My Brother’s Keeper The Final Rule by Adrienne Wilder #Duo Review #Reviewers Choice #Trilogy LGBT

Wendy reviews My Brother’s Keeper The Final Rule by Adrienne Wilder. Published August 25, 2014 268 pages.

This is the third and final book in the My Brother’s Keeper Trilogy. I and my fellow co-reviewer Melissa are doing a Duo Review for this weeks theme of Reviewers Choice. I had read this trilogy when it first came out and couldn’t recommend it highly enough to Melissa when she asked me about it. I hope she loves it as much as I do. I remember telling her that this trilogy had a little bit of everything in it, mystery, suspense, romance, true love and I think I said that it had what I called a sense of mystique. At least I think that applies to some of the characters.

 

My Brother's Keeper Final Rule Adrienne Wilder coverThis is the last book in this trilogy. All books are full-length novels and must be read in order. All books are available now. The My Brother’s Keeper Trilogy The town of Gilford has a Big and Terrible secret hidden in the ground. Infecting those it touches. Exploiting their darkness. Consuming their souls. It’s hungry. It’s vile. It’s evil. And it wants out. Book Three: The Final Rule Ellis and Jon need answers. What is there to understand? Why does it have to happen? And what reason could ever justify losing those you love? If only there was a simple answer. But the more questions they ask, the farther they must travel into the darkness and the things they see are not human, or even possible. They are, in fact, Big and Terrible. The plague is rising in Gilford. To stop it from spreading Ellis will have to embrace his destiny and Jon will have to let him go. Both men must be willing to lose everything in order to save the innocent. It is, after all, rule number six

 

 

 

Review

 

In this third book the evil is eating the town. Rudy named it in the last two books and like it says in the blurb, it is the Big and Terrible. Rudy’s character will stay with me forever. I look for light in everyone now because of this character. The evil is written in such a way that it becomes a tangible thing and is very believable. I could almost smell the awful smells and see the horrible sights as the author wrote about them. I love how she built everything slowly, nothing was thrust upon you. She created a very impressive world!

Jon and Ellis are discovering that the thing they are destined to fight, the thing they knew was bigger than two of them-all of them, was if fact so much more. Like this thing is biblical more! Jon and Ellis are also so much more, they are made for each other. Molded through their life experiences to be perfect for each other and in that maybe they can be the perfect combination to fight the Big and Terrible.

Watching these characters struggle and grow and learn and live and love was an amazing journey and I was sad to see it end. This is one of those books that changes how you look at life. A truly amazing story.

I want to read all of this authors work now.

Please look below for my co-authors review and see her final thoughts on this wonderful trilogy.

Review

Melissa reviews My Brother’s Keeper The Final Rule by Adrienne Wilder.

Okay, folks, this is it. We made it to the final book and I am just worn out! This book put me thru the wringer and I am still an emotional wreck. Jon and Ellis are tested at every turn. The Big and Terrible is growing stronger, “the plague is rising in Gilford…both men must be willing to lose everything in order to save the innocent. It is, after all, rule number six.”

We finally learn what the Big and Terrible is, what it’s after, and that it’s been around for a long, long time, waiting for its moment to strike. But precautions had been created all those years ago and the darkness was kept down under the earth. But now it’s time and Ellis must face the truth of his destiny.

The conclusion to the trilogy is just as intense and heartbreaking, just as jaw dropping as the previous books. This series is more than a romance; it’s more than a paranormal genre title. It’s much deeper than that. This is about good versus evil, about how one person can make a difference. And just so much more I don’t have the words to tell you.

There isn’t a lot I can say without giving away spoilers, which makes it frustrating, because I want to talk about so many things and I can’t! All I can say is the book is expertly written, the characters are full and many faceted, the drama is fast paced and keeps you guessing. You think you know what you’re getting into? You have no idea!!! There are constant surprises that will keep you glued to the words on page.

Jon and Ellis are true heroes and they (and the many secondary characters that help them rid the town of the Big and Terrible) deserve so much more praise than this series is currently getting. I know I’ve said this before, but only a few books have managed to capture my heart and squeeze. It’s been almost a month since I’ve read this series and I still think about it all the time. I can count on one hand the books that hang with me like this. Be tough, be strong – it’s worth it!!!

 

Where to buy:

amazon

goodreads

pot of gold

 

AuthorBio

Georgia born and bred, I am an artist, a writer, and a general pain in the ass.
I spend most of my days working on my next book or designing cover art for other writers. For stress relief I do olympic lifting and occasionally run (but hate it). I have been in love with writing since I was very young but it wasn’t until recently that I decided to pursue it as a profession.
I have experimented in several genres and found that since I identify as male, male romance has been the most comfortable for me to write. I don’t discriminate in my books. All characters are fair game. I do however, prefer a happy ending at some level.
I don’t write the standard romance book. Some might even argue that what I write isn’t romance at all. Personally I think of them as love stories, where even in a fantastical world, there are realistic outcomes to the obstacles the characters face.
Many of my books have dark turns and twists where the characters fight for the light at the end of the tunnel. I write action, fist fights, gun fights, down right dirty evil people who have to be stopped, things catch fire, blow up, and fall in. My characters come in a unique range. They are not all good guys, but the majority of them have very good hearts. Many of them have been through hell in their lives, and many of them have a laundry list of faults. But hopefully they manage to surprise you with their tenacity and loyalty.
If all goes well, there will be a myriad of different kinds of books available this year. If I am really lucky, you will enjoy them.

2 thoughts on “My Brother’s Keeper The Final Rule by Adrienne Wilder #Duo Review #Reviewers Choice #Trilogy LGBT

Leave a Reply

