‘Invicta: Salvation’ by Piper Kay #LGBT #Review #SeriesReview

Bethany reviews ‘Invicta: Salvation’ by Piper Kay.  Publish by Encompass Ink on May 26, 2014, 134 pgs.

Why I read this book: Piper contacted RGR about possibly reviewing her upcoming new release, and when I asked if they needed to be read in order she said, yes.  Well I have yet to read this series, but when she so graciously offered all three to review I jumped at the chance.

Note: We were offered this book in exchange for an honest review.

pic

 

As Kaiden McKenzie and Holt Mitchell prepare to celebrate their fifteenth anniversary, and the grand opening of their new club, Invicta, they take a look back on how their lives together began. 

When Holt wakes up to an outraged father, he finds himself suddenly homeless and hungry. With the help and caring of a certain bad guy, Holt finds life isn’t quite so bad as it seems. All he needed was the right man to guide him along.

Kade has spent his life running from anyone and everyone who tries to get close, but when he meets up with Holt, he suddenly finds himself wishing for something more. Who knew he was someone’s knight in shining tattoos…

 

Check out my review for book two here: Invicta: Sanctuary  & book three here: Invicta: Retribution

Review

This one has been on my TBR list for a while now, pretty much since it was released.  I don’t know why I kept putting it off, my the cover intimidated me, I mean its JAKE BASS.  Come on JAKE flippin BASS, I may have swooned a bit when I saw the cover.  But I put on my big girl panties and dove right in.  I am so glad I did.  This start to this series is truly wonderful.

Ok, like I said above I haven’t read this series yet, but I have read the Passion series by Piper and I really liked it so I was excited to see how this one was different.  Boy is it different, but in the best possible way.

We start off at the beginning with Kade and Holt together for the last fifteen years, which I love.  I love reading about established couples, what I like even more is reading about how they got there.  So this one was a win/win for me.  Holt and Kade are a couple so obviously in love with each other and have been for fifteen years.  They are starting a new business after struggling to get where they are today.

You see their beginning wasn’t as pleasant as where they are in the present.  Kade is street smart and has been for years, not trusting anyone, not letting himself rely on anyone but himself.  Not letting himself feel or want till he meets Holt.  But he wont give in that easy, he fights his attraction, his need, for Holt the entire time.  He thinks if he lets himself want then he will just be hurt in the end.

Holt, well my heart broke for him because I just don’t understand how some people can be parents and kick their kids out when they love someone of the same sex.  He seems so innocent, so lost, just wanting to find a way to get through.  And he runs into Kade, thinking this could be the person to guide him, to be his friend, someone to take care of him.  Don’t get me wrong, he isn’t helpless, just a need to belong to someone and for someone to belong to him.

I loved watching these two fall for each other in such a short time.  Piper takes these two on a journey, one you feel you are walking right alone with them.  We see them hurt, we see them happy, we see them struggle, all in a short book.  And to get all that takes a really awesome author to paint us that picture.  And when she brings them all back to the present day, well all I can say is I might have cried a little.  I highly recommend this book and I am looking forward to starting the next one.

Pot Of Gold 9

Where to buy: Amazon

AuthorBio

Piper Kay is a homegrown country girl straight from the outskirts of Houston, Texas, USA. She is currently employed with Hot Ink Press and Evernight, and only recently became a genre jumper, with her first YA/NA M/M story for Crushing Hearts & Black Butterfly Publishing. Whether YA, Erotic Romance, Western, or Drama, she always remains solely dedicated to stories in the M/M and gay romance genres. Piper is a #1 International Best Selling author of LGBT Erotica, and an International Bestselling author of LGBT Erotic romance, gay romance, LGBT drama, gay western and LGBT Childrens YA. Piper brings her passion of storytelling straight to the pages, almost always serving it with a super-sized sprinkle of sexy, a slice of sarcasm and a carafe of crazy.

Published works include:

A Perfect Passion(The Passion Series-Book One)
Payce’s Passion (The Passion Series-Book Two)
Invicta Series: Invicta: Salvation Book 1
Invicta Series: Invicta: Sanctuary Book 2
Crave: Hot Ink Teaser Set
Joey’s Choice: Hope & Love Charity Anthology
The Naughty Box 1
The Naughty Box 2
Eight Second Cowboy

2 thoughts on “‘Invicta: Salvation’ by Piper Kay #LGBT #Review #SeriesReview

  1. Pingback: ‘Invicta: Sanctuary’ by Piper Kay #LGBT #Review #SeriesReview | Rainbow Gold Reviews

  2. Pingback: ‘Invicta: Retribution’ by Piper Kay #LGBT #NewRelease #Review | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

