Road of No Return: Hounds of Valhalla MC (Sex & Mayhem Book 1) by K. A. Merikan #LGBT #PushingBoundaries #Review

Bethany reviews ‘Road Of No Return’ by K. A. Merikan.  Published by Acerbi & Villani ltd on July 17, 2014, 236 pgs.

Why I read this book: After reading the blurb I thought it would work for New To Me Author, but after I finished I knew it was better suited for Pushing Boundaries.

NOTE: We were provided a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

Zak. Tattoo artist. Independent. Doesn’t do relationships.
Stitch. Outlaw biker. Deep in the closet. Doesn’t share his property.

On the day of Stitch’s divorce, lust personified enters the biker bar he’s celebrating at. Tattooed all over, pierced, confident, and hot as hellfire, Zak is the bone Stitch has waited for life to throw him. All Stitch wants is a sniff, a taste, a lick. What follows instead is gluttony of the most carnal sort, and nothing will ever be the same. Forced to hide his new love affair from the whole world, Stitch juggles family, club life, and crime, but it’s only a matter of time until it becomes too hard.

Zak moves to Lake Valley in search of peace and quiet, but when he puts his hand into the jaws of a Hound of Valhalla, life gets all but simple. In order to be with Stitch, Zak’s biker wet dream, he has to crawl right back into the closet. As heated as the relationship is, the secrets, the hiding, the violence, jealousy, and conservative attitudes in the town rub Zak in all the wrong ways. When pretending he doesn’t know what his man does becomes impossible, Zak needs to decide if life with an outlaw biker is really what he wants.

As club life and the love affair collide, all that’s left in Zak and Stitch’s life is mayhem.

WARNING Contains adult content: a gritty storyline, explicit language, violence and torture

POSSIBLE SPOILERS:

Themes: Outlaw Motorcycle Club, organized crime, homophobia, family issues, coming out, first gay relationship, tattoo, piercing

Genre: contemporary gay dark romance

Length: ~ 100,000 words (Standalone novel, no cliffhanger)

When I read this blurb to the book thought, cool this can be my ‘New To Me Author’ for review.  Then I got a few pages in and I wasn’t even sure I would be able to finish this book, it was so far out of my comfort zone I was scared to continue.  I kept telling myself it has to get better, it can not be this dark and twisty.  But oh man… it is that dark and twisty, and so much more.  Look this book is not going to be very every one.  But for some it will be the absolute PERFECT read, and for those of you that do love this one I salute you.

I read romance to escape the real world.  Because the real world is a terrifying place, so when I read, I escape, I am taken to a different place. Places that two men can love.  Yes sometimes it takes a while to get there, and sometimes they are put through the wringer to get their HEA, but in the end it is all worth it.  This one is NOT that book, this is dark, and violent, and sometimes borderline sadistic.  I guess I just thought I could handle it.  Let me tell you I am not sure how I managed to get to the end.

I did NOT like Stitch from the beginning and I am not really sure if he ever redeemed himself.  And after what happened between him and Zac at the beginning I’m not really sure how I was feeling about Zac.  I just wasn’t sure why anyone would put up with what Stitch did and still let him anywhere near them.  It actually infuriated me how Stitch treated Zac, and the excuses Zac made for Stitch.  It just left me with a very uneasy feeling.  And I found myself asking more often than not, why is he putting up with this.

There were so many times I felt the need to walk away from this book, to just say, nope I can not handle anymore.  But I am not the kind of person to give up so easy.  I kept telling myself it will get better and they will find their HEA.  And I REALLY hated the biker gang that Stitch belonged to.  I kept thinking they call themselves family that when they find out about Stitch and Zac, they will change their tune and accept them.  It doesn’t really work that way.  I know that some people are just not ok with people loving the member of their same sex, but it shouldn’t matter if they are your family.  So this was a big hurdle for me to get over.

And just when I think things are looking better for Stitch and Zac, we get to the end and something happened that I just couldn’t ignore, I couldn’t overlook it.  It made me sick to think about.  I just couldn’t see past the ending, even though I desperately wished I could have unread the end and pretend things happened differently.  The bad far outweighed the good and that is why this one just didn’t work for me.

Look I know that things that happen in this book happen everyday in real life, but I need my books to not be so REAL.  The writing is very good and this book will be some people’s favorite, one the recommend all the time.  Its just now one I can recommend if you have a weak stomach or you are looking for something light and fluffy.  Even though I do love a good angsty book, this was just a tad to much angst for me.

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

To keep up to date with their new releases (and get a free book in the process!) sign up to their newsletter: http://kamerikan.com/newsletter

e-mail: kamerikan@gmail.com

More information about ongoing projects, works in progress and publishing at:
K.A. Merikan’s author page: http://kamerikan.com

FUN FACTS:
– We are Polish,
– We’re neither sisters nor a couple,
– Kat’s an artist, and Agnes is a psychologist but neither works in her field,
– Kat’s fingers are two times longer than Agnes’s.

Leave a Reply

