‘The Statue’ by Zathyn Priest #LGBT #NewToMeAuthor #ShortStory

Bethany reviews ‘The Statue’ by Zathyn Priest.  Published by Wilde City Press on December 15, 2016, 52 pgs.

Why I read this:  This week is New To Me Author week and Zathyn has been on my radar for a while now, so I thought this would be the perfect time to try one.

NOTE:  We were provided a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

pic

 

 

Journalist, Tristan Church, wants to expose Galloway Mental Hospital’s dirty secrets. He isn’t prepared for the hell he witnesses, or prepared to meet Zane. He realises the young man is a Galloway patient, and the boyfriend Zane speaks of exists in his mind.

Tristan’s own relationship is on the rocks and, when Eli leaves, he falls apart. While Tristan fights to save his own sanity and get Eli back, he must also fight for Zane’s right to love a man no one else sees. A man who scares away hallucinations, takes away Zane’s fear, and is trapped inside a statue.

 

 

Review

WOW…….I’m not really sure what to say about this book.  I think the first thing that came to mind when I finished was “well that was a mind f*@k, but I really liked it.”  Maybe it was just me, but when I read the blurb I wasn’t sure what I expected, but what I got was so much better.

Like I said above Zathyn is a new to me author, though I have been eying his stuff for a while now, and my friends have nothing but good to say about his books, so I thought now would be the perfect time to read one.  I can tell you this…  it will not be the last one of his I read.  My mindspace was kind of all over the place when I started this one, things in real life had been getting in my way of actually sitting down to read.  But when I opened my kindle, made myself comfy and started, well I didn’t put it down till I was done.  Which didn’t take long since its a very short read, but I will say it grabs you from the beginning and doesn’t let go till the end.

At the beginning I didn’t really like Tristan, not because he was a HORRIBLE person, he just acted sometimes very careless of his relationship.  And that made me sad for Eli, but here is the thing, this story isn’t just about Eli and Tristan, its about seeing things from someone else’s perspective.  Its about stopping to listen to someone because even though what they say might seem totally off the wall to you, for that person its the only thing keeping them sane.

This book will make you think outside the box, it will make you question what you call normal.  The writing is fantastic, taking you on a journey with not just two main characters, but three main characters and a statute.  So while this book is short it is jammed packed with emotions, ups, downs, hurts, forgiveness and happy ever afters.  I highly recommend this if you are looking for something different, with characters you can’t help but fall for.

I am so glad I took a chance with this book because I give it a solid 9 out of 10 pots of gold.

Pot Of Gold 9

Where to buy: Wilde City Press ~ Amazon 

AuthorBio

Zathyn Priest is a mix of androgynous Goth, Boho, Punk, Glam-Rock with the soul of a Flower-Power Hippie, and his books are just as eclectic.  He lives in Adelaide, South Australia, with two adopted greyhounds, a cat, and a duck.  Zathyn is also a makeup artist, digital/3D artist, cover artist, photographer, and owns Scarlet Tie Designs

One thought on “‘The Statue’ by Zathyn Priest #LGBT #NewToMeAuthor #ShortStory

Leave a Reply

