Wake (Tidal#1) by K. Evan Coles & Brigham Vaugn #LGBT #ReviewTour #Giveaway

Buy Links: Pride Publishing (Early Download) | Amazon US | Amazon UK


Publisher: Pride Publishing


Length: 96,517 words


Blurb

Book one in the Tidal series

Carter Hamilton and Riley Porter-Wright room together as Harvard undergraduates. An immediate friendship forms, but as the years pass it deepens into something neither man understands. As attraction simmers under the surface, lines begin to blur. When they move back to Manhattan, they gradually slip into the lives their families have envisioned for them.

Both men marry, but in time, Riley realizes he’s ended up in a passionless relationship like his parents’ while his career takes center stage. Although he loves his wife, Carter misses the emotional and physical connection he shared with Riley.

The weight of Riley’s feelings and his growing discontentment with his life eventually push him to tell Carter the truth about how he feels. Shocked and unable to face his own feelings, Carter rejects Riley.

As each man comes to terms with the lies they’ve told themselves, each other and the people around them, they find their lives changing in ways they never imagined. They soon discover that the truths they’ve been longing to tell shake the foundations of their friendship.

I am going to start off by saying this book is a cliffhanger.  I need to tell you this because I know how frustrating it get so invested in a book only to realize it is the end and NOTHING is resolved.  Ok, ok, maybe some things are resolved, but by the end of this book we only scratched the surface of what needs to be resolved.  But I am giving you the warning that this book will not have everything wrapped up tightly by the end, far from it actually.  But you know what? It’s ok, because this one is so detailed and in depth that if it was just one book it would have been rushed. Mt Snow has already told me she plans to wait till all books in this series are out, because she can’t deal with cliffhangers.  So here is my warning, if you want it all wrapped up now, then wait.  But if you can handle the agony of a cliffy then I HIGHLY recommend this book.  Let me tell you why.

I started this book and almost immediately told my RGR family how pissed I was.  Wait hold on, let me explain.  You could feel the attraction between these two, even though they couldn’t feel it at first. They knew something was there, but they just assumed it was a strong friendship. They each had girls in their beds, yet felt the most when they were watching each other.  So this is why I was pissed, I wanted, no needed them to act on their attraction to each other.  Then they did, kinda.  They start bringing women in bed with both of them.  This gives them both the freedom they deeply crave to touch each other, to kiss, to taste without fear.  They feel this is they only way they can be with each other, without letting down their families.  Another reason I was so frustrated, I just couldn’t get why they couldn’t be together.

But I stopped, I reminded myself there are still people out there expected to be a certain way.  To live up to what their parents expect of them.  I didn’t like it, but I stopped being angry they wouldn’t step out of line and just be together.  Oh I wasn’t happy about it, but I got it.  So here I am going along, loving this book, hating that they both are now married to women, but waiting for something to change.  For one, or both of them to WAKE up and realize things aren’t working.  And one of them does.  Just not in the way I was hoping for.  Carter drops a bomb on Riley I was not expecting.  Threesomes.  Again.  And not with either of their wives.  Well I don’t blame them for not wanting Riley’s wife, she a frigid witch with a capital “B” if you catch my drift.  But my sense of being faithful to your spouse was shouting very loudly at this point.

But I shut her up and realized again, both men still feel the need to be what their families expect.  They don’t think there is any other way.  But the wait of it all begins to be too much for Riley.  The lying to his parents, to his wife, but mostly the lying to Carter and to himself.  He realizes that enough is enough, he doesn’t want to be in a loveless marriage like his parents.  He doesn’t want to hide his feelings for his best friend.  So he comes clean, to EVERYONE.  And I was like, finally, now we can get to Riley and Carter building a relationship.  Until Carter rejects him, wait what?  That wasn’t suppose to happen.  Carter was suppose to return Riley’s love, Carter’s wife was suppose to say that she suspected this all along, giving them her blessing.  Both Riley’s and Carter’s parents would be ok with this turn of events.

That would have been too easy.  That isn’t how life works, and that is why I really enjoyed this book.  It feels real, and at times that frustrated me to no end, but I could feel how much passion these two authors but into this book.  Now here I am reading along, waiting for Carter to come to his senses and fix everything.  Then BAM its over.  No declaration of undying love, no grand gestures from Carter.  No, it just ended, leaving me hanging, feeling lost and empty.  I have to admit though, it was one awesome way to leave it.  I can not wait till book two comes out in August, because you better believe I will be reading it as soon as I can.

I highly recommend reading this book if you are looking for some angst and can handle a cliffhanger.  This book is real and raw, with highs and lows.  I can honestly say it is one of the most well written books I have read in all my years of reading the MM genre.

 

 
Author Bios

K. Evan Coles is a mother and tech pirate by day and a writer by night. She is a dreamer who, with a little hard work and a lot of good coffee, coaxes words out of her head and onto paper.

K. lives in the northeast United States, where she complains bitterly about the winters, but truly loves the region and its diverse, tenacious and deceptively compassionate people. You’ll usually find K. nerding out over books, movies and television with friends and family. She’s especially proud to be raising her son as part of a new generation of unabashed geeks.

 
Brigham Vaughn is starting the adventure of a lifetime as a full-time writer. She devours books at an alarming rate and hasn’t let her short arms and long torso stop her from doing yoga.  She makes a killer key lime pie, hates green peppers, and loves wine tasting tours. A collector of vintage Nancy Drew books and green glassware, she enjoys poking around in antique shops and refinishing thrift store furniture. An avid photographer, she dreams of traveling the world and she can’t wait to discover everything else life has to offer her.


Email: brighamvaughn@gmail.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/brigham.vaughn
Facebook Author Page:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted By Signal Boost Promotions

 

Leave a Reply

