‘Loving Luki Vasquez (Vasquez & James Series Book 1)’ #LGBT #Review #Contemporary

Bethany reviews ‘Loving Luki Vasquez (Vasquez & James Series Book 1)’.  Published by DPS on June 19th 2011, 220 pgs. 

Why I read this:  I have been eying this for a while now and decided it was finally time.

NOTE:  I was provided a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

 

Reclusive weaver Sonny Bly James controls every color and shape in his tapestries, but he can’t control the pattern of his life—a random encounter with Luki Vasquez, ex-ATF agent and all-around badass, makes that perfectly clear. The mutual attraction is immediate, but love-shy Sonny has retreated from life, and Luki wears his visible and not-so-visible scars like armor. Neither can bare his soul with ease.

While they run from desire, they can’t hide from the evil that hunts them. After it becomes clear that a violent stalker has targeted Sonny, Luki’s protective instincts won’t let him run far, especially when Sonny’s family is targeted as well. Whether they can forgive or forget, Sonny and Luki will have to call a truce and work together to save Sonny’s nephew and fight an enemy intent on making sure loving Luki Vasquez is the last mistake Sonny will ever make.

 

 

I have been looking at this book for years now, the cover is beautiful, yet in a way sorrowful.  It draws me to it in a very strong way, but when I read the blurb it just didn’t hook me like the cover did.  So I kept putting it off, saying “oh I’ll get to it one day.”  And when we began RGR three years ago, the people who review with me have quickly become my friends and I completely trust their book judgement.  MtSnow has been telling me for years that I need to read this one, that it will be one of those that isn’t quickly forgotten.  Well folks, she was so very right.

I started this a few weeks ago, but just wasn’t able to get into it.  You know how sometimes you can open a book, and you just can’t make yourself put it down to get anything done, yeah this was not that book.  Wait, let me explain.  Maybe it was my mood at the time, or maybe it was that I had so much to do that an audio was just easier so I could multitask.  But when I took the time, sat down, got about a fourth of the way in, well let’s just say it was hard to put it down.  I couldn’t read fast enough, I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen.  As I got further into this I realized this wasn’t just a book that I wanted to read.  No, this was a book that I NEEDED to read.  It consumed me, haunting me when I did put it down.  It woke me earlier than usually just do I could get a chapter in.  I stayed up late to read.  Yes, this book isn’t one I will forget anytime soon.

Quite the opposite in fact.  I loved Luki from the start, even though he does everything in his power to keep you at arm’s length.  He puts on this icy mask, a gruff “I don’t give a f*@k what you think about me” attitude.  You can tell he is guarding his heart and has been the majority of his life.  His tragic childhood, when it all finally comes to light, left me in tears.  Yes, I know that is not hard to do with me, but this had me bawling like a baby.

Enter Sonny; he doesn’t see Luki’s scars, at least not the physical scars, because he can most definitely can see the scars Luki carries inside.  This is where I became hooked, where I couldn’t put it down.  Watching Luki and Sonny, tentatively dance around each other, falling for each other, building something beautiful together was amazing.  ‘Til Luki let the past define the present, he let the bad destroy the good he and Sonny had.  God this is where I was livid, the point I wanted to yell.  I could see the exact moment Luki shattered Sonny’s heart, and oh my goodness, I wanted to throw my kindle across the room.  I wanted to smack Luki and tell him to get his head out of the sand and realize Sonny is the best thing to happen to him.

Oh, he does eventually, but the entire time you are dying a little inside for both men.  You want so badly to fix it for them, but you know it is something that they need to do in their own time.  They both need to forgive. Luki needs to forgive his past to move on, and Sonny needs to forgive Lukis actions because of his past.  Only then can they both move forward together.

I could go on and on, but let me just say I am glad I didn’t let the beginning of the book stop me from finishing it.  This one is truly a brilliant book, full of angst, pain, tears, laughter and love.  It was the perfect mystery filled with wonderful secondary characters, a good plot and great story building.  I highly recommend you get this one if you have yet to read it.  I can not wait to continue Luki and Sonny’s story in book two.  Thank you Lou Sylvre for sharing these two men with me.

DSP ~ Amazon ~ B&N 

I love romance (with all its ups and downs), and I love writing it. The lovers on my pages are men. They end up loving each other, and it’s all pretty sexy. How cool is that?

I live in the narrow strip of rainy land in the northwest corner of the USA. We get some sunshine, but not enough to interfere with my writing, which I do in front of a big window that lets me look out at the rain whenever my cat is not in the way.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

