Too Close by R. Phoenix #LGBT #New Release #Guest Post #Giveaway

Author R. Phoenix is here today to discuss Too Close with us in this Guest Post with an e-book giveaway.

Welcome R. Phoenix, congratulations on your latest release!

GuestPost

Hello, everyone! Thank you, Rainbow Gold Reviews, for letting me borrow your readers for a few minutes. I’m here today to chat about my new release, Too Close. First and foremost, I know this is a heavy topic, so I’m going to go ahead and issue my trigger warning now: this book contains relatively graphic scenes of domestic abuse and violence. Okay, that said, here goes. I’ll start with the blurb.

 

tooclosecoverSkylar Orion’s life has been complicated ever since his mother abandoned him and his sister Evie. Making ends meet seemed impossible until Tate Chandler took them in — his knight in shining armor who promised to make life about more than just surviving. But Tate is not the man he seemed to be, and even his whispered I love yous and generous gifts do little to soothe the pain he causes. Knowing he can’t give his sister all that she deserves without Tate, Skylar stays with him, relying on bad puns and a worse sense of humor to keep up the charade.

He will do anything for his sister, even if that means acting the responsible adult and going back to his old high school to meet Dexter Weston, the hot math teacher who can make even algebra interesting. Sparks fly between the two of them, but with his dependence on Tate, Skylar isn’t free to follow his heart. He wants what is best for Evie, but can he pass up the chance to find love that heals instead of harms?

Some people say to write what you know. Others say to write what you want to learn. With Too Close, I did both, and I am really proud of the end result.

 

Since I’m apparently contrary, I’ll tell you about what I wanted to learn first (and what I learned without realizing I would). Too Close was a new experiment for me in a lot of ways. This is my first contemporary romance, for one. Usually, I write dark dystopian paranormal fiction (including my series, The Fate of the Fallen, which is about to be re-released, yay!). It’s also my first time writing in this particular style (tense, point of view, etc.). I had new (amazing) beta readers, and I was fortunate enough to get support from new people and places that I didn’t expect. I’ve met new people and had unexpected conversations.

That brings us to writing what I know. My sense of humor is rampant in the book. See, I’m one of those people who believes that humor is what gets us through rough times, and I wanted to explore that with Skylar and Dexter’s story. Unfortunately for the people around me, this manifests in me gleefully sharing the worst (best) puns I can find. The community of people I did know have been awe-inspiring and supportive, and I am so grateful to them for helping me draw the familiar into the unknown.

I have a mini-farm sort of thing with ducks, quail, and rabbits. I can’t count how many times people have jokingly (I think) told me I should include those things in a book. Me being me, I said okay…! I hope you enjoy those parts; they amused me to write.

And finally, you might have noticed that abuse wasn’t one of those things. That’s been one of the most difficult parts of working with Too Close. It isn’t autobiographical, but I did draw heavily on my own experiences. Sometimes, this was cathartic; other times, this was painful.

If you’ve read this far, thank you! I hope Too Close resonates with you on some level even if you haven’t personally experienced these things. I look forward to seeing what you think.

Where to buy:

amazon

 

Giveaway

The author is generously offering an ebook copy of Too Close. Comment on this post for your chance to win. One winner will be randomly chosen.

You need to be 18 years or older to participate. Void where prohibited. Etc.

This giveaway will end on January 8, 2017 at 11:59 PM CDT.

AuthorBioR. Phoenix has an unhealthy fascination with contrasts: light and dark, heroes and villains, order and chaos. She believes that love can corrupt and power can redeem. Her muse is a sadomasochistic slave driver who thinks it’s terribly amusing to give her the best ideas when she just got comfortable and warm in bed, and she passes on that torture to her readers. She also tries entirely too hard to be funny, and she mercilessly inflicts her terrible sense of humor upon anyone who speaks to her. She’d love it if you’d say hello!

 

Social Media Links: 

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RaissaPhoenix

Facebook Profile: https://www.facebook.com/r.phoenix

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/raissaphoenix

Website: http://rphoenixbooks.com/

 

14 thoughts on “Too Close by R. Phoenix #LGBT #New Release #Guest Post #Giveaway

  1. Sounds really good. I do think having a sense of humour is what helps you out of difficult situations, and I’m one of those weird people who seems to enjoy bad puns so… Too Close has just become a must read for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Too Close sounds like a great, intense read. I am intrigued that you added humor to the story as well. Thanks for the post and for being brave enough to write about a subject which caused you pain.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m a firm believer in that you either have to laugh or go insane. Plus, hey, always wanted the chance to mercilessly inflict my love for bad puns on people! You’re welcome — and thanks for commenting. I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats and thanks for the post. Sounds like a very poignant story. And I can also appreciate what you said about humor. I too have found it that it helps me get through dark times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

