‘Tequila Mockingbird’ (Sinner’s Series #3) By @Rhys_Ford @dreamspinners #LGBT #MMROMANCE

MtSnow & Bethnay reviews Tequila Mockingbird (Sinners series #3)’ by Rhys Ford. ( This book was released by Dreamspinner Press on June 26, 2014, 245 pgs )

Why MtSnow read this story:

Rhys Ford is an auto-buy for me, but to be given the chance to read a book in one of my beloved series BEFORE release in exchange for an honest review, well, let’s just say I was very happy to oblige. I repeat. I love the Sinner’s Gin series! Who doesn’t love rocker bad boys, AND a big ol’ Irish family full of enough love to share with everyone?!

Why Bethany read this story:

See above, cause MtSnow pretty much said exactly what I would have said.

TequilaMockingbirdLG

Tequila Mockingbird

by Rhys Ford

Cover Art: Reese Notley

M/M Erotic Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Release Date: June 27th 2014 (ebook)

Length: Novel

 

MtSnows take on the cover: Rhys’s bookcovers are usually nice as a series, and have a carrying color theme, as well as reflect the characters in the story rather well. Unfortunately for me, these particular cover models have been used quite a bit on other m/m stories, so it didn’t have quite the originality I’d gotten used to with her other covers. It is nice the way the background color theme ties in well with the other two (and 1/2) bookcovers in this series, but I do wish there were more models to choose from in the genre. I guess they do somewhat resemble the description of the main characters, just not my vision of them. But it would  be a nice addition to your bookshelf in the print addition with all the others! DSP covers are even better in print than in e-book.

Description:

A Sinner’s Gin Novel

Lieutenant Connor Morgan of SFPD’s SWAT division wasn’t looking for love. Especially not in a man. His life plan didn’t include one Forest Ackerman, a brown-eyed, blond drummer who’s as sexy as he is trouble. His family depends on him to be like his father, a solid pillar of strength who’ll one day lead the Morgan clan.

No, Connor has everything worked out—a career in law enforcement, a nice house, and a family. Instead, he finds a murdered man while on a drug raid and loses his heart comforting the man’s adopted son. It wasn’t like he’d never thought about men — it’s just loving one doesn’t fit into his plans.

Forest Ackerman certainly doesn’t need to be lusting after a straight cop, even if Connor Morgan is everywhere he looks, especially after Frank’s death. He’s just talked himself out of lusting for the brawny cop when his coffee shop becomes a war zone and Connor Morgan steps in to save him.

Whoever killed his father seems intent on Forest joining him in the afterlife. As the killer moves closer to achieving his goal, Forest tangles with Connor Morgan and is left wondering what he’ll lose first—his life or his heart.

The story: MtSnows thoughts
First of all, I’d like to give my overall impression of the story as an addition to the Sinners Gin series. After reading it, I feel it was an important ‘chapter’ and started a healing path for the band as a whole. More so in the last few chapters, but done very well, and nice to see Miki and a little bit of Damien in there.

Having said this, I will say that Forest had me wavering in how I felt about him. He and Connor make a sweet couple, but all the times that Forest was in tears seemed to conflict with the strength he showed as growing up on the streets. I do think his mother’s influence and sway on him felt realistic, though, and he could definitely benefit from counseling. It might have helped to see this dealt with in the story.

The following was a glimpse of Forest’s sarcastic wit as he first feels a glimmer of attraction to Connor, the big burly Irish Cop:

Whoever thought green tea in cologne was a good idea should be flayed and left out for the seagulls to eat their eyeballs.

The graphic description of the murders and crime scenes are typical Rhys, and they were good, but at times did feel a bit over the top. A couple scenarios toward the end even felt a bit unrealistic. No getting comfortable, for sure!

Her description of the San Francisco alleys, warehouses, ethnic food and even the dumpster rats, and accompanying odors were described very realistically and assisted in getting me to ‘feel’ the scenes and at times really pulled me further into a sense of anticipation, then ‘Wham!’ hit me upside the head by another graphic scene!

As for Connor, he had me won over by his love of family, and his admiration for his ‘Da’ and love of his little dynamo of a mother, as well as his feisty red-headed sister and her twin brother Riley, and his love for his professor-oddball brother Quinn and other siblings.

Then his brother nudged his shin with a sock-covered foot, and Connor lost control of his mouth in a silly grin at Quinn’s crossed eyes and wiggling brows.
“Your face is going to get stuck that way,” Connor remarked, pushing his brother’s foot away.
“You should know. Yours did.”

A whole family full of sarcastic but loving cops…and the revisit of Kane and Miki was nice. Connor is displayed as a very loving brother as well as lover. I could just get enveloped quite happily into listening to a Gaelic burr being whispered in my ear.

The following is a tidbit from a love scene between Connor and Forest:

Connor couldn’t find his English. Instead, a guttural crawl of Gaelic flowered from his mouth and spread over Forest where Connor’s lips touched his skin. The man’s hands dug into his sides, and Connor loved the sheer strength of them, a tumble roughness he’d never had before. There was a solidity to their touch, a whispering plea from Forest’s muscular body that he was able–and more than willing– to take anything Connor could dish out. And perhaps even give Connor back more than he could ever imagine.

One last thought is that I continue to love the little asides, song-writing, poetry, and conversational tidbits that are placed at the beginning of each chapter. It gives a feeling of solving a puzzle or riddle in addition to almost foreshadowing the upcoming scenes. This is a carry-over from previous books in the series, and does the job of making me want to figure out how they relate to the story that follows.

Highly recommend reading this book, but definitely AFTER reading the others in the series. It would work as a standalone, but would be enjoyed so much more if read in order.

Great series and wonderful to see more of Sinner’s Gin. Can’t recommend enough! Another definite winner from Dreamspinner Press and Rhys Ford.

Bethany’s thoughts:

I make no excuse for loving the Sinner’s Gin series.  I mean rockers and hot cops, and a mess load of Irish family members butting into your business.  That makes one hell of a series in my honest opinion.

I have been hooked on this series from Miki and Kane’s book, Sinner’s Gin and knew that I would devour any other books that followed.  Whisky and Wry was the perfect second book in the series, so I had high hopes for this one.  You know what, Rhys Ford did not disappoint.  I have adored Connor from book one since he was so much like Donal, that strong presence that is always there to help his family.  The dependable one that will always put someone else’s need before his own.  He is the ultimate stand up guy.

I might also hold a special place for “straight” guys that weren’t so straight after all.  So yea this book worked for me from the beginning.  And the fact that we get a glimpse of Connors story in Whisky and Wry I was so excited to see where Rhys would take him.  And man does she take them on one hell of a ride.  From the beginning it is action packed with a solid story line.

I adore how Connor tries to fight his attraction to Forest.  It makes him real, it shows that even the big bad cop can be scared of something.  I love how he takes those issues and goes to the one person he is trying not to disappoint.  His dad, this is where you can see the family dynamic and how close they all are.  So when Connor finally admits how he feels about Forest, well there is no turning back, it is full steam ahead.

Yes Forest needs rescuing, but he is no damsel in distress.  And Connor is the first one to say how strong Forest is.  The feelings the two of them share is incredible to witness.  Its hot, sweet, emotional, and real.  Getting the chance to watch them develop is really amazing.  You can see the change and see them grow and develop into something pretty wonderful.

And do you know what I really enjoyed?  The way she brings Miki and Damien in and ties them all together.  I can feel the healing for Sinner’s Gin start in this book, and that brought a HUGE smile to my face.  I can not wait to see where she takes the band.  I also LOVE the song lyrics, cause I can feel them as a band and the emotions the words have on all of them.

Now can we talk about the family?  Cause I LOVE them so very much.  From Donal’s calm, to Brigid’s fiery.  In the first two books Donal plays a huge role for Micki and Damien.  In this one its Brigid who takes on the motherly role for Forest.  She is the one he seeks out, the one he needs without realizing it.  I was excited to see that Brigid would finally get a son-in-law to smoother….errr LOVE, yea love.   I can honestly say this series just keeps getting better and better for me.  So its another huge hit in the Sinner’s series and I can not wait to get my hands on the next installment.

Order:

Dreamspinner Press
♥ Add to:Goodreads

Rating: From Mt Snow

Pot Of Gold 8half
 Rating from Bethany:

pot-of-gold-10special

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.