Retrograde by RJ Scott #LGBT #Review

Dana reviews Retrograde (Flight HA1710, Book 1) by RJ Scott (Published by Love Lane Books, June 12, 2015, 91 pages) A copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.

This week is 2-4-1 week on the blog, and we are reviewing two shorter stories and novellas that might make up the same page count as a full-length novel. When I spotted RJ Scott’s name alongside one of the novels that fit the criteria I snapped it up. I have enjoyed many of her books in the past and plus I love a good amnesia story. 

*****

Retrograde

Blurb: 

A Standalone Flight HA1710 story

Co-Pilot Lachlan Donaghue wakes up in hospital, a survivor of the crash of Flight HA1710, with memory loss and the suspicion that he could be at fault for the tragic accident. When everything becomes too much he is taken home to hide, back to the small Irish town he grew up in and to the home he once shared with Rory.

Rory Kendrick watches the news, sees every hour of the disaster unfold and somehow just knows that Lachlan was in the middle of it all. What he doesn’t know is that Lachlan will be forced to come back home to hide and to heal. Lachlan needs a friend, not a lover, but sometimes the lines are just too blurred to make any sense.

Buy links: Amazon (US) | Amazon (UK) | All Romance eBooks | Smashwords | Barnes and Noble | Kobo | Apple iStore

*****

Review

I picked this story because I like the use of amnesia in a book. It can almost give a fresh start for a character and sometimes it leaves you wondering when the other shoe will drop, and how it will affect the character’s new idea of the world he or she lives in. I wasn’t sure about the extent of the amnesia that Lachlan was experiencing from the blurb and I thought maybe it would be a second chance for him and his ex, Rory. It turns out it wasn’t far reaching and his memory loss spanned the week before the crash and the crash itself. That didn’t mean that there wasn’t a chance for a reunion between the two, though. While it had been eighteen months since they broke up, sometimes love doesn’t die and moments of crisis can bring it all back up again.

I want to say up front that I have loved most of the books I’ve read. Each brings something so different to enjoy. Some books are character-driven and can seem very realistic. They are mostly based on internal conflict, like the main protagonist’s feelings and interactions. Other stories are plot-driven and often drive the story forward through external conflict, like a mystery that needs solving or a crisis that happens. What I really love are stories, where the two combine. I think RJ Scott really nailed that with this book.

There is the plane crash that Lachlan survived and can’t remember. It is uncertain to the reader what actually happened. A terrorist attack? Equipment malfunction? Pilot Error? There is also Lachlan and Roy’s continuing story. Not much is given in the backstory except that while Roy, a farmer, loved the land, Lachlan was drawn to the skies and he didn’t see a way that they could stay happy given their different natures. In the midst of the questions and chaos, the two finally find time to have a real heart-to-heart talk.

I was really impressed with this book though there were a few things that I felt could have had a little more closure. Seeing as this is part of a series, I went to look for the next book hoping for more Lachlan and Roy, but found out that all the books feature different survivors of the accident and are written by other authors. One of the main characters of the next book does appear briefly in Retrograde so I am definitely interested in reading more. I have to give props to the author for packing in such a well rounded story into a novella and I definitely recommend it.

8.5/10 Pots of Gold (85% Recommended) – Compares to 4.25/5 Stars

Pot Of Gold 8half

*****

AuthorBio

My goal is to write stories with a heart of romance, a troubled road to reach happiness, and most importantly, that hint of a happily ever after.

I’ve has been writing since age six, when I was made to stay in at lunchtime for an infraction involving cookies and the mixing bowl. You can’t tell a six year old not to lick the bowl!

I was told to write a story and two sides of paper about a trapped princess later, a lover of writing was born.

As an avid reader myself, I can be found reading anything from thrillers to sci-fi to horror. However, my first real true love will always be the world of romance. I love my cowboys, bodyguards, firemen and billionaires (to name a few) and love to write dramatic and romantic stories of love and passion between these men. (Yum)

With over 90 titles to my name and counting, I am the author of the award winning book, The Christmas Throwaway, which was All Romance Ebooks best selling title of 2010.

I’m also known for the Texas series charting the lives of Riley and Jack, and the Sanctuary series following the work of the Sanctuary Foundation and the people it protects.

I’m always so thrilled to hear from readers, bloggers and other writers. Please contact via the following links below:

Email RJ (rj@rjscott.co.uk) | Goodreads Page | RJ’s Blog | RJ on Twitter | Facebook

Library Thing Page | Tumblr (some NSFW (not safe for work) photos) | Pinterest
One thought on “Retrograde by RJ Scott #LGBT #Review

  1. Pingback: Recently on Rainbow Gold Reviews #LGBT #Spotlight [April 18th] | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a Reply

