‘Last Dance With Mary Jane’ by John Goode #LGBT #Review #OutOfComfortZone

Bethany reviews ‘Last Dance With Mary Jane’ by John Goode.  Published by DSP on April 29th 2015, 60 pgs.

Why I read this book: This week is “out of your comfort zone” week and I wasn’t sure what to read.  After reading the blurb, I knew this would be pushing my limits.

NOTE: We were provided a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

pic

 

Peter was devastated when he lost his love, Shayne, in a car crash. Though he knows nothing will bring Shayne back, Peter takes solace in listening to Shayne’s voice mail, just to hear his voice one last time. He’s not prepared when one night, Shayne answers the phone.

A Bittersweet Dreams title: It’s an unfortunate truth: love doesn’t always conquer all. Regardless of its strength, sometimes fate intervenes, tragedy strikes, or forces conspire against it. These stories of romance do not offer a traditional happy ending, but the strong and enduring love will still touch your heart and maybe move you to tears.

 

 

Review

I don’t step out of my comfort zone very easily.  In fact it is usually kicking and screaming, with my fellow RGR family telling me they will hold my hand the entire way.  So when planning the calendar for this month we talked about doing out of your comfort zone, which to be honest scares me.  But there are times it needs to be done, because if we don’t then we miss out on books that effects you so deeply, calls to your soul, and rocks you to your core.  This book, while I fought will all I had not to read it, did just that for me.

I’m going to start off by saying this book does not have a HEA and that is so far outside of my comfort zone it might as well be on the other side of the world.  But this book has effected me so very very much.  When trying to find something for this week Dana recommend this one saying by the end she was bawling.  Now for those who don’t know Dana it takes A LOT to make her cry, while I cry at dog food commercials.  So I thought “ok this can work and I will have a good cry as well.”  But you know what?  I didn’t cry, and I didn’t cuss Dana out saying how much I hated her for recommending this book, like she thought I would.  And I honestly don’t know why for sure, but I think the biggest reason is I was resigned.  I think I knew Shayne was truly gone.

This book isn’t about finding love again, nor is it about moving on.  I don’t really think its about healing or finding peace, though that finally does come for Peter but it was a hard earned battle.  For me this book was about learning to cherish what you have and not take the time you have with your loved ones for granted.  You see, and here is why this book had such a HUGE impact on me, my aunt died suddenly a month ago yesterday and I can’t remember if I hugged her the last time I saw her.  I can’t tell you what the last thing I said to her was.  I know it wasn’t anything in anger, but I’m not sure it was much more that “later Nana.”  So while any other time this book should have had me bawling, curled up in the fetal position begging for them to have a different ending, this time it left me with a sense of acceptance.

But you see, life does not work the way we want it to, it doesn’t wait for you to tell those you love them.  Life is unpredictable, unforgiving and could care less if you got to fix the wrongs you wanted to make right.  You don’t get do-overs in life, so you need to make the most of it now, in the present.  What’s that saying:

“Yesterday is history, tomorrow a mystery, today a gift, which is why it’s called the present.”

– Bil Keane

I think that is what the point this book is trying to make.  While this book is short, you get so much from it in the way of Peter and Shayne’s past.  It is so well written that you never feel like you are missing anything important, like you usually do from short books.  So when I finished in just under an hour, I felt like I just completed a 300+ page book.  Yes its that good.  I am not sure why it didn’t leave me on the floor like the sobbing mess I usually am.  I honestly don’t know how I got through it without losing my shit, wanting to throw my kindle and yell at Dana.  But it taught me a valuable lesson, tell those that you love them, make sure they know that if something were to happen to you, or them, they know how you feel.
pot-of-gold-10special

Where to buy: DSP ~ Amazon ~ B&N

AuthorBio

John Goode is a member of the class of ’88 from Hogwarts school of wizardry, specializing in incantations and spoken spells. At the age of 14 he proudly represented District 13 in the 65th Panem games where he was disqualified for crying uncontrollably before the competition began. After that he moved to Forks, Washington where, against all odds, dated the hot, incredibly approachable werewolf instead of the stuck up jerk of a vampire but was crushed when he found out the werewolf was actually gayer than he was. After that he turned down the mandatory operation everyone must receive at 16 to become pretty citing that everyone pretty were just too stupid to live before moving away for greener pastures. After falling down an oddly large rabbit hole he became huge when his love for cakes combined with his inability to resist what sparsely worded notes commanded and was finally kicked out when he began playing solitaire with the Red Queen’s 4th armored division. By 18 he had found the land in the back of his wardrobe but decided that thinly veiled religious allegories where not the neighbors he desired. When last seen he had become obsessed with growing a pair of wings after becoming obsessed with Fang’s blog and hasn’t been seen since.

Or he is this guy who lives in this place and writes stuff he hopes you read.

Leave a Reply

