‘Blood Tied’ (The Warlock Brothers of Havenbridge Book 2) by Jacob Flores #LGBT #Review

Bethany reviews ‘Blood Tied’ by Jacob Flores.  Published by Dreamspinner Press on September 7th, 2015. 220 pages.

We were provided an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.

Why I read this book:  I love Jacob’s writing and loved book one in this series, so when we had the chance to review book two, I jumped at it.

picThe Warlock Brothers of Havenbridge: Book Two

Thad Blackmoor’s heart is as cold as his icy magical abilities. He considers emotions a waste of his time and prefers to study the arcane, using the sacred books of his coven to grow in his craft. He aspires to supersede his father and elder brother Pierce in power, and now that his younger brother, Mason, has tapped into the rare warlock power of darkness, he needs to work harder than ever.

But Thad’s ambitions are halted when he saves Aiden Teine, a fire fairy, from a banshee. Thad’s immediate attraction to Aiden catches him off guard and thaws his cold heart for the first time. As Thad, Aiden, and his brothers investigate the connection between the banshee attack and the vampyre and shadow weaver who almost killed them, Thad tries to dodge Ben, a sexy warlock who won’t let him be after a one-night stand.

Their search for answers leads them to the Otherworld, where something even more insidious is at work—something Thad will need more than logic to stand against.

 

Buy Links: DSP ♥ Amazon

Check out my review for book one here: Spell Bound

Review

Ok let me start off by saying, I NEED book 3 NOW!!!!!!

I will admit, Thad was not one of my favorite characters in book one.  Actually I really felt nothing for him, he just seemed too cold.  I thought there was not way he could redeem himself in my eyes.  And after reading the blurb I went into this one thinking it would just be ok and I wouldn’t be able to connect to Thad the way I had with Mason in book one.  Oh how I was wrong, and that right there is a sign of a wonderful author.  To take a character so aloof and able to show the actual depths of his emotions.  Well, my hat is off to you Jacob, you put me in my place.

So like I said after reading the blurb, I was a bit hesitant, because I like my books to be about the two MC (unless its a menage) without someone else standing in their way.  But Ben’s pursuit of Thad proved not to be a problem so please, please, please don’t let that stand in the way of you reading the book.  Thad, oh Thad I wanted to badly to continue not to like you.  But you made it oh so very hard, I ended up wanting to hug him, my heart broke when I found out the reason why he keeps his emotions hidden.  Till he meets Aiden, then he throws those rules out the window.

Aiden is that wonderful mix of big strong and powerful, mixed with soft, compassionate and caring.  He is just what Thad needs in his life to show him it is ok to feel, its ok to not have to be the stoic one all the time.  I absolutely loved the dynamic between Thad and Aiden.  The feelings were almost instantaneous but that is not a bad thing in their worlds.  There is a pull that neither can avoid.  But with Thad being in one world and Aiden being in another I was worried how things were going to work out for them.  And when it was revealed, well all I can say is WOW, I did not see that coming.

This book started off as an 8 for me, as do most books.  It quickly turned into a 9 and by the end I was so hooked and wanted book three so badly it ended up being a solid 10.  It was a wonderful addition to book one, leaving me begging for book three.  Jacob writes a world were magic is the norm, vampires do exist, and fairies are big tough guys with a beautiful heart.  You get lost reading about these men, you root for them, and you get angry when they suffer.  This is one that I HIGHLY recommend you read, but you do need to read book one first, because a lot of what happens in book one is continued in this one.  Thank you Jacob for allowing me the chance to get to know Thad and Aiden, I am very much looking forward to Pierce’s story next.

pot-of-gold-10special

pic

AuthorBio

Jacob Z. Flores lives a double life. During the day, he is a respected college English professor and mid-level administrator. At night and during his summer vacation, he loosens the tie and tosses aside the trendy sports coat to write man on man fiction, where the hardass assessor of freshmen level composition turns his attention to the firm posteriors and other rigid appendages of the characters in his fictional world.

Summers in Provincetown, Massachusetts, provide Jacob with inspiration for his fiction. The abundance of barely clothed man flesh and daily debauchery stimulates his personal muse. When he isn’t stroking the keyboard, Jacob spends time with his daughter. They both represent a bright blue blip in an otherwise predominantly red swath in south Texas.