Broken Pieces (Broken Pieces #1) by Riley Hart #Review #MMM #AwardWinning

Melissa reviews Broken Pieces by Riley Hart Published February 3rd 2014 by Riley Hart, 339 pages

broken-piecesCan three broken pieces make a whole?

Josiah Evans is the orphan who lost both his parents. He’s sweet, shy, and all heart. He wants nothing more than to be loved.

Mateo Sanchez is the son of a gang leader. He’s seen it all, and never hesitates to do what needs to be done, no matter what it is.

Tristan Croft is the wealthy attorney who clawed his way up from the bottom to rule his own world. He’ll never depend on anyone but himself again.

Three men who couldn’t be more different…and yet, as their lives intersect they find an uncommon balance that calms the storms inside each of them, and ignites fires hotter than they ever thought imaginable.

Told uniquely in three parts and spanning over ten years, BROKEN PIECES is a journey of healing for three fragmented souls, finding love in the unlikeliest of places—with each other.

A free copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.

Why I read this book:  This has been on my TBR list for a while and I had to know what these three men could do.  Plus it’s award winning week and Broken Pieces placed third in the Goodreads M/M Romance Group 2014 Member’s Choice Awards for Best Blue Collar, and won first place for Best Polyamorous

Review

I want to start off this review with the best, hottest, and sexiest parts of the book.  The sex!  HELLO!  I do love me some gorgeous man candy MMMmmmmmm.  When these three men got together, I was all eyes, rapidly reading what they were going to do to each other next, how they were going to be positioned and who was doing what to whom.  (I swear I am not drooling).

The story starts with Mateo being introduced into Josiah’s foster family.  The two get off to a somewhat rocky start (Josiah is shy and Mateo is indifferent – on the surface).  When Mateo sees Josiah being bullied at school, Mateo jumps into the rescue and the two become friends.  Of course over time they grow to be more than friends.  Which leads to Mateo doing some questionable activities later on so he can stay with Josiah.  I was not a fan of what Mateo did, and I can’t go into specifics without giving away spoilers.  It wasn’t legal, let’s put it that way, and I thought he had many other options than what he chose.  For this reason, my love of this book started to shrink.

I think I can say without revealing too much of a spoiler that Josiah and Mateo run away together before Josiah is 18, which means they are afraid of the police in case they are looking for him.  When Mateo’s past finds him again, he is forced to make a difficult choice to save Josiah.  There were events leading up to this that I didn’t care for either (Josiah is a trouble magnet, and I didn’t particularly feel it was done in a realistic manner), and while I understood Mateo sending Josiah away, I again felt there were so many other options open to these two men that once again I wasn’t as in love with this book as so many, many, other reviewers.

Several years after Josiah and Mateo split, he meets up with Tristan, a lawyer who has also suffered in his life and has trouble connecting with people, even his mother.  I like Tristan.  I thought he was a good character and I could understand where he was coming from.  Some of his sexual hang-ups I thought should have been the opposite of what they were considering his past, but that was the authors choice so I accepted it for what it was.

And then we get back to the really good parts.  When these three men meet it’s instant sparks between Mateo and Tristan, however there is also distrust because they both want Josiah, and don’t want to lose him.  While their attraction is hot, it was pretty insta, and I thought things got a little carried away with Mateo being accepted into the fold so easily, his past transgressions forgiven.

I didn’t really love this story, except for some small parts, and as a whole it was average for me.  I do recommend this to others because I know so many people who did read it, enjoyed it very much.  It’s possible my expectations where too high since I have been wanting to read this story for so long, so don’t let my opinion dissuade you from picking this story up.  This is a well written story, I just wasn’t able to connect with the characters as much as I had hoped to.

pot_o_gold_8

Where to buy: Amazon, B&N

AuthorBio

Riley Hart is the girl who wears her heart on her sleeve. She’s a hopeless romantic. A lover of sexy stories, passionate men, and writing about all the trouble they can get into together. If she’s not writing, you’ll probably find her reading.

Riley lives in California with her awesome family, who she is thankful for everyday.

http://www.rileyhartwrites.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

