Healing My Amor (Sulfur Springs, Book 6) by Taylor Rylan #Audiobook #LGBT #Review #MMRomance #Contemporary

Erryn reviews ‘Healing My Amor (Sulfur Springs Book 6)’ by Taylor Rylan. This book was released by the author on September 19, 2019, and is 222 pgs long. The audiobook version of this story was narrated by Michael Dean.  It was released on February 13, 2020, and is 6 hrs and 32 mins long. A copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.

Why I read this book: I’m enjoying this series.

Travis Thompson’s past haunts him. When an assignment went bad, fate was a cruel beast and took the man he thought he’d spend forever with. Now he has to live with the guilt that he couldn’t save the man he loved. A year later, when their team loses another member, he’s finished and knows it’s time to move on. But where does that leave him?

Alejandro Lopez has been hardened by life. He lost his family because of who he is, and he’s never fully been able to accept that. He’s used that resentment toward his parents to ensure he’s succeeded at everything he’s done since. But the only thing he’s failed at is love. He can’t seem to get that right.

Can a man with guilt that runs so deep it shuts him down at times ever let another in? Can a man that can’t quite let someone in for fear of rejection be the one to heal him?

Healing My Amor is the sixth book in the Sulfur Springs series. This is a Men of Crooked Bend spin-off and takes you off of the ranch and into the lives of those in Sulfur Springs. While each book will focus on a different couple, you should listen to them in order for the most enjoyment. Each book contains sexually explicit material between two men and is intended for adults over 18.

Buy Links: Audible  | Amazon  | Add to Goodreads 

Erryn’s Review:

Taylor Rylan’s Sulfur Springs series follows The Men of Crooked Bend series.  Sometimes when you have that many books it can be a little confusing.  So many men whose stories interconnect.  Now, I love series, and I adore catching up with previous couples and seeing how they are doing.  I’ve been listening to the Sulfur Springs series having missed only one book.  The series has meandered a bit and this book brings back characters from book 1.  It took me a bit of time to reorient myself and figure out how Travis fits into the whole series.  I did eventually get it, and I liked that he was paired with a newer character who was fresh in my mind.

All that being said, this book, as with other of Ms. Rylan’s books, begins with a bang and an emotional gut punch.  There’s no easing into this story as we’re in the middle of a mission with a group of mercenaries who are trying to take down a sex trafficking ring.  Travis is the medic in the group, tasked with keeping everyone safe.  When things go sideways, he’s devastated at the powerlessness he encounters.  Bullets can do great damage, and he’s also injured.  He arrives Stateside and decides he’s done.  This is the second loss he’s endured.  The second person he wasn’t able to save.  Living with the memories is becoming too much to bear.  In an effort to outrun his past, he visits Wyoming, quickly realizing this is where he wants to make a new life for himself.

Alejandro was introduced in the book before the last and one he was enigmatic at best.  I don’t remember getting the impression he was gay, but he is and when he meets Travis, he’s intrigued.  Neither man feels ready for a serious relationship, but there is definite attraction.  Before things really get started, Travis has to return to California to tie up loose ends, including confronting the brother who put him in danger.  He also has to reconcile his life before and his life now.  I liked that he was able to reach out and ask for help – many people are hesitant, believing they can white-knuckle through PTSD and devastating loss.  I also liked that there were no simple answers.

Travis has to reconcile the loss of the love of his life while Alejandro has to reconcile the loss of his family for being gay.  He was abandoned and has had to forge a life for himself.  He’s successful, but holds himself back from falling in love.  Until he meets Travis.

I wish this book had been longer because the two men only get together closer to the end and it felt rushed.  I wanted more time for them to get to know each other.  Yes, they were dealing each dealing with issues and were willing to help each other out, but I just felt more time would have been worthwhile.  I mean, they spent much of the book apart.  Did it detract from the book?  Not necessarily.  Just an observation.  What I’m trying to say is I enjoyed this book but it wasn’t my favorite in the series.  Do I hope there are more?  Yep.  Someone very close to Alejandro revealed the fact he’s gay and it seems there might be something developing between him and someone in Travis’ life.  Would that give me a chance to revisit this couple?  I suspect so.

Michael Dean narrates this series and I honestly believe he’s the perfect choice.  He manages to keep the characters straight, giving them all a distinctive voice.  He also gives Alejandro a slight accent and that fits with the character.  As always, he delivers a great performance.  I await the next book with enthusiasm.

Erryn’s Rating:

8.5/10 Pots of Gold (85% Recommended) – Compares to 4.25/5 Stars

Website | Goodreads | Twitter @taylorrylan1

After several years of daydreaming about sexy men in her head, Taylor decided to finally start writing about them! That’s where the Men of Crooked Bend came from, although at the time, she had no idea as to what she would name the town, nor what state it would even be in. She quickly learned that even though she had ideas in her head, it was her characters that ultimately decided what would happen in each story. She goes into each adventure with a set plan but already knows that in the end, things will change and that her characters are going to get their way.

When she’s not writing about sexy men, she loves to read about them. Even if, her reading time has become less frequent since she started writing, she still tries to find time to read at least once a week.

​She is a busy mom of three and one kitten named Lucky. 

Her Men of Crooked Bend Series is her first series but she already has a spin-off in the works. She also writes about sexy shifters and their fated mates. Her Honey Creek Den is just the first of several series planned!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.