Carolina, where she was raised on stories of haints and mountain magic by her bootlegging granny and single mother. After using a silver knife in the light of a full moon to summon her true love, she turned her talents to spinning tales. She weaves together couples who need to fall in love, then throws in some evil sorcerers and undead just to make sure they want it bad enough. In Jordan’s world, love might conquer all, but it just as easily could end up in the grave.
Find Jordan L. Hawk here: Website
One thought on “‘Hexbreaker’ by Jordan L. Hawk #LGBT #AudioReview #Review #OutOfYourComfortZone

  1. Pingback: Hexmaker by Jordan L. Hawk #LGBT #DuoReview #Review | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

