The Deeper He Hurts (Kick #2) by Lynda Aicher #Review #Pain

Melissa reviews The Deeper He Hurts (Kick #2) by Lynda Aicher published by Random House Publishing House – Loveswept, September 6th 2016.  224 pages

In this wild and sensual Kick novel from the RITA Award–nominated author of The Harder He Falls, a sizzling affair tempts the tech guru of a popular outdoor-adventure-sports company to come out of the closet and embrace his desires.
deeper-hurtsAsher Ruggiero, a partner at Adrenaline Kick Adventures, is living a lie. As a control freak whose big Italian family thinks he’s straight, Asher likes his encounters concise, dirty, and discreet—until his company’s new rafting guide walks into work, dripping with brooding, intense sexuality. Sawyer Stevens is a mystery man with secrets and rough edges, and he makes Asher want to get to know him inside and out.

Ever since the tragic death of his parents, Sawyer has dedicated himself to the rush of adrenaline that comes from pleasure and pain. Moving from one guy to another, hiding when life gets too complicated—that’s all he can handle. So why does Asher make him long for something lasting and honest, when the gorgeous geek can’t even be true to himself? Sawyer wants to give Asher his heart, but he just doesn’t know how. After all, a life without integrity is a life without passion—and that’s the one thing Sawyer craves.

The Deeper He Hurts is intended for mature audiences. This ebook includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Why I read this book:  I had to know how much pain Sawyer could really take before he dropped, and I needed to know the source of that pain.  I am just kinky that way.  😉

I was provided a free copy of this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I will admit to not being in love with this book or the characters.  They were simply average for me.  I did not read the first book in the series so I don’t if that would have made me care about these characters more or not.

I just didn’t connect to these men – I didn’t feel invested in them. Part of that I think was due to the authors choice to fast forward in time at key moments and going to black right when there should have been intense and intimate discussions between the MCs.  Instead of giving the reader an in depth look into their relationship, the scene ends and it may be days or weeks later.  I wasn’t able to see them be together.

The writing itself was good, not great but it wasn’t bad.  Just average.  I got the feeling Ash was supposed to be a deep and dark character and I honestly never got that feeling about him.  And as for Sawyer, I don’t know how the death of his family led him to self-punishment.  Grief, yes.  But this is an unusual response to grief – becoming a pain slut.

Did Sawyer feel guilt for having survived and not being able to save his family?  Yes, he was 16 and on a date and he wasn’t able to save them.  I just didn’t get the answer as to WHY he felt the way he did. He cut himself to try and take away his pain.

The BDSM aspect is light and not really the point of this story.  Sawyer isn’t into that scene (Sir/Master/Servant; he gets on his knees for nobody) and he only enters it to find someone who will give him the pain he feels he deserves.

pot-of-gold-7

Where to buy: Amazon, B&N

AuthorBio

Lynda Aicher

I love to read. It’s a simple fact that has been true since I discovered the worlds of Judy Blume at the age of ten. After years of weekly travel as a consultant implementing computer software into global companies, I ended my nomadic lifestyle to raise my two children. Now, my imagination is my only limitation on where I can go and my writing lets me escape from the daily duties of being a mom, wife, chauffeur, scheduler, cook, teacher, cleaner, and mediator.

If writing wasn’t a priority, it would never get done.

http://lyndaaicher.com

 

Leave a Reply

