A Midnight Clear by Kaje Harper #LGBT #MM #Contemporary #Review

Erryn reviews A Midnight Clear by Kaje Harper (Published January 11, 2021, 204 pages). 

Why I read this book: I adore Kaje Harper and was ready for a Christmas book.


Can a painful goodbye become a second chance?

Adric’s pretty sure his hopeless crush on his roommate Royce has an end date. They’ll finish their EMT training course before the holidays and take the exam. When they pass—fingers crossed— he has plans for job hunting, but even when he teases or nags, Royce refuses to discuss anything beyond that looming test date. That has to be a red flag.

Adric tries to be resigned to a bromance goodbye at Christmas. But when he and Royce end up in bed together, that changes everything. Doesn’t it?

Buy from Amazon | Add to Goodreads



Erryn’s review:

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I finally got around to reading this story.  It’s been in my library forever but I have so little time to sit and read.  Well, I’m glad I found the time to finally read this one.

Adric is…a beautiful soul.  He’s done well in life – graduated high school, is in EMT school.  Wants to be a paramedic one day.  He’s got a doting mother.  The problems in his life have mostly to do with a nasty cousin, but Adric’s moved out of the trailer where they all lived and he’s been able to move on with things.

He and Royce wind up being roommates and in the EMT program together.  Adric is attracted to Royce, but the other man has shown no sign of being interested.

Until the night they go bowling with some classmates.  A bout of jealousy has their relationship shifting, and suddenly Adric sees a future for them.  As lovers.  As friends.  As roommates.

Alas, Royce has other plans.

Now, I knew this was a romance, and I knew I’d get my happy ending, but I sure didn’t anticipate all the turmoil I’d get before that (although this is a Kaje Harper book, so I should’ve anticipated a bit of the angst…).  I wanted so badly for these two guys to have their happily ever after, but a mountain of obstacles stood in their way.  Yet, as I watched them dismantle every one, I had hope.

This is a lovely young adult gay romance that will set every reader’s heart to pitter patter and is just perfect for the holiday season.

Erryn’s rating:

10/10 Pots of Gold – Compares to 5/5 Stars


Website | Facebook | Goodreads

I get asked about my name a lot. It’s not something exotic, though. “Kaje” is pronounced just like “cage” – it’s an old nickname.

I was born in Montreal but have lived for 30 years in Minnesota, where the two seasons are Snow-removal and Road-repair, where the mosquito is the state bird, and where winter can be breathtakingly beautiful. Minnesota’s a kind, quiet (if sometimes chilly) place and it’s home.

I’ve been writing far longer than I care to admit (*whispers – forty years*), mostly for my own entertainment, usually M/M romance (with added mystery, fantasy, historical, SciFi…) I also have a few Young Adult stories (some released under the pen name Kira Harp.)

My husband finally convinced me that after all the years of writing for fun, I really should submit something, somewhere. My first professionally published book, Life Lessons, came out from MLR Press in May 2011. I have a weakness for closeted cops with honest hearts, and teachers who speak their minds, and I had fun writing four novels and three freebie short stories in that series. I was delighted and encouraged by the reception Mac and Tony received.

I now have a good-sized backlist in ebooks and print, both free and professionally published. A complete list with links can be found on my website “Books” page at https://kajeharper.wordpress.com/books/.

You can find me and my book reviews on my author page here on Goodreads – I hang out on Goodreads a lot because I moderate the Goodreads YA LGBT Books group. I also post free short YA stories on that group, more than 50 of them so far.

You can also find me on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/KajeHarper

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.