‘Unbroken Hearts’ by Klee Klein #LGBTQ+ #Review #RGRGiveaway

Bethany reviews ‘Unbroken Hearts’ by Klee Klein.  Published by Dreamspinner Press on October 11th, 2017, 200 pgs.

Why I read this book:  Anyone that knows me knows I love Klee’s books and this is the second book in the Unbroken series so it was a no brainer that I would read this one.

NOTE: I was provided an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Check out my review for Unbreak My Heart here.

Unbreak My Heart: Book Two

Country singer turned rancher Brett Taylor fought his way out of the bottle so he could have JT Campbell in his life. JT’s patience, intelligence, and humor broke through Brett’s walls of depression, and now the once-isolated rancher and his young California guy in search of himself are together on Brett’s Texas ranch.

While Brett and JT are more in love than ever, they’re still dealing with past baggage and learning how to move forward. Brett’s former lover casts a long shadow over their lives—one JT tries to pretend doesn’t bother him. Can Brett soothe his fears with the sort of sappy, sentimental Valentine’s Day JT was taught to shun growing up—but secretly always wanted?

When Halloween rolls around, a costumed night out at the local bar might lead to another romantic first. And on Christmas morning, JT awakes to some sweet loving and the most meaningful gift he could ever imagine. The New Year truly brings a new beginning—ushered in by some silly, sparkly, and sexy fun.

One year. Four important holidays. Two men who have worked hard for the love and trust they share and the bright future that’s finally within their grasp.

My very first review for RGR was the first edition copy of ‘Unbreak My Heart’ and it has stuck with my for the last three years.  I fell in love with those two men and knew that I needed more books by this author.  What I didn’t know at the time is that I would read almost everything that Klee has written, and reviewed most of them here on RGR.  After reading book one in this series I knew I would read anything Klee wrote with these two, and I got my wish.  And when I found out that they were both going to be re-released from Dreamspinner Press, I can’t tell you how happy I was.  Not just for me but for Klee because she is so very deserving of this awesome achievement.

So I’ll start off by saying that book one dang near gutted me before Klee was able to put me back together.  So I needed book two to be nice to these guys and I will tell you right now I got my wish.  This book is actually a combination of a few short books with some added content, so for me it was like getting something brand new.  Brett and JT are in a really good place in their relationship, so when their first Valentine’s rolls around JT is hoping for a little romance.  Not dinner with Brett’s mamma and Ray.  Oh man I can totally feel for JT.  But you know what JT actually receives from Brett was so flippin beautiful, I would say it was definitely worth it.

Halloween, my goodness I love Halloween and this was some of the new content I was telling you about.  These two were so much fun to read about for this holiday, even if the entire night isn’t perfect.  Yes Klee needs to throw in some drama, and it leaves you shaking your head wondering what is wrong with some people.  Christmas, my goodness I think my favorite part of this holiday was Whiz, he definitely keeps them on their toes.  But Brett’s surprise for JT left me in happy tears.  There’s good food, family and lots of love in this family.

While this is a feel good book that revisits two of my favorite men, there are the struggles, the miscommunications and the letting go and moving on.  My heart broke for Brett in book one and what he went through in the past.  But I love how Klee shows us that even though his past will always be a part of him, it is no longer ALL of him.  He has grown for himself and for JT.  Everything they do, they do for each other – they talk, they laugh, and play and sometimes argue a bit.  But do you know what?  These two, these two are totally winning in the relationship department.

I can go on and on about these two and how much I love them, but I think y’all have probably already guessed that.  I highly recommend this book, and while yes it COULD be read as a standalone, I don’t recommend that.  You would absolutely be doing yourself a disservice if you haven’t read book one first.  Yes it is a hard-earned battle for these two but reading it will make reading this one so much sweeter.

Dreamspinner Press ~ Amazon ~ B&N  

Comment below telling me your favorite Klee couple for a chance to win an ecopy of one of Klee’s books.

You need to be 18 years or older to participate. Void where prohibited. Etc.

This giveaway will end on October 31st, 2017 at 11:59 PM CDT.

K-lee Klein loves guys with long hair and tattoos, and you’ll often find her front and center at her favorite rock concerts. She has bounced around Western Canada all her life, but will always consider the solitude and beauty of the British Columbian mountains home. Her life is blessed as the proud mother of three now-grown but still spoiled kids, the servant of two bossy felines, and the wife of a truly patient husband.

Her writing muse is terribly temperamental, so to keep him close by and in check, she had him inked on her left calf. The gorgeous, long-haired, mostly naked, kneeling angel that resulted is truly a work of art, although he’s still a handful and hopelessly uncontrollable. She writes on his schedule and inspiration.

K-lee tends to fall easily into obsessions. When something grabs her attention, she jumps into it headfirst with complete abandon. Actors, musicians, superheroes, fictional characters, and brainwashed assassins all hold spots on her cannot-get-enough list. She once followed Thirty Seconds to Mars around the United States and Canada and saw them perform fourteen times that year. Obsession sometimes leads to ideas for her kneeling angel to turn into stories.

Although an introvert in person, she’s extroverted online and has met many wonderful friends there, sometimes with the added fun of meeting them in person at gay romance conferences. She’s grateful for all the people in her life who accept her as she is and support her through her ups and downs as mom, wife, and joyfully obsessed writer.

5 thoughts on “‘Unbroken Hearts’ by Klee Klein #LGBTQ+ #Review #RGRGiveaway

Leave a Reply

