‘Soul Struck’ (The Warlock Brothers of Havenbridge Book 3) by Jacob Flores #LGBT #Review

Bethany reviews ‘Soul Struck’ (The Warlock Brothers of Havenbridge: Book Three) by Jacob Z. Flores.  Published by Dreamspinner Press on December 14th, 2015.  224 pgs

Why I read this book:  I have read and reviewed books 1 and 2 for RGR and have been looking forward to Pierce’s story since book 1, so when we had the chance to read book 3, well it was a no-brainer for me.

We were provided a copy in exchange for an honest review.
picLike the electricity he commands, Pierce Blackmoor streaks through life on raw power and pure sexual energy. His conquests on the battlefield and in the bedroom form his foundation, but that bedrock crumbles when his younger brothers’ abilities surpass his own. Pierce finds himself at an all-time low, and clawing his way back to the top becomes his only concern.

Pierce’s plan to reassert his dominance, however, takes a backseat when he wounds Kale Aquilo, an emissary of the Beast King, lord of all shifters.

Kale’s beguiling nature shoots like a lightning bolt straight to Pierce’s soul, and when the soft-spoken Kale relays that a virus is killing his people, Pierce abandons his quest for power to do something he has never done before—protect someone other than himself.

As Kale, Pierce, and his brothers struggle to find the root of the magical virus spreading plague across Aeaea, the shifter island, they face a gauntlet of old and new foes. Soul struck, Pierce and Kale must uncover the truth behind the conspiracy gathering in the shadows.

Review

I am not sure why I waited this long to read this book.  Well maybe I do.  When I read book one and it ended I knew we would be getting all three brother’s books.  And let me tell you, I have wanted Pierce’s book since I was first introduced to him.  He was that character you love to hate.  He was brash, in your face, cocky and to be frank, kind of a male slut.  And you know what? He was proud of that fact, he was a love’um and leave’um man and had no issues with that.  He wasn’t looking for complications a relationship would cause.  So when we received an advance reading of this one, well I put it off and that surprised me because with Mason’s and Thad’s book I started them right away and devoured them.  But Pierce’s book, well I just wasn’t ready for the end.  I wasn’t looking forward to saying goodbye to a series that has had me laughing so hard and many times had me on the edge of my seat NEEDING to know what was going to happen.

So when I saw this week was “continue series” week I thought this was a perfect time to finally give Pierce the attention I gave to Mason and Thad.  Like I said above, Pierce was what I would call an equal opportunist when it came to his bed partner, men, women he didn’t care.  And as the oldest brother and the future High Priest he knows he should be the most powerful, the one with the strongest powers.  But what happens when his two younger brothers tap into new powers that are more powerful than Pierce’s?  Well it pisses him off to no end, and while trying to prove his place in line, it leads to his meeting Kale.

I have to say I love how Jacob does’t just focus on just Warlocks, Witches, and Wizards oh my!  There is a whole cast of paranormal activity happening in these three books, and I absolutely love that. Kale is a sifter, but not your typical shifter, he is something special and when he meets Pierce you see the sparks (hehe) between them.  Kale brings something out in Pierce that he had built a brick wall around, not wanting to admit to needing.  And Pierce brings out a strength in Kale that he didn’t know he had.  I love this series, Jacob does a brilliant job in imagery and story building.

So while I put this one off for a while, sad to see it to end, after finishing Soul Struck I can honestly say I don’t think we have seen the end of the Blackmoors and the rest of this magical world Jacob has created for us.  This is a series I highly recommend and one I suggest reading in order.  If your looking for a little magic. this is for you.

pot-of-gold-10special

Find my reviews of books 1 & 2 here:

Spell Bound

Blood Tied

Where to buy: Dreamspinner Press ♥ Amazon

pic

AuthorBio

Jacob Z. Flores lives a double life. During the day, he is a respected college English professor and mid-level administrator. At night and during his summer vacation, he loosens the tie and tosses aside the trendy sports coat to write man on man fiction, where the hardass assessor of freshmen level composition turns his attention to the firm posteriors and other rigid appendages of the characters in his fictional world.

Summers in Provincetown, Massachusetts, provide Jacob with inspiration for his fiction. The abundance of barely clothed man flesh and daily debauchery stimulates his personal muse. When he isn’t stroking the keyboard, Jacob spends time with his daughter. They both represent a bright blue blip in an otherwise predominantly red swath in south Texas.

2 thoughts on “‘Soul Struck’ (The Warlock Brothers of Havenbridge Book 3) by Jacob Flores #LGBT #Review

  1. Pingback: ‘Spell Fall (The Warlock Brothers of Havenbridge Book 4)’ by Jacob Flores #LGBT #Review #ReviewersChoice | Rainbow Gold Reviews

  2. Pingback: ‘Blood Drop’ by Jacob Flores #LGBTQ+ #Review #ReleaseDay | Rainbow Gold Reviews

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.