J. Scott Coatsworth talks about Building Communities and Writing Books

We are very happy to welcome J. Scott Coatsworth to Rainbow Gold Reviews. He and his husband are running a queer scifi and queer romance site and we want to support his effort in building strong communities for authors and readers and filling the void that ARe left. Please check out Scott’s guest post below and visit the sites if they seem interesting to you, to see if they will be helpful in enabling your reading addiction 😀

Scott is also a wonderful author. If you want, also check out RGR’s reviews of ‘Skythane‘, ‘The Homecoming‘ and the anthology reviews of ‘A More Perfect Union‘ and ‘Myths Untold: Faery


Marc asked me to write a bit about some of the things I’m involved in with the queer writing community. I have my fingers in a lot of writing pies, along with my husband Mark and a couple friends who’ve made these things happen. 😛

QUEEROMANCE INK

The most recent of these is the QueeRomance Ink site – https://www.queeromanceink.com. It’s a project we came up with in the wake of the sudden collapse of All Romance ebooks last December. Mark and I thought we could build a better widget – a directory for queer romance authors that would help them connect with readers in a new way.
Our vision for the site was to make it an author-driven directory, putting writers in the driver’s seat. We are providing tools for their readers to find exactly the books they want – whether it be a sci fi lesbian vampire love story or an MMM BDSM zombie romance. We’ll be launching new filtering options for our book pages and book search shortly which will aid in this goal. We also empower authors to send readers to the sites that will give them the best royalties, helping them afford to continue to write.
Since we launched in late January, the site has grown to 1200+ titles and almost 300 authors, with over 12,000 unique visitors this month alone.
We’re very excited about where QRI will go next. We has plans.
QUEER SCI FI
Before there was QueeRomance Ink, there was Queer Sci Fi – http://www.queerscifi.com. It’s our community of speculative fiction writers and readers. QSF was born in 2014, and has grown to a membership of more than 2,300 readers and writers of sci fi, fantasy, paranormal and horror fiction.
The group has also become a safe and welcoming space for people from all across the queer spectrum, thanks in large part to the efforts of my co-admins Angel Martinez and Ben Brock, who are tireless in their efforts to deal with the many little fires that flare up in a group so large.
On QSF, we celebrate the new releases of our members on Me Me Mondays. We have monthly Rabid Reader Recommendation days, daily news, and much more. Ben and John do reviews of adult and YA fiction.
We’ve built a great community of people who support each other through good times and bad.
MY OWN WRITING
I tried to kick off my writing career in my early twenties, but it crashed to a halt when ten publishers rejected my first novel. I tried to come back to it over the years, but it never took, and I was resigned to never finding success as a writer.
It would be another twenty years before I really attempted it again. In 2014, I picked myself up again, with encouragement from Mark, and started writing short stories. I was lucky this time – Dreamspinner picked up my first one, The Bear at the Bar, for an anthology, and I was off and running.
Since then I’ve sold a number of short stories, novellas, and two novels, both the beginnings of sci fi trilogies. I work in two main genres – sci fi/fantasy and magical realism. In addition to my published works, I also write a weekly serial tale – the River City Chronicles – a sort of Tales of the City set in Sacramento.
My first novel, “Skythane”, came out in February; my second, “The Stark Divide”, comes out in October. In between, I have a post-apocalyptic novella titled “The Great North” that will be out in June. And I plan to self publish “The River City Chronicles” in the fall.
I write because I need to write. It feeds something in me, and I have all these stories I want to tell. I just hope you enjoy reading them as much as I like writing them.

Scott was indoctrinated into fantasy and sci fi by his mother at the tender age of nine. He devoured her sci fi library, but as he grew up, he wondered where all the people like him were in the books he was reading.

He decided that if there weren’t gay characters in his favorite genres, he would write them himself.

He runs Queer Sci Fi and QueeRomance Ink with his husband Mark, sites that celebrate fiction that reflects queer reality.

Leave a Reply

