‘Crooked Tree Ranch: Montana 1’ by RJ Scott #LGBT #Review #AudioReview

Bethany reviews Crooked Tree Ranch: Montana 1 by RJ Scott.  Published by Love Lane Books on November 16th, 2015, 193 pgs.  Release on audio on April 3rd, 2017, 6hrs 20 mins.  Narrated by Sean Crisden.

Why I read this book: I am a HUGE RJ Scott fan, yet this was the one series I have yet to start so I thought now was the perfect time.

NOTE: We were provided an audio code in exchange for an honest review.


When a cowboy meets the guy from the city, he can’t know how much things will change.

On the spur of the moment, with his life collapsing around him, Jay Sullivan answers an ad for a business manager with an expertise in marketing, on a dude ranch in Montana.

With his sister Ashley, niece Kirsten, and nephew Josh in tow, he moves lock stock and barrel from New York to Montana to start a new life on Crooked Tree Ranch.

Foreman and part owner of the ranch, ex rodeo star Nathaniel “Nate” Todd has been running the dude ranch for five years ever since his mentor Marcus Allen became ill.

His brothers convince him that he needs to get an expert in to help the business grow. He knows things have to change and but when the new guy turns up, with a troubled family in tow – he just isn’t prepared for how much.

 

I love love love RJ Scott’s books.  Her Texas series is one that I have read over and over again.  Maybe because it is set in my state, maybe I just love a good opposites attract story.  And let’s face it, a cowboy and businessman is about as opposite as you can get.

I’m going to start off by saying I loved the family aspect in this book, and it’s not just one sided.  No, Jay has his sister and her two kids that he loves like they were his own and Nate has his two brothers he is looking for after their parents death.  I loved this because it just goes to show you there are families out there that do not care who their loved ones love.  It was very refreshing to read that rather that family that disowns you.  But I guess I shouldn’t have expected anything less from RJ.

Ok so when Jay loses his job in New York he answers an add to a job in Montana.  He replied, took the job and packed up his whole family and move to a completely new state.   Now this could seem far fetched for some people but when you find out what Ashley, Jay’s sister, and her kids went through with her abusive ex, you would understand the need to keep his family safe.  And if that means relocating for job unseen then that is what Jay knows he needs to do.  Awwwww.

Now, Nate, gosh I loved that man.  All alpha cowboy, gruff interior, rugged exterior, and loyal to the bone.  Not just to his brothers but the men and women at Crooked Tree Ranch.  He comes back to run things after his parents death because he know that Crooked Tree was his parents dream.

Nate and Jay together was magnetic, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching them together.  Especially when Jay tries to show Nate he is interested. Here is where I had my issue, I didn’t feel like we got enough building of their relationship.  We got so much info at the beginning of the book, I wanted more time of Nate and Jay falling, discovering their feelings for each other.  But I loved what we did have and can’t wait to get the next book in the series.

Now the narration, all I can say is Sean Crisden can narrate cowboys for me ANYTIME.  He is brilliant narrator who can do so many different voices, so you never question who is talking.  I loved him in her Texas series and I hope he continues this series.  I highly recommend this audio.

RJ Scott has been writing since age six, when she was made to stay in at lunchtime for an infraction involving cookies. She was told to write a story and two sides of paper about a trapped princess later, a lover of writing was born. She can mostly be found reading — anything from thrillers to sci-fi to horror. However, her first real love will always be the world of romance. When writing her goal is to write stories with a heart of romance, a troubled road to reach happiness, and more than a hint of happily ever after. She loves to talk to readers and can be contacted via rj@rjscott.co.uk

Leave a Reply

