Imago (Imago #1) by N.R. Walker #LGBT #Review #GroupReview #Contemporary #2by1 #Butterflies&Bowties

  • Wendy, Bethany & MtSnow reviews Imago (Imago #1) by N.R. Walker. Published by BlueHeart Press, February 18, 2017, 162 pages.
Nerdy, introverted genius lepidopterist, Lawson Gale, is an expert on butterflies. He finds himself in a small town in Tasmania on a quest from an old professor to find an elusive species that may or may not even exist.
Local Parks and Wildlife officer, Jack Brighton, is an ordinary guy who loves his life in the sleepy town of Scottsdale. Along with his Border collie dog, Rosemary, his job, and good friends, he has enough to keep from being lonely.
But then he meets Lawson, and he knows he’s met someone special. There’s more to catching butterflies, Jack realises. Sometimes the most elusive creatures wear bow ties, and sometimes they can’t be caught at all.
Lawson soon learns there are butterflies he can’t learn about it in books. They exist only in a touch, in a kiss, in a smile. He just has to let go first, so these butterflies can fly.
Imago is the story of finding love, bow ties, and butterflies.
Where to buy: 
Amazon | Add to goodreads
Wendy: Why I read this book: I was given the opportunity to read and review the two books that are in this series so far with two of our other reviewers MtSnow and Bethany. Of course I had my *gimme* hands wide open for these two! It’s N.R. Walker!!! Duh!
As soon as I started to read this book I was hooked. Completely HOOKED! If you want to read a sweet story about sweet men, then grab this book. Seriously, I can’t remember the last time I read a nicer romance or loved two characters more than I do Lawson and Jack. These are just plain nice guys. Jack is lonely and looking for more than just a hook up and Lawson is a nerdy genius who doesn’t know how sexy he is in a bow tie talking with big words. On top of the fact that these guys are nice, they’re interesting too!
They both have interesting jobs, well… interesting to them, and they both love what they do and have a passion for their work. It makes what could be a dull job fun and easy to read about. And when they are alone… I LOVED that Lawson was a mouthy, pushy demanding bottom! He was going to make sure that Jack gave him just what he needed and Jack was completely on board with that plan too!
Now that I’ve told you this book is all sweet, I don’t want you to think that it’s JUST sweet, this book has drama and excitement too. All in a short book that is very well written. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series and I will be coming back to this one again and again whenever I need a comfort read.
Rating is 10 of 10 pots of gold ~ 5 of 5 stars ~ 100% out 100% recommended

MtSnow: Why I read this book: I love anything with an outdoor, nature theme. Flora and fauna? I’m in! And the idea of a geeky butterfly scientist pairing with a rugged, outdoorsy park service officer was just too hard to resist!

This ended up being a sweet pairing, and I very much enjoyed the way the author didn’t have them jump right into the sack, but showed a very endearing wooing process. Those little touches made me look forward to every date that Jack had in mind for Lawson. And the townspeople were tops!!

The scientific parts were handled well and didn’t feel at all clinical, being woven throughout in conversations in such a way the reader doesn’t even realize they are learning some cool stuff about nature and the environment while going along for the journey of these two very well-developed characters.

There is excitement, drama, sweetness and hotness throughout, and even though it is shorter in pages than I’m usually drawn to, I find myself ending this one looking forward to the next book. (Imagine next! Yay!!)

A fun book, well researched, and well written. This one comes highly recommended for butterfly lovers everywhere!!

 Rating is 9 of 10 pots of gold ~ 4.5 of 5 stars ~ 90% out 100% recommended
Bethany: Why I read this book: It’s N.R. Walker, and for no other reason than that.  I haven’t read ANYTHING of hers I didn’t love.  And this one was no exception.  It was, quite frankly, beautiful.  There might be a book by her one day that I don’t adore but today was not that day.
This book was so wonderful, sweet and just what I needed at the time.  Cause seriously, how cute is a man that wears a bowtie?  And Jack, well I do love the rough and rugged type.   But together these two men were perfection.  While the entire book had me hooked, the beginning was just so much fun to read.  It set the tone of Jack and Lawson’s relationship.
I wasn’t too sure about Lawson at the beginning of the book. I was worried he wouldn’t be able to loose the buttoned up, professional  persona and let himself fall for Jack.  But man, oh man, was I wrong about Lawson; because when he did lose it, oh man he lost it good. LOL.
The build up between Jack and Lawson was nice to see, and it wasn’t just the two of them falling into bed together.  Neither of them were looking for a one night stand.  But I did worry how they would work out, given Lawson was there for work.  But I shouldn’t have worried too much, because I knew that N.R. Walker would have made it all ok for Lawson and Jack, as well as her readers.
If this is your first book by N.R. then you have selected well and will be wanting to read anything and everything you can by her.  If you are like me and you already love all her stuff, from Red Dirt to Cronin’s and everything in between, then you know this will be among those brilliant books.  I am so glad I had the opportunity to read and review this book, because I know it is one that I will be re-reading over and over.
Rating is 10 of 10 pots of gold ~ 5 of 5 stars ~ 100% out 100% recommended

N.R. Walker is an Australian author, who loves her genre of gay romance. She loves writing and spends far too much time doing it, but wouldn’t have it any other way. She is many things: a mother, a wife, a sister, a writer. She has pretty, pretty boys who live in her head, who don’t let her sleep at night unless she gives them life with words. She likes it when they do dirty, dirty things… but likes it even more when they fall in love. She used to think having people in her head talking to her was weird, until one day she happened across other writers who told her it was normal. She’s been writing ever since…
One thought on “Imago (Imago #1) by N.R. Walker #LGBT #Review #GroupReview #Contemporary #2by1 #Butterflies&Bowties

  1. Pingback: ‘Imagines (Imago #2)’ by NR Walker #LGBTQA #ReviewTour #2by1 | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

