‘Blood Drop’ by Jacob Flores #LGBTQ+ #Review #ReleaseDay

Bethany reviews ‘Blood Drop’ by Jacob Z. Flores.  Published by Dreamspinner Press on November 6th, 2017, 230 pgs.

Why I read this book:  I have read the first four and knew I had to read this one.

NOTE:  We were provided a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Check out my review for books 1 – 4 here:

Spell Bound

Blood Tied

Soul Struck

Spell Fall

The Warlock Brothers of Havenbridge: Book Five

A single drop of blood might hold the key to the fate of the magical world, and Aiden Teine must choose between his bond of love and embracing the power to defeat his enemies.

Aiden’s adjustment to being the first vampyre fae hasn’t been easy, but his ties to warlock Thad Blackmoor prevent him from becoming a monster. With Thad, Aiden has a new family, a new purpose, and a new reason to live—though he’s technically undead. There’s one problem: Aiden’s control over his vampyre is weakening. He must learn what’s triggering his violent reactions before he surrenders to the creature within. To complicate matters, Aiden discovers his transformation might not be complete, and he fears what he will become.

Aiden’s search for answers thrusts him into a frightening world filled with deception, new dangers, and apocalyptic visions. The part destiny intends Aiden to play could alter his relationship with Thad forever. If Aiden, Thad, and the entire magical community are to survive Icarian’s latest scheme, Aiden must interpret the meaning of the prophetic blood drop before it falls and ushers in the destruction of all creation—and the warlock he loves.

I have been a huge fan of this series since I read book one when it first came out back in 2015, and couldn’t wait for the next one.  After reading book one I assumed it would just be three in the series, each book for each brother.  So when I heard that there would be more in the series, I was beyond ecstatic.  After I finished each previous book, I wanted the next one. After finishing this one, though, I feel like we might have come to the end.  While I do not know what Jacob’s plans are for this family, if this was the last one I can honestly say it was a perfect ending.  It was like game 7 in the world series, the build-up sometimes leaves you cussing a bit, but the end is that kickass trophy, that makes all the hard times worth it in the end.

I have loved all the books in this series, but I can say without a shadow of a doubt that this one takes the cake.  This book takes everything from books one through four and finally ties everything together and provides closure.  Things are revealed that left me in utter shock and some things came to light that I started to figure out in previous book.  But it was one hell of a thrill ride finding all these things out.

Like I previously said in my review of ‘Blood Tied’ which was Aiden and Thad’s book, I didn’t want to like Thad, but he quickly became one of those characters that you just want to hug, even though it might not be so welcomed.  LOL. But I fell in love with him and Aiden so hard by the end of their book that I might have squealed a bit when I read the blurb for this. Aiden is the opposite of what I had in mind for a fairy prince, which just goes to show that you should never make assumptions about anyone, even book characters. These two hold a special place in my heart from book two and it is no different in this one.  I so enjoyed watching them love each other so fiercely that they both would be willing to sacrifice themselves, if it meant saving the other.  The lengths that these two went for each other and their family was breathtaking to watch.

And that’s the other thing that I have loved in each of these books.  The family aspect of it, yes there are times when they argue and fight, but you know that they will always have each others backs in the end.  So even though the focus is on Aiden and Thad, it truly is a team effort with the entire cast of these books.  It has always been fascinating to read the different character’s POV in each book, how Jacob is able to give voice to each of these men is pure brilliance.

I could go on and on about how much I love this series, but here is the thing if you are reading this you probably fall into two camps.  One: you have read the first four and just can’t get enough like me.  Or camp two: you have yet to read these and are wondering if you should start.  My advice.  YES.  Start, but do me a favor and start with book one.  Please, please, please don’t think you can start anywhere other than book one.  It must be read in order to completely understand what is going on.  I highly recommend this series and I think you will love them as much as I have.

Oh and Jacob, PLEASE I need more.

Where to buy: DSP ~ Amazon

Jacob Z. Flores lives a double life. During the day, he is a respected college English professor and mid-level administrator. At night and during his summer vacation, he loosens the tie and tosses aside the trendy sports coat to write man on man fiction, where the hardass assessor of freshmen level composition turns his attention to the firm posteriors and other rigid appendages of the characters in his fictional world.

Summers in Provincetown, Massachusetts, provide Jacob with inspiration for his fiction. The abundance of barely clothed man flesh and daily debauchery stimulates his personal muse. When he isn’t stroking the keyboard, Jacob spends time with his daughter. They both represent a bright blue blip in an otherwise predominantly red swath in south Texas.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.