The Amateur by T.J. Land #LGBT #Review #Superheroes #Poly #MMMM #Bigendered

Wendy reviews The Amateur by T.J. Land. Self published November 7, 2016, 117 pages.

the-amateure-t-j-land-coverWorst thing about being a supervillain? Getting your butt handed to you by caped do-gooders. Best thing about being a supervillain? Getting your hands on caped do-gooders’ butts. Heh.

Red Velvet and his two partners in crime – super-strong beefcake Ares and proud degenerate the Electric Eel – are the League of Larceny, the most notorious gang in town. They’ve been together in every sense of the word for years, and these days everyone knows better than to mess with them. Which is why they’re surprised to have their weekly heist interrupted by a rookie hero.

His costume is hideous. His banter is corny. His body is amazing. He’s Mister Valiant and he’s here to save the day. Or if not, then at least he might prove to be an amusing distraction for a few bored bad guys…

38K, poly (M/M/M/M), standalone, happy ending. Features a bigender AFAB viewpoint character.

Add to Goodreads | Buy on Amazon

 

We were given a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Review

This week’s theme is ‘Out Of Comfort Zone’. I know that superheros aren’t usually out of people’s comfort zones, but let me try to explain. When I was a young girl I lived and breathed comic books. When every other girl my age was buying makeup and worrying about what cool clothes to buy, I was spending all my allowance on comic books. I loved all the super heroes, spent soooo many hours with Wonder Woman, Superman, Batman, anything DC and Marvel… you get the idea.

Then life happened and I stepped away from comics for a short while. Who would have known that when I took that little break from comics, it would become a THING? It had evolved into so many sub genres and had such an underground cult following that I didn’t even recognize it anymore. I was heartbroken and more than a little bit intimidated. I just knew that I could never catch up. So, I put comics away and haven’t revisited them until now. Silly? Maybe, but there it is, the one thing I loved while growing up, was no longer mine and this is why I felt this book fit in with this week’s theme.

I didn’t start this book with a very high expectation and I was so wrong to do that. Maybe it was a good thing, because this book more than exceeded my highest hopes for it. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these characters!

In my mind THIS book is what real life would be like if there were really super heroes with super powers. These heroes and villains struggle with day to day things like eating and showers and real life jobs because the world of super heroes doesn’t just automatically mean that you have money and a nice lair. Sometimes your super power is kind of sucky on its own, but combined with others it works.

They love and fight hard and have strong feelings that they try to cover up from those that aren’t close to them, because you wouldn’t want just anyone thinking you were a decent human being… there are reputations to protect here!

The adventure was fast paced and exciting and the super powers were perfect. And these heroes are HORNY! ALL. THE. TIME! There are tons of wickedly hot sex scenes packed in between the fighting and looting. The poly-amorous relationship wasn’t a big surprise, but the Bi-gendered character was. This character was very well written; just perfect! The character did not get too much attention, but was not ignored or swept under the rug, either.

I’m so happy to have found this series and this author. The world T.J. Land has created is amazing! So well written and I can’t wait to read more.

9.5/10 Pots of Gold (95% Recommended) – Compares to 4.75/5 Stars

Pot Of Gold 9half



AuthorBio

Hello, lovely lemon-scented reader folk. I am Land. I write LGBTQA spec fic, and sometimes other things.

t-j-land-bio-picGoodreads blog: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14776064.T_J_Land/blog

Author’s email: tjlandlikeswords@yahoo.com

Author’s Amazon page: https://www.amazon.com/T.J.-Land/e/B01DMRARXC/

Author’s Goodreads page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14776064.T_J_Land

Author’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/TJ_Land_Writing

One thought on “The Amateur by T.J. Land #LGBT #Review #Superheroes #Poly #MMMM #Bigendered

  1. Pingback: Good as Gold A Villainous Love Story by T. J. Land #LGBT #Review #Enemies to Friends #Superheroes M/M/M/M | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

