An Infatuation by Joe Cosentino #LGBT #Review #Nothing But Angst #Contemporary #MM

Wendy reviews An Infatuation by Joe Cosentino. Published February 6, 2015 by Dreamspinner Press, 106 pages.

AN INFATUATION
by JOE COSENTINO
the first In My Heart novella from Dreamspinner Press

Divine Magazine Readers’ Choice Award 2nd Place for Best LGBT Romance!
Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention Best Contemporary Romance

an-infatuation-joe-cosentino-coverAn In My Heart Novella

With his ten-year high school reunion approaching, Harold wonders whether Mario will be as muscular, sexy, and tantalizing as he remembers. As a teenager, it was love at first sight for Harold while tutoring football star Mario, until homophobia and bullying drove Mario deep into the closet. Now they’re both married men. Mario, a model, is miserable with his producer wife, while Harold, a teacher, is perfectly content with his businessman husband, Stuart. When the two meet again, will the old flame reignite, setting Harold’s comfortable life ablaze? How can Harold be happy with Stuart when he is still infatuated with his Adonis, his first love, Mario? Harold faces this seemingly impossible situation with inimitable wit, tenderness, and humor as he attempts to reconcile the past and the future.

A Bittersweet Dreams title: It’s an unfortunate truth: love doesn’t always conquer all. Regardless of its strength, sometimes fate intervenes, tragedy strikes, or forces conspire against it. These stories of romance do not offer a traditional happy ending, but the strong and enduring love will still touch your heart and maybe move you to tears.

 

Review

This weeks theme is Nothing But Angst. I was talking with this author whom I had just met and he said that I should try this book of his, it was kind of angsty and he would like to hear my thoughts on it. I gladly accepted his offer and it was one of the best things I have ever done. This author is so talented. I can’t wait to get my hands on his other works!

We were given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I didn’t expect to feel as much as I did for all of the characters in this story.

First there is Harold, he is just what I would expect in a character like this. Kind, a bit geeky, wanting to reach out and believe that he could have the fantasy that all young adults want. Where he becomes more than what I expected was with his understanding and compassion with Mario who is his great love. I didn’t know how his current love with Stuart would play out and I admit that there were times when I wasn’t sure what road I wanted Harold to take. He took the right road for everyone in the end though, even if it’s not what I saw coming.

Mario was the character that I wanted to hug for all that he was the big strong jock in the story, he was the most wounded I think. Although he found his bits of joy and happiness where he could and that made me happy for him, or as happy as I could be for him.

Stuart was the surprise for me in this book. You just wait and see. I love him!

This book isn’t about sex, it’s about love. It’s about learning how to love and letting love go and holding love in your heart. About learning what’s the best thing to do when you need to love yourself. I cried hard more than once during this book. That’s not unusual I know, but it’s not a long book. In some ways I think this book fits into queer romance more than mm romance and I think that’s a wonderful thing.

I also didn’t expect to see the heavy social issues that were addressed in such a short book done so completely and in such a touching way. My heart breaks even now thinking about what it must have been like being gay in the 1950’s thru the present when times are just starting to change and be more in their favor. Well done Mr. Cosentino, very well done!

 

Where to buy:

dsp

amazon

ARe

goodreads

kobo

googleplay

 

pot of gold

AuthorBio

 

joe-cosentino-bio-picBiography

Bestselling author Joe Cosentino won Divine Magazine’s awards for best mystery novel, best humorous novel, and best contemporary novel of 2015. He is the author of the Jana Lane mysteries: PAPER DOLL, PORCELAIN DOLL, SATIN DOLL, CHINA DOLL, and the upcoming RAG DOLL (The Wild Rose Press); the Nicky and Noah mysteries: DRAMA QUEEN, DRAMA MUSCLE, and the upcoming DRAMA CRUISE (Lethe Press); the Cozzi Cove beach series: COZZI COVE: BOUNCING BACK and COZZI COVE: MOVING FORWARD (NineStar Press); the romance novellas: IN MY HEART anthology (AN INFATUATION and A SHOOTING STAR), A HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS, and THE NAKED PRINCE AND OTHER TALES FROM FAIRYLAND (Dreamspinner Press); and THE NUTCRACKER AND THE MOUSE KING (Eldridge Plays and Musicals). As an actor, he has appeared in principal roles in film, television, and theatre opposite stars such as Bruce Willis, Rosie O’Donnell, Nathan Lane, Holland Taylor, and Jason Robards. Joe is currently Head of the Department/Professor at a college in upstate New York, and is happily married.
http://www.JoeCosentino.weebly.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

