Harvester of Bones by Jordan L. Hawk #LGBT #Review #Paranormal #Mystery #NewRelease

Dana reviews Harvester of Bones (SPECTR Series 3 Book 4) by Jordan L.Hawk. (Published October 16, 2020,  85 pages. Audoiobook released December 22, 2020. Narrated by Brad Langer. 3 hrs and 3 mins length.) An ebook copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.

To read the audiobook review of SPECTR Series 1 click here.

To read the audiobook review of SPECTR Series 2 Books 1-3 click here.

To read the ebook review of Breaker of Chains (SPECTR Series 2 Book 4) click here.

To read the ebook review of Shaker of Earth (SPECTR Series 2 Book 5) click here.

To read the ebook review of Stalker of Shadows (SPECTR Series 3 Book 1) click here.

To read the review for Bringer of Night (SPECTR Series 3 Book 2) c lick here.

To read the review for Seeker of Truth (SPECTR Series 3 Book 3) click here.



Federal exorcist John Starkweather is consumed by the search for the truth about his past. A new lead takes him away from New Orleans, to confront the twisted man who experimented on him as a teen.

Left behind yet again, Caleb and Gray throw themselves into the hunt for a murderous demon lurking deep in the swamp. But they can’t shake their growing fear that the more John’s memories return, the further he pulls away from them.

As John digs deeper into the secrets surrounding the Center where he was held captive, the danger around him grows. Because someone wants the truth buried—and they’re willing to kill to keep it that way.

Buy links: Amazon | Audible | B&N | Add to Goodreads

If you are new to this series, we really recommend starting at the beginning!

We can strongly recommend The Complete Series One (6 books) and Two (5 books) as eBook or Audiobook Collection!

SPECTR: The Complete First Series | eBook | Audiobook

SPECTR: The Complete Second Series | eBook | Audiobook

In this new SPECTR series, the storyline has been focused on the mystery of John’s past. As John and Caleb/Gray try to blend in to their semi-retired new lives in New Orleans, the family that John had been estranged from, are not telling him he is not one of them at all. At first, it seems like it might just be because they don’t want to be associated with John’s special abilities of exorcism. But John begins to question things, especially when it appears someone is trying to silence anyone who might tell him different.

Each story in the series has unveiled a little bit more of the secret, and there are smaller battles with NHE’s (non-human-entities) that take place in New Orleans. In this book, John, Caleb, and Gray have reached out to an old acquaintance to try to uncover secrets contained in a laptop John found. Some memories are also coming back for John, and he decides to see one of the doctors that was supposedly “helping” John and other teens with psychic abilities get rid of them . While some answers are revealed, like who is behind it all, I still don’t feel like there was much progress in this book. We don’t know the extent of who exactly was in the know and why they continued to deceive John for years and years after.

John and Caleb and Gray have mostly repaired their relationship after their break-up in the second series of SPECTR. But between hiding who they are from the local agency, and from John’s “cousin” Ryan, and the constant presence of the second drakul, Night, in their lives, I can see the relationship between the three of them deteriorating. Knowing, but not being sure of, who was behind John’s new mixed up identity, teenage torture, and memory loss is just one more strain I hope they can make it through. I really hope they do.

I do want to bring up Night for a moment. As a drakul that doesn’t share its body with a living soul he has been spending time with John, Caleb, and Gray for his own form of research. Night wants to know if Gray has been corrupted by the presence of Caleb and their romance with John. The situation with Night is interesting, and I don’t know exactly where it is going, but I like to imagine that he is learning from Caleb and Gray and might be taking on human morals and that will play a factor in how this series plays out. From the previous series, I figure this series will last for one or two more books before they reach the moment of true knowledge and confrontation. I can’t wait for that moment and will be eagerly anticipating the next book(s) in the series. I definitely recommend the story and the narrator of the series is great. He has narrated the three men since the beginning and he does a good job of bringing them to life.

8.5/10 Pots of Gold (85% Recommended) – Compares to 4.25/5 stars


Jordan L. Hawk is a trans author from North Carolina. Childhood tales of mountain ghosts and mysterious creatures gave him a life-long love of things that go bump in the night. When he isn’t writing, he brews his own beer and tries to keep the cats from destroying the house. His best-selling Whyborne & Griffin series (beginning with Widdershins) can be found in print, ebook, and audiobook.

Audible | Goodreads Author Page | Smashwords | Amazon Author Page | Website | Blog | Patreon | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest

One thought on “Harvester of Bones by Jordan L. Hawk #LGBT #Review #Paranormal #Mystery #NewRelease

  1. Pingback: Deceiver of Minds by Jordan L. Hawk #LGBT #Review #Paranormal #Mystery #NewRelease | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.