‘To Love and To Cherish’ by Addison Albright #LGBT #ReleaseDayReview #Review

Bethany reviews ‘To Love and To Cherish’ by Addison Albright.  Published by JMS Books on November 12, 2016, 201 pgs.

Why I read this book: I read book one ‘Til Death Do Us Part’ and felt for Nash, so when I found out that the author was giving him his own book I couldn’t wait to read it.

NOTE: We were provided a copy in exchange for an honest review.

pic

 

Jilted by his fiancé two weeks before their wedding, Nash Marino’s outlook on life in general, and love in particular, is jaded. After months of couch-surfing, Nash is fed up. He’s sick and tired of his living conditions, worn out by the demands of his nursing job, and despairs of ever finding love again. In fact, he doesn’t think he’s capable of true love. Monogamy, commitment, companionship, and regular sex … that’s all he wants, and the sooner, the better.

When Nash crosses paths with a like-minded man who’s also in need of a live-in nurse for a beloved relative, Nash figures all his problems are solved. But matters are complicated by a freak accident and amnesia. When Nash’s marriage of convenience scheme is muddied by notions of love after his memory reboot, will their plans go awry, or will Nash’s new outlook on life be just what the doctor ordered?

 

Review

Here is my review for book one: ‘Til Death Do Us Part’

I read the first book ‘Til Death Do Us Part’ back in April and I loved it, it was heartbreaking, emotional and one of the most well written books I have read this year.  This was one of only two complaints I had for it.

The second was the ending. To me it felt rushed, I needed more from Sam and Nash. Yes, I know that Sam was actually still married, but I needed him to question everything more. I felt like Sam should have taken more time to work through Henry coming back and the fact that he loved Nash as well.

Well this book will completely make up for the ending of book one.  But that said, this one can be read as a stand alone, though I do recommend reading them both because it will make the entire story more enjoyable.  Plus book one really was a fantastic book.  Ok, so in this one we get Nash’s story, we see what he has been doing in the four months since he heart was broken.  There will be two types of people who read this book, the ones that read book one and felt the unbelievable heartache for all parties involved, or the ones who didn’t read book one yet and might see Sam in a bad light. PLEASE don’t be upset because after this one you will know that everything happens for a reason.

After I finished book one, my heart hurt so badly for Nash, but I will tell you this…  Addison makes up for it in this one.  I love the journey she took Nash on, the feelings he felt are some I’m sure most of us have felt at some point in our lifetimes.  Hurt and anger at love.  That feeling of just giving up on it.  And honestly I don’t blame Nash, he was put through the ringer and if had been me I’m not sure I would have been as graceful as him.

So in walks Myles the buttoned up Doctor recently divorced from a woman, offering Nash what he always wanted, companionship.  Screw love.  We all know were this is going don’t we?  They end up falling in love and have a happy ever after, right?  Well you know what they say about best laid plans.   This is were I was thrown for a loop, cause I didn’t expect that.  What you ask? I can’t say cause I don’t want to give too much away.  All I can say is this one was no less brilliant than the first one.  Nash wasn’t the only one that got closure, and I was really happy to see how the author tied in the main characters from book one.

At the beginning of the book I wasn’t sure I was going to like Myles, he just seemed to uptight.  But the way he was with not just Nash but Grampy and his and Nash’s friends, well I fell hard for him.  I enjoyed watching not just Nash, but Myles as well get their well deserved happy ending.  Addison has once again written a well balanced book with a few downs, but the up far out weighed them.  I am so glad I was able to be a part of Nash’s journey and I truly hope there will be more books in this series.

So if you are looking for a minimal angst book with a sweet story I highly recommend this one as well as book one.  It will leave you saying “AWWWW.”

pot-of-gold-10special

Where to buy: JMS Books ~ Amazon

AuthorBio

Addison Albright is a writer living in the middle of the USA with three peculiar cats. Her stories are gay romance, and tend to be sweet man-love in contemporary settings. Her education includes a BS in Education with a major in Mathematics and a minor in Chemistry. Addison loves spending time with her family, reading, popcorn, boating, french fries, “open window weather,” cats, math, and anything chocolate. She loves to read pretty much anything and everything, anytime and anywhere.