Seeking The Storyteller (Hunters Book 1) by Jessica Walsh and Briana Lawrence #LGBT #ReadersChoice #Sci-fi

Wendy reviews Seeking The Storyteller (Hunters Book 1) by Jessica Walsh and Briana Lawrence. Published August 23, 2015, 332 pages.

I know of the Storyteller, it whispers into the man’s ear, I’ve met him. If you promise not to kill me, I’ll take you to him.

Alix Andre DeBenit and Randall Fagan are Hunters, part of a hidden network of humans who track and kill the monsters lurking in our world so everyone else can pretend they don’t exist. But when a living shadow mentions someone called the Storyteller, Alix hesitantly decides to learn more.

They say the Storyteller lives in a massive library full of books that tell every being’s life story. He can read these books, rewrite them and change anything he wants, even if it’s already happened. That’s the power Alix wants, the power to bring his murdered family back and he’s determined to make the Storyteller do it. He just has to decide if working with the very creatures he’s supposed to kill is worth it.

This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Where to buy: 

Amazon

Barnsandnoble

Add to: 

Goodreads

 

Why I read this book: This was the book that won the Readers Choice Poll. Thanks for voting, that was a fun event! I knew that any of the books that were in the poll were going to be good ones, so I was happy to jump right into this one.

 

Once again, I was a bit intimidated just because this was a Sci-fi and for some reason I have it in my head that they are always going to be “over my head” and “out of my league”. I’ve only just recently started to read Sci-fi and I find that I really enjoy the worlds that these very talented authors create. I do find that there is always a LOT of information and this book was no different in that. So I found that the best piece of advice I can give myself is… in order to do these books justice, I need to take the time to give them my undivided attention so I don’t get lost down a rabbit hole. This was a fantastic world with some “Demons” (the creatures that inhabit another relm who sometimes sneek through a doorway to earth) that were kind of familiar and humanoid to completely unique to this book. I got a real kick out of the fact that there are hunters who keep our world safe and that they don’t just indiscriminately kill any demon that they run across. The two MC’s in this story end up joining forces with a rag-tag bunch of demons to try to find out who killed their friend and fellow hunter. The main thing that I got out of this story was that EVERYONE had their own agenda and while they worked together, they didn’t necessarily want the same things. Like the fact that Alix wanted to find the “Storyteller” and bring his family back. The other thing is that so many of these characters were not what they seemed to be. Kept me on my toes! To me, there  was a touch of mystic where we all have our own stories (in actual books) that can be read. I found myself imagining an endless room of books with everyone that ever was or ever will be and from any relm that you can read. The characters were wonderful and spanned everything from sweet and naively innocent to evil master manipulators and they were all well developed. This book was very well written and I highly recommend it. I see that there is a book 2 available and I’m going to read it as soon as I can. Thank you all so much for choosing this book for me to read. I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did.

My life is a flurry of writing, art and creativity. You can usually find me reading a book, scribbling notes in a notebook for future creations, typing on a laptop with music blaring in my ears or buried in my basement watching documentaries and sitting behind a sewing machine.

I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember and have boxes of old notebooks in horrible handwriting to prove it. Only recently have I stumbled back into writing and finishing my ideas.

Seeking the Storyteller is the first novel I’ve published; with my partner in crime and life, Briana Lawrence. I also write horror, fantasy, supernatural and occasionally romance pieces which I am currently shopping around through contests and publishers.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.