My Brother’s Keeper (Book Two): Rule Four and Five by Adrienne Wilder #Duo Review #Reviewer’s Choice #LGBT #Trilogy

Wendy reviews My Brother’s Keeper (Book Two): Rule Four and Five by Adrienne Wilder. Published August 25, 2014, 220 pages.

Why I read this book: This is day two of mine and my co-reviewer Melissa’s Duo review. I hope you enjoyed yesterday’s reviews from both of our perspectives and I look forward to sharing today’s because it’s a doozey! I read this book originally back in 2014 and I just recently re-read it to refresh myself with the story. It is just as captivating a story now as it was then and had just as profound an effect on me (yes, this one made me cry).

 

My Brother's Keeper Book 2 coverThis is book two of three. All books are full-length novels and must be read in order. All books are available now. The My Brother’s Keeper Trilogy The town of Gilford has a Big and Terrible secret hidden in the ground. Infecting those it touches. Exploiting their darkness. Consuming their souls. It’s hungry. It’s vile. It’s evil. And it wants out. Book Two: Rule Four and Five A new chance at life comes in many forms: For Jon it’s a family made with Ellis and his brother Rudy. For Ellis, it’s Jon, who has brought the outside world into the protective life he’s built for his mentally disabled brother. Together they have discovered true happiness and what it means to be loved. Then one perfect disaster after the other pushes Jon’s resolve to its limit and Ellis over the edge. If they have any chance of saving what they’ve built both men must face their deepest fears. It’s a test Jon thought he’d already passed and one Ellis never imagined he’d have to face. The journey will forever change who they are and redefine who they were meant to be. It has to happen. And all things happen for a reason.

 

 

 

Review

This is book two of the trilogy and you need to read book one in order to get the most out of this book.

The story picks up right where we left off in book one. However, where the first book was spent building background and learning characters, this book jumps right into the meat of the story. We see the evil that is taking over the town and some of the people in it. I was seriously creeped out by some of the stuff that this author came up with. And I always like it when an author links evil in a place like a town to an event that happened in history. (It just makes it feel like it could have really maybe happened because some of the bad was left over).

We see Jon trying to protect the family he’s come to love, still struggling with his own demons. I want to give him that hug.

Ellis has a taste of what it’s like to have a partner to share the burdens of taking care of his mentally disabled brother and just someone to share life with. He’s frightened by the increase in events that seem to have him, Jon and Rudy targeted, but seems to be starting to come out of his shell a bit and I’m liking the strong character he is.

And last but not least, Rudy. I love Rudy’s character so much. We get more glimpses of his special power and how he is sometimes driven to use it prophetically. He still has that innocent logic and I laughed and smiled more than once at something he said or did, but he did things with purpose.

These three men all love each other and have become family. They are tested, I don’t want to give anything away, but they really are tested!

Most importantly, at least to me, is that in this book we see them all come together to fight something bigger than they are. We learn about rules 4 and 5 in this book as well. Rule 4. It has to happen. Rule 5. Everything happens for a reason. It’s really heating up as one of the all time great M/M Good vs Evil stories.

Please check out what my co-reviewer Melissa says in her review!

Melissa reviews My Brother’s Keeper (Book Two): Rule Four and Five by Adrienne Wilder.

Why I read this book:  I had to read book two in this trilogy.  After reading book one I couldn’t not find out what happened to these three men next, and the town.

Review

Where do I start!  I fell in love with these men in book 1 and just even deeper with book 2.  My heart broke for all of them after everything they have been put through.  We know there is a purpose, a reason behind all they are going through, we just don’t have the answers yet.  My fellow reviewer Wendy said it already – book 2 picks up where book 1 left off, which is really important because there can be no huge time jumping or the story would be lost.

We are given a deeper look into Jon and Ellis’ growing relationship, and their mutual love of Rudy.  The growing tension and … evil … is ramped up in this book and you need to be prepared with lots of tissues.  Not kidding.  I love a story with deep emotion and this book certainly delivers on that!

We learned about Rules 1-3 in book 1, now we learn about rules 4 & 5, and they are delivered in a way to sent chills down my spine!  I found myself reading this book way too fast to see what happened next and forcing myself to go back over what I had read just, and read it slower.  LOL!  Only a few books have that magic touch which has me on the edge of my seat, nervous to see what happens next, and then next, etc…

The paranormal aspect starts to really come out in this book, Jon and Ellis’ understanding of what is going on in the town, what is happening to the town, is growing.  I cannot recommend this book enough and you have to read them in order, or you will not understand the events taking place.

Rudy will always have a special place in my heart.  Finding a character like him is extremely rare, so well written, such an individual; I think about him all the time and he forever changed how I will look at individuals with special needs.  They all have a light inside them.

Where to buy:

amazon

goodreads

 

pot of gold

Leave a Reply

