On A Different Mission: A Rockstar Bi-Awakening Gay Romance (Rock U Book 1) by Christie Gordon #LGBT #MMRomance #Audiobook #Review

Erryn reviews On A Different Mission: A Rockstar Bi-Awakening Gay Romance (Rock U Book 1) by Chrstie Gordon.  Ebook released February 24 2023, 340 pages. The audiobook was released May 8, 2024. Narrated by Finnley Cole, the audio is 10 hrs and 43 mins in length.) A copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

It all started when I left my roots behind. Meeting the man of my dreams is icing on the cake.

Devin

I’ve escaped my small town to attend college in Phoenix. It’s time I quit living a lie and break free of my strict Mormon background.

So, what do I do? Join a pop-punk band as the lead singer. And if that’s not enough, I’m determined to embrace my gender fluidity.

When a tall, dark, and handsome man walks into the bakery where I work, I’m ready. My virginity isn’t all I’ll lose.

As he becomes the most accepting and supportive person I’ve ever met, he might steal my heart.

Brandon

I’ve accepted the fact that I have a type—a type of guy. That guy is Devin.

From the moment I saw him, I knew he was special. I had to have him.

As I watch Devin transform into the person he’s meant to be, it’s clear he’s conflicted. And I’ll stop at nothing to keep him safe.

But when disaster strikes, can we strengthen our bond? And who will he become in the end?

On a Different Mission is the first book in the Rock U series and a spin-off of the Mesa Boys series. It follows the growing popularity of a college rock band and showcases each band members quest to reach their HEA. This novel features gender and bisexual awakenings, hurt/comfort, and rockers with found family. Each book features a different couple and can be listened to as a standalone or as part of the series in order.

Explore a world of rebel rockers finding love and solidarity today!

Buy links: Audible | Amazon | Add to Goodreads

My review: 

When one karaoke changes everything…

I’ll admit this was my first Christie Gordon audio and I was excited to dive in.  Christie has a unique style that brings out the angst of not belonging with one’s family and religion with trying to find one’s place in the world.

Devin is that character.  He’s moved from his small town, essentially turned his back on his religion, and has made a life for himself. To be clear – the religion did the turning first. His faith does not believe in homosexuality.  Devin no longer feels like he has a place.  But he loves his parents – creating a huge chasm that only he knows exists.  His mother still talks about him going on missions when he finishes university.  He knows that will never happen.  Singing one night at a karaoke bar, though, changes his life.  He gets recruited into a band.  A band of queer guys who welcome him, his quirkiness, and his gender fluidity which he’s only beginning to explore.

Enter Brandon.  He’s been crushing on Devin at the bakery where Devin works.  Only a nudge from his bestie prompts him to finally speak to Devin.  They discover they have a lot in common – and some differences – but that they might be good together.  Brandon’s background couldn’t be more different than Devin’s.  His brother is out and his parents accepting.  Brandon hasn’t taken the final step of coming out to them, but it feels like more that he’s looking for the right time rather than dreading outright hostility.  Brandon helps Devin fight off the men and women who attend the concerts and make it clear Devin is the object of their affection. Brandon’s acceptance of Devin’s gender fluidity makes for a great relationship.  Throw in some handcuffs and they’re good.

A near-tragic event unravels everything, though, testing both the strength of the bond between the men as well as Devin’s own ability to cope with his family.  This book doesn’t shy away from the tough stuff.  And I like that.

I will say I got my happy ending and I’m pleased to see there are more books in the series.  Finnley Cole narrated this book and although he’s new to me, I’ll say he did a great job.  I really enjoyed this one and can’t wait to listen to the next one.

My rating:

10/10 Pots of Gold (100% Recommended) – Compares to 5/5 Stars

Website | Goodreads

Christie Gordon started writing gay and MM romance books after finding Yaoi fanfiction by accident and falling in love with it. She’s always had stories in her head and always enjoyed writing, so she decided to try her hand at the genre and took up fiction writing classes at a local community college. She published her first MM romance book with eXtasy Books back in 2009. Christie follows her muses wherever they take her, writing a mixture of paranormal, historical and contemporary romances. She enjoys writing about men discovering themselves, overcoming obstacles and finding love in the process, along with a happy ending.Christie’s day job is in the high-tech industry with a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering and a Master’s in Business Administration. She currently lives in the Phoenix, Arizona metro area but has also lived in the Bay Area of California and grew up in Minnesota. If she isn’t writing, she’s watching boys love dramas or creating digital artwork. She’s also a mother of two young-adult sons, whose antics keep her on her toes. Her one-eyed rescue pug is always by her side, snoring the day away.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.